fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Next Dons manager Wouldn't scare me that.May be a risk but then that's where we're at Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Cant be any worse than the last 5 fools we have had to suffer. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Paul Sheerin also doing well with Arbroath - won Div. 3 last year and 2nd in Div. 2 this year. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Would love Hartley to become Dons boss... you know what you're getting with him. AND he's doing the managerial route properly. Start with a lower league side and make your mistakes where the consequences are minimal. Second Division next year. I'd like to see how he does when he steps up a league, although that would necessitate another year of Craigy Boy.. although by next season it might be irrelevant who's in charge at a deserted Pittodrie anyway. Link to comment
tup Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 He's a bellend, no way do I wish to see him manage Aberdeen. His accent is ridiculous, respect would go out the window the moment he opens his mouth, dressing room lost within a week, another McGhee. It's clear the boy Stevie May was way too good for the third division and that's the main reason Alloa cantered it, without his goals next year, as surely St Johnstone will give him a chance now, they will struggle. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 They have bought the league, as did Arbroath last year. I'm not convinced there is any lower league Scottish manager at this moment in time that would do a good job up here. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2012 Author Share Posted April 9, 2012 Unless a lower English league side goes after him, I'd say that when he does move on from them, it'll be to either Hamilton, or St Johnstone that his next stop would be.St Johnstone have no worries about taking inexperienced men in & there's a connection to both sides also. Link to comment
tup Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Let's not forget that Hartley, prior to his brief sojourn here, was a wanker of epic proportions, possibly only trumped by Steven Pressley in that department. He disna suddenly become not a wanker for pulling on a Dons top. We need a manager who commands respect, a hirsute, short arsed, nasal whining weegie who'd eat himself if he were a bar of chocolate is not an acceptable figure to lead our club. Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Think Hartley will be found out soon enough. They were relegated last year so they were already favoured contenders and as previously mentioned, Stevie May could've banged them in for fun in the First Division. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Let's not forget that Hartley, prior to his brief sojourn here, was a wanker of epic proportions, possibly only trumped by Steven Pressley in that department. He disna suddenly become not a wanker for pulling on a Dons top. We need a manager who commands respect, a hirsute, short arsed, nasal whining weegie who'd eat himself if he were a bar of chocolate is not an acceptable figure to lead our club. He's not a weegie. Link to comment
tup Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 He's not a weegie. Aye he is, Hamilton = weegieland. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2012 Author Share Posted April 9, 2012 Let's not forget that Hartley, prior to his brief sojourn here, was a wanker of epic proportions, possibly only trumped by Steven Pressley in that department. He disna suddenly become not a wanker for pulling on a Dons top. We need a manager who commands respect, a hirsute, short arsed, nasal whining weegie who'd eat himself if he were a bar of chocolate is not an acceptable figure to lead our club. Oh aye, no denying that he was/is a wanker but the thing that has always stuck out about him (everywhere he's been) is that he's very "professional" & you just know that he will approach his games in the same way when it comes to managing Not saying he's a world beater just cos he's won the third div in his first year but respect where it's due look for example how much Peterhead have struggled since going down there again & they signed some "biggish" names to try to get straight back up & even beat us to signing the plumber/striker. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Aye he is, Hamilton = weegieland. Hamilton is 12 miles from weegieland tup!ML post code....ergo NOT Glasgow Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2012 Author Share Posted April 9, 2012 Think Hartley will be found out soon enough. They were relegated last year so they were already favoured contenders and as previously mentioned, Stevie May could've banged them in for fun in the First Division. Like Peterhead the season before? Were Falkirk a sure thing to come straight back up to Spl?& Hamilton?Will the Pars next season? Respect where it's due though, not JUST one on loan Spl striker that got them promoted Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Oh aye, no denying that he was/is a wanker but the thing that has always stuck out about him (everywhere he's been) is that he's very "professional" & you just know that he will approach his games in the same way when it comes to managing Not saying he's a world beater just cos he's won the third div in his first year but respect where it's due look for example how much Peterhead have struggled since going down there again & they signed some "biggish" names to try to get straight back up & even beat us to signing the plumber/striker. Next year will be a step up for Alloa & Hartley, so we can gauge how he is then.Derek Adams has been doing it for longer and doing it well by and large.Surely he'd be a bigger favourite once Brown retires (assuming he does at the end of next season)They are going to be well up on the short list by the looks of it though. Link to comment
tup Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Hamilton is 12 miles from weegieland tup!ML post code....ergo NOT Glasgow You dinna have to be from Glasgow to be a weegie, weegieland stretches way outwith the city limits, it's more to do with accent and mindset, and Hartley is 100% a little weegie bastard regardless of postcode. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 You dinna have to be from Glasgow to be a weegie, weegieland stretches way outwith the city limits, it's more to do with accent and mindset, and Hartley is 100% a little weegie bastard regardless of postcode. If you called someone from Hamilton a weegie, they'd be horrified. Link to comment
tup Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 If you called someone from Hamilton a weegie, they'd be horrified. Good. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2012 Author Share Posted April 9, 2012 Think Hartley will be found out soon enough. They were relegated last year so they were already favoured contenders and as previously mentioned, Stevie May could've banged them in for fun in the First Division. Next year will be a step up for Alloa & Hartley, so we can gauge how he is then.Derek Adams has been doing it for longer and doing it well by and large.Surely he'd be a bigger favourite once Brown retires (assuming he does at the end of next season)They are going to be well up on the short list by the looks of it though. So wait til then to rubbish him cos you have no reasonable reason to do it now. Credit where it's due is all I said but you appear unable to appreciate this & think he got them up just cos of an on loan young Spl striker & the fact that they were relegated the season before Plus, did he not source the on loan spl striker? Credit where & when it's due, not (aye but he'll be shown up next season). Also, you could argue that Adams was "found out" at Spl level as number two Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 So wait til then to rubbish him cos you have no reasonable reason to do it now. Credit where it's due is all I said but you appear unable to appreciate this & think he got them up just cos of an on loan young Spl striker & the fact that they were relegated the season before Plus, did he not source the on loan spl striker? Credit where & when it's due, not (aye but he'll be shown up next season). Also, you could argue that Adams was "found out" at Spl level as number two You misunderstood what I meant.I'm saying that Brown will be here next season whether we like it or not.So that extra season gives us a chance to see if Hartley can keep it going at a higher level, albeit not a great level.It will also be interesting to see how Adams does in the SPL. I suppose there is a danger that if he does well, a club at a decent level in England (lower Championship, top League One) may take him south. Either way, we're stuck with Brown until May 2013 in all likelihood.I hope that the club are forward planning, although Willie Miller denied this at the recent Edinburgh Q&A apparently. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2012 Author Share Posted April 9, 2012 You misunderstood what I meant.I'm saying that Brown will be here next season whether we like it or not.So that extra season gives us a chance to see if Hartley can keep it going at a higher level, albeit not a great level.It will also be interesting to see how Adams does in the SPL. I suppose there is a danger that if he does well, a club at a decent level in England (lower Championship, top League One) may take him south. Either way, we're stuck with Brown until May 2013 in all likelihood.I hope that the club are forward planning, although Willie Miller denied this at the recent Edinburgh Q&A apparently. Ok fair enough but you did say he'd be found out soon enough & that implies you think he's shite Absolute nonsense. Running away with the First Divison, a cup final after beating the richest team in the country and an obvious eye for a player. I'm not saying he'd e the only candidate, but at the moment he's got far more to his name than Hartley does. I know it is & I only said it to highlight his point on Hartley being found out soon enough, with no justifiable reason to say this. For the record I do rate Adams very much & what he's done in BOTH stints at County is tremendous & he was made to look bad in his short spell in the Spl through no fault of his own. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Ok fair enough but you did say he'd be found out soon enough & that implies you think he's shite I know it is & I only said it to highlight his point on Hartley being found out soon enough, with no justifiable reason to say this. For the record I do rate Adams very much & what he's done in BOTH stints at County is tremendous & he was made to look bad in his short spell in the Spl through no fault of his own. fine n dandy - where did I say he'd be found out? I didn't, I said another year would give us a chance to judge him at a higher level. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2012 Author Share Posted April 9, 2012 fine n dandy - where did I say he'd be found out? I didn't, I said another year would give us a chance to judge him at a higher level. Ha ha, sorry min, my mistake. It was sheeptastic that said this. Too many sheep in our support Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Hamilton is 12 miles from weegieland tup!ML post code....ergo NOT Glasgow if its sooth o stonehaven its fucking weegieland. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 if its sooth o stonehaven its fucking weegieland. Bloody hell spammer, are you as parochial as tuppence? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2012 Author Share Posted April 9, 2012 if its sooth o stonehaven its fucking weegieland. Why Stonehaven & not just Aberdeen? Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 You'd think Hartley will look to move somewhere else now, as it's debatble whether he can take Alloa any higher, and seeing them level out next season won't look as good on his cv as possibly taking, for example, a decent div 2 side to the 1st division, or even a div 1 side into the SPL. Either way, I'd still say he would be far too inexperienced a manager to take us over in summer 2013 when I expect Brown will go. You look at Coyle and MacInnes at St Johnstone, but they were in div one when both of them took over, and are hardly comparable to AFC. This thread isn't about Derek Adams, but next season will be interesting for him to see how he copes at County, in terms of potentially taking over the reins here the following season. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Why Stonehaven & not just Aberdeen? So Loirston would be in Weegie land? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 10, 2012 Author Share Posted April 10, 2012 So Loirston would be in Weegie land? Yes. Our new stadium is going to be in Glasgow Link to comment