tommo1903 Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 I think Charlie Mulgrew had a cracking corner kick. Out of the current crop it seems as if Princess Dianas driver could take a better corner than Fraser Fyvie. Who is the best corner kick taker you have ever seen? Link to comment
tup Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Who is the best corner kick taker you have ever seen? My grandfaither. Scored a goal directly from a corner, in front of royalty, and I've still got a medal he got fae the Queen Mither to commemorate it. He wisna quite as good as me mind you. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 20, 2012 Author Share Posted April 20, 2012 My grandfaither. Scored a goal directly from a corner, in front of royalty, and I've still got a medal he got fae the Queen Mither to commemorate it. He wisna quite as good as me mind you. An impressive feat, I must say. Was he consistently a good corner take though? Or did he just take one really good corner once? Link to comment
tup Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 An impressive feat, I must say. Was he consistently a good corner take though? Or did he just take one really good corner once? I'm not sure, I wisna born at the time All I ken is about the medal. So I never actually seen him take a corner, but I seen my grandfaither a number of times, so it qualifies. Maybe the thread title should have been 'Who is the best corner kick taker you've ever seen actually taking a corner kick in real time?' Then I would never have been able to nominate my grandfaither. Link to comment
Jonty Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 I hear Juan Cobian was nae bad at corners, better than Beckham infact. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 20, 2012 Author Share Posted April 20, 2012 I'm not sure, I wisna born at the time All I ken is about the medal. So I never actually seen him take a corner, but I seen my grandfaither a number of times, so it qualifies. Maybe the thread title should have been 'Who is the best corner kick taker you've ever seen actually taking a corner kick in real time?' Then I would never have been able to nominate my grandfaither. That is a very valid point. However, as you don't know if he was consistently good, he cannot be nominated for the upcoming corner kick world cup. Link to comment
tup Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Shades of Aberdeen Mad about the corner kick world cup. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 20, 2012 Author Share Posted April 20, 2012 Shades of Aberdeen Mad about the corner kick world cup. Don't know what your talking about Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Ayrton Senna was shit at corners. Thats all I know. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 tup as he has his own corner Link to comment
Miglo don Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Pakistan were banned from the world cup as every time they got a corner they built a shop. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 There are a few guys who I know in Montrose that are ace at taking corner kicks. You wouldn't know them. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Whoever was taking the corners for Brazil at the 98 World Cup against Scotland was pretty good. Everyone a bullet under the crossbar from what I can remember. Bandy Jim must have been shitting his pants. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Whoever was taking the corners for Brazil at the 98 World Cup against Scotland was pretty good. Everyone a bullet under the crossbar from what I can remember. Bandy Jim must have been shitting his pants. Why does every word in the thread title have a capital letter? Very unprofessional. Makes a mockery out of a very interesting subject. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Easy. Iss boy. Left fitter.Scored at least 7 or 8 direct fae a corner that I personally witnessed. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Me! scored a hat trick of corners in one game while playing for the mighty Inverness Swifts in my youth league days. :bounce: Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Why does every word in the thread title have a capital letter? Very unprofessional. Makes a mockery out of a very interesting subject. You asking me? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 You asking me? No. Just replying to your post. However if you know the answer let me know. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 No. Just replying to your post. However if you know the answer let me know. I believe it is the correct way to construct a title. Have a look at some of the spines of books in your library - the big one, not the wee one. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Don't worry. I have the answer. It's an AFC Chat thing. Every thread has it. I blame Bobby Connor. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 I believe it is the correct way to construct a title. Have a look at some of the spines of books in your library - the big one, not the wee one. I don't believe that. I've no access to the reading room at present anyway. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 What ever happened to the good old days when a corner came in and a big centre half planted it with a bullet heider ? Big Eck & Brian Irvine were very adept at that Best corner kick taker I've seen - Paul Gascoigne Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Jim Bett. Either foot. Great penalty taker too. Top corner, end of debate. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 20, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 20, 2012 I think Charlie Mulgrew had a cracking corner kick. Out of the current crop it seems as if Princess Dianas driver could take a better corner than Fraser Fyvie. Who is the best corner kick taker you have ever seen? Darren Mackie Link to comment
dervish Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Darren Mackie Wrong thread. That's the answer to "worst at"... everything. Link to comment
tup Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Wrong thread. That's the answer to "worst at"... everything. Or best hander of goalkicks and the odd throw in to our opponents. Mackie - his consistency and basic lack of skill and subtledy ensure a feast of goal kicks are in store for our opponents, and he would have had a 100% record this season in making the ballboys earn their crust were it not for him slipping on his arse just as he was preparing a trademark sclaff against United. He tried to kick himself for it, but missed. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 It's to the point that I reckon anyone with Mackie on the back of their dons top should be taken out like ol yeller and shot like the rabies infested poor souls that they are. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 It's to the point that I reckon anyone with Mackie on the back of their dons top should be taken out like ol yeller and shot like the rabies infested poor souls that they are. Similarly, those dicks that shouted "one Darren Mackie" last week should be as well. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 Similarly, those dicks that shouted "one Darren Mackie" last week should be as well. I know. Imagine cheering on your team in a semi-final. The dicks. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 20, 2012 Share Posted April 20, 2012 I know. Imagine cheering on your team in a semi-final. The dicks. Darren fucking Mackie?Have a fucking word with yourselfThe guy is a total embarrassment to the shirt.More fool you for cheering that fat cunt. Link to comment