hopeisimportant Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Anyone listen to his semi final preview interview on RedTV? He speals about his "wonderful" idea which could've made Hampden a "world leader". Put the dugout on hydraulic stilts. If you want down you "push a button" and it lowers to let you off. Or alternatively suspend it from the roof of the stand! Calm doon Broon. Rest of his interview is fair enough though, he is desperate for a win! COYR Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 He should be desperate for a win, doubt anybody else will be topping up his pension fund next season! Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 surprised he didnt go the whole hog and suggest Stena fit out all the stands with lifts as well. Link to comment
Redstar Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 He speals about his "wonderful" idea which could've made Hampden a "world leader". Put the dugout on hydraulic stilts. If you want down you "push a button" and it lowers to let you off. Or alternatively suspend it from the roof of the stand! Here's an even more "wonderful" idea... If you're nae happy with the view from the Dugout please feel free to join the rest of us paying Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted April 11, 2012 Author Share Posted April 11, 2012 Can you imagine a hydraulic thing with Jack and Victor constantly wanting on and off it. The thing would be going like a yoyo. Until someone got fed up with Pa and pushed him off it. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 my wonderful idea for hampden would be to flatten the shithole. ffs. even wales have one of the best stadiums in the world, (ok they also egg chase in it) and england probably have the best ground in the world now. hampden is a poor shadow of its former self if you ask me. obvioulsy i canna compare it exactly with the days of 147k watching aberdeen celtic, but still. 3rd best in glasgow and 4th best in scotland. it might be good for a cup final and for big games against world champions but hampden, one of the most famous grounds in teh world, is better than that. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 ffs. even wales have one of the best stadiums in the world, (ok they also egg chase in it) and england probably have the best ground in the world now. Wales I'll agree with. Have you been to Wembley? Its a much better concert venue than it is a football ground. Millenium Stadium > Wembley. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Wales I'll agree with. Have you been to Wembley? Its a much better concert venue than it is a football ground. Millenium Stadium > Wembley. aye i have. nae to a game though. for its size and modernity there isnt one in teh world to come close to it. mill stadium benefits from a passionate crwod, so the stereotype goes. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Has to be said 20ft in the air wouldn't half have fncked the legendary leap as Hewitt stuck the header in in extra time. Fergie ended up on his arse as it was! Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Hampden is a shite hole.Awkward place to get to.Far too far away when behind the goalThe stands are too flat, so you get a worms eye viewFlatten the place, or at the very least, rebuild the two stands behind the goal and make them "square" and right behind the goal. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 should just use murrayfield Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 should just use murrayfield The SFA will never allow that.For a start the SRU would take a wedge out of SFA coffers. Dont disagree, but will not happen. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 The SFA will never allow that.For a start the SRU would take a wedge out of SFA coffers. Dont disagree, but will not happen. NO. hampden should be used. but it should be a better hampden in the first place. murrayfiel;d is fine formonkey teams like hearts. but nae our national team (unless hampden is unavailable due to redevelopment etc) Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 NO. hampden should be used. but it should be a better hampden in the first place. murrayfiel;d is fine formonkey teams like hearts. but nae our national team (unless hampden is unavailable due to redevelopment etc) Murrayfield is ideal, easy access, plenty hotels etc, and not in a shit hole like Glasgow. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Murrayfield is ideal, easy access, plenty hotels etc, and not in a shit hole like Glasgow. is teh egg ball game mate. and has no football history to it. leave it to meaningless clubs like hearts. sco football belong in a proud and atmospheric hampden. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Leave poor Broon alone. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 is teh egg ball game mate. and has no football history to it. leave it to meaningless clubs like hearts. sco football belong in a proud and atmospheric hampden. Countries like England, Italy, and France have had rugby AND football played at their national stadium, so why not Scotland?Oh aye, I forgot, the SFA is a pre-historic organisation that spunked millions on renovating a decrepit and shite stadium in Glasgow, and the SFA couldn't contemplate having football played anywhere else. Murrayfield is far superior a stadium to Hampden. However, this is a totally pointless debate as the SFA will never ever allow this to happen. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Countries like England, Italy, and France have had rugby AND football played at their national stadium, so why not Scotland?Oh aye, I forgot, the SFA is a pre-historic organisation that spunked millions on renovating a decrepit and shite stadium in Glasgow, and the SFA couldn't contemplate having football played anywhere else. Murrayfield is far superior a stadium to Hampden. However, this is a totally pointless debate as the SFA will never ever allow this to happen. Agreed. I've always thought that one of the reasons why the SFA won't let football anywhere near Murrayfield is that as soon as football fans realise how much better it is than Hampden, they might well refuse to go back. Hampden is too small (8,000 seats smaller than Celtic Park FFS), the wrong shape, in the wrong location and is a total dump. Sell the thing, plough the money into youth development and play internationals and cup finals at Murrayfield. Semi-finals can (and should) be played at neutral venues throughout the country, as used to be the case anyway. CP and Ibrox can be used for games involving the OF, and on the rare occasions when they play each other in a semi toss a coin for the venue. Link to comment
tup Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 I used to be able to see Murrayfield from my house in Edinburgh, but I've never been in it, not being a fan of egg being chased. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 I used to be able to see Murrayfield from my house in Edinburgh, but I've never been in it, not being a fan of egg being chased. you mustve lived in a shit area. mink. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 sheepkevin, cambridge don, i could say that they dinna really play rugger at wemberlee. union obvioulsy not and league itself is very different to union. dinna particularly think murrayfield is that good a stadium to be honest. that stupid track is one of teh worst stadium desgins ive ever seen. up there with irelands new bowl. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Of course the reason the neutral venue for semi's idea fell through couldn't have been because Glasgow's finest refused to have their neighbours round for a party to which they weren't invited having been eliminated in a previous round could it? No, much better to jerk Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 sheepkevin, cambridge don, i could say that they dinna really play rugger at wemberlee. union obvioulsy not and league itself is very different to union. dinna particularly think murrayfield is that good a stadium to be honest. that stupid track is one of teh worst stadium desgins ive ever seen. up there with irelands new bowl. Cambridge Don!? Please, don't go associating me with the East Anglia Polytechnic... Wembley has hosted plenty of Rugby Union matches over the years, indeed the old Wembley was used as the Wales 'home' stadium for 2 years in the old 5 Nations championship whilst the Millenium was getting built. I've never been convinced by the running track in front of the West Stand at Murrayfield either, although TBH I've sat in the West plenty of times (top and bottom tiers) and you hardly notice it. The view from the rest of the stadium, particularly from behind the posts/goals, is infinitely superior to the equivalent view at Hampden. Anyway I think the basic point is that plenty of countries either have one national stadium which they use for a range of sports, or just do away with having a national stadium altogether and tour their international matches around their country. This was precisely one of the main objections to the new Wembley, aside from the sheer cost; England fans actually liked their team playing in Liverpool, Manchester, Birmingham etc and why not? I have lots of happy memories of Hampden but they are mainly of the old stadium in all its enormous, decrepit glory. When it came to be redeveloped the chance was there to redesign the thing fundamentally to correct the poor sightlines from behind the goals and to ensure that it retained its size. Unfortunately they opted for the cost-saving option of simply sticking seats and a roof onto the existing ground, meaning that we ended up with a sub-standard stadium which retained all the flaws of the original, was a fraction of the size and cost so much money that the SFA basically backed themselves into a corner of needing to use it at every available opportunity to ensure that it covered its costs. Kind of a lose-lose-lose, really. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Cambridge Don!? Please, don't go associating me with the East Anglia Polytechnic... Wembley has hosted plenty of Rugby Union matches over the years, indeed the old Wembley was used as the Wales 'home' stadium for 2 years in the old 5 Nations championship whilst the Millenium was getting built. I've never been convinced by the running track in front of the West Stand at Murrayfield either, although TBH I've sat in the West plenty of times (top and bottom tiers) and you hardly notice it. The view from the rest of the stadium, particularly from behind the posts/goals, is infinitely superior to the equivalent view at Hampden. Anyway I think the basic point is that plenty of countries either have one national stadium which they use for a range of sports, or just do away with having a national stadium altogether and tour their international matches around their country. This was precisely one of the main objections to the new Wembley, aside from the sheer cost; England fans actually liked their team playing in Liverpool, Manchester, Birmingham etc and why not? I have lots of happy memories of Hampden but they are mainly of the old stadium in all its enormous, decrepit glory. When it came to be redeveloped the chance was there to redesign the thing fundamentally to correct the poor sightlines from behind the goals and to ensure that it retained its size. Unfortunately they opted for the cost-saving option of simply sticking seats and a roof onto the existing ground, meaning that we ended up with a sub-standard stadium which retained all the flaws of the original, was a fraction of the size and cost so much money that the SFA basically backed themselves into a corner of needing to use it at every available opportunity to ensure that it covered its costs. Kind of a lose-lose-lose, really. canna disagree with any of that last paragraph. real missed opportunity if you ask me. you have to say though two of the greatest stadiums ever are wembley and (old)hampden. and the scots and english are unusualy in having a national stadium. but thats good. it helps make our cup comps the best in the world. you could play them in edinburgh, but it just wouldnt be teh same,.... Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 sheepkevin, cambridge don, i could say that they dinna really play rugger at wemberlee. union obvioulsy not and league itself is very different to union. dinna particularly think murrayfield is that good a stadium to be honest. that stupid track is one of teh worst stadium desgins ive ever seen. up there with irelands new bowl. They do - one of the London clubs has played a few games there - it was in the news as the biggest ever attendance at a club game recentlySuppose you are right enough about the running track in front of the main stand at Murrayfield. I just cant stand Hamdung - shallow stands and too far away when behind the goal Link to comment
kramer Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 should just use murrayfield I have to say the atmosphere looked absolutely terrible when Hearts played there. There is still the problem of big gaps behind each goal and don't forget the stupidest fucking thing ever, a running track down one length of the pitch meaning only one stand is actually close. Not saying Hampden is perfect though. Again the atmosphere is poor when it isn't full, and only the North Stand is close enough to the pitch. They have thrown good money after bad at it. They should have just rebuilt the whole thing instead of spending a fortune rebuilting the South Stand to blend into the rest of the stadium. Probably won't be feasible to rebuilt the other stands in the future now. Now that the M74 is finished it isn't difficult to get to. A80>M73>M74 come off at junction 1A and you're basically there. Edit: Just noticed Bluto has already mentioned the running track! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Agreed. I've always thought that one of the reasons why the SFA won't let football anywhere near Murrayfield is that as soon as football fans realise how much better it is than Hampden, they might well refuse to go back. Hampden is too small (8,000 seats smaller than Celtic Park FFS), the wrong shape, in the wrong location and is a total dump. Sell the thing, plough the money into youth development and play internationals and cup finals at Murrayfield. Semi-finals can (and should) be played at neutral venues throughout the country, as used to be the case anyway. CP and Ibrox can be used for games involving the OF, and on the rare occasions when they play each other in a semi toss a coin for the venue.I may be wrong, but if the SFA were to sell Hampden, wouldn't it raise a wee issue with Queens Park seeing as the wholly own it? Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 my wonderful idea for hampden would be to flatten the shithole. ffs. even wales have one of the best stadiums in the world, (ok they also egg chase in it) and england probably have the best ground in the world now. hampden is a poor shadow of its former self if you ask me. obvioulsy i canna compare it exactly with the days of 147k watching aberdeen celtic, but still. 3rd best in glasgow and 4th best in scotland. it might be good for a cup final and for big games against world champions but hampden, one of the most famous grounds in teh world, is better than that. You make a good point bluto My wonderful idea would be to rebuild the new national stadium in Stirling. Nice and central. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 You make a good point bluto My wonderful idea would be to rebuild the new national stadium in Stirling. Nice and central. Funnily enough I've had the same idea for some time now. I can even think of exactly where to put it: on the open land just next to the M9 on the road up to Dunblane. Perfect for road access, and you could slot in a trunk line off the main railway line to Bridge of Allan. Far, far too logical for the GFA... Link to comment