a don in oz Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Oh aye? How does this fit with the strict wage structure at the club then? 4:20 into this: http://soundcloud.com/user8999328/friday-sport-2004 Link to comment
redsector Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Oh aye? How does this fit with the strict wage structure at the club then? 4:20 into this: http://soundcloud.com/user8999328/friday-sport-2004 Christ, this will be the James Mcfadden thing again Link to comment
a don in oz Posted April 21, 2012 Author Share Posted April 21, 2012 He doesn't mention any names and only mentions it as a possible, not a definite. But I'd not complain if it was that. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 How about you just sign a left back and a right back you senile old cunt. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 I've personally stopped listening to him. It now makes me shudder with embarrassment. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 I've personally stopped listening to him. It now makes me shudder with embarrassment. He's a bell end. Your only happy moment is Smith being in the squad. I doubt he'll play though. He seems to be someone who can play football and score goals. That's not in keeping with Craig Brown tactics at all. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 More likely he means combine Uchechi & Paton.That would barely get you Link to comment
a don in oz Posted April 21, 2012 Author Share Posted April 21, 2012 He actually specifically mentioned Fyvie and Arnason. Link to comment
laphroaig Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Could we not have done that to keep Arnason? FFS. Link to comment
Redstar Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Could we not have done that to keep Arnason? FFS.Correct Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 He actually specifically mentioned Fyvie and Arnason. And tear up the wage structure?Not an earthly that Milne & Fraser will sanction that. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Dodged a bullet not doing it IMO. Link to comment
deco_1985 Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Was told by someone last week that we will be keeping Arnason, and half his wages will be paid by an oil company that my mates dad works for. Probably pish, but just thought I would pass on... Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 And tear up the wage structure?Not an earthly that Milne & Fraser will sanction that. What wage structure? I thought McGhee made it clear that he had a budget and could spend it how he liked? If he wanted to pay a fee, fine - but he'd lose wages. If he wanted to bring in Hartley on inflated wages, fine - but he'd lose the ability to sign another player. Has that changed? --- IMO it is ridiculous to have a rigid structure. If you have a valuable asset, you should be able to pay higher wages in order to realise maximum value - like Hearts did with Craig Gordon (although £18k per week is probably pushing it) Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 If you pay Arnason X amount a week then you make the next level of players such as Considine and Vernon knocking on the manager's door asking for X amount also. Also gives the agents of potential new signings leverage to demand more wonga if our top earners are on more. It's more to do with the knock on effect. I understand that aspect - not that I think Arnason is worth it - particularly with Osborne, Milsom, Rae and Hughes already on the payroll for next season. Fyvie may be a different story though - if there are Premiership teams sniffing around, it might be worth paying him an extra Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 I understand that aspect - not that I think Arnason is worth it - particularly with Osborne, Milsom, Rae and Hughes already on the payroll for next season. Fyvie may be a different story though - if there are Premiership teams sniffing around, it might be worth paying him an extra Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 And if they don't sign him we are 100k a year down. True. It's a gamble. But he's a cracking wee player - we'll still be able to play him. Link to comment
fifered Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Could we not have done that to keep Arnason? FFS.Arneson is completely over rated on this forum. In the semi some of his passing and control was dire. Absolutely nothing special at all, certainly not worth breaking any wage structure for thats for sure. Dunno who brown is thinking of but certainly macfaden has not played for everton so little prospect of him signing on there. I would like to have seen us try and get Greg Wylde personally, don't know how realistic that would have been but he hasn't found a club as far as I know. It'll no doubt be a Scottish player and I'm struggling to think of another that would fit other than macfaden. Can't see a 'stellar' foreign signing coming to Scotland. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Gregg Wylde plays for Bolton now Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Arneson is completely over rated on his forum. In the semi some of his passing and control was dire. Absolutely nothing special at all, certainly not worth breaking any wage structure for thats for sure. Dunno who brown is thinking of but certainly macfaden has not played for everton so little prospect of him signing on there. I would like to have seen us try and get Greg Wylde personally, don't know how realistic that would have been but he hasn't found a club as far as I know. It'll no doubt be a Scottish player and I'm struggling to think of another that would fit other than macfaden. Can't see a 'stellar' foreign signing coming to Scotland. I'll admit that my long term man crush ( ) on Arnason is wearing thin. His form has dipped considerably ever since the specualtion pver his future at the club began. He is definitely a capable player but not indispensible to the club. Link to comment
fifered Posted April 21, 2012 Share Posted April 21, 2012 Gregg Wylde plays for Bolton nowWasn't sure about that, was out our reach anyway I suppose. Link to comment