sooth_stander Posted July 10, 2012 Share Posted July 10, 2012 Nice wee snap hook from Trump there, opening shot on his course, straight into the famous Menie sand dunes!!!! Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted July 10, 2012 Share Posted July 10, 2012 Before I comment on the stuff below, have to say, as someone who couldn't give twa shites about golf that from what I've seen in the papers and news this course looks quite beautiful. Would make playing hitba a bit less of a waste of a good walk. Not that I'm ever going to wonder round that place with clubs in my hand, not now the seals have gone. I hope the wind farm goes ahead wouldn't be good to let a bullying yank get all his own way, yes the course is a good thing for the area but so are the windmills.Don't think people will stop playing there if they go ahead or will we get some hunesque boycott threats ? What about the thousands of people in Aberdeen, from Aberdeen, that care about Aberdeen that are against this? What about all the arguments the fishing communities, some environmentalists and locals have put up against this wind farms and plenty others? Is it good for the Scottish Exec to say fuck you lot in a to them just so some bullying yank doesn't get his way? Forgive me if I'm wrong but wont this wind farm be a research centre? Thus creating jobs and giving a Aberdeen something new to tap into. The reason your electricity bill has risen by almost 100% in the last 5 years is because of these things. With the amount of money the government has ploughed into subsidising wind farm projects, projects that are a lot less viable than tidal power (for greenies) or nuclear (the best way forward) which are both things we could really make money out of... with the green subsidies they could've insulated every house in the UK and still had money left over to put in solar panels and energy efficient light bulbs into the houses of everyone over 65. That would save a lot more electricity that all the wind farms in the UK can make and would mean around 900'000 people in Scotland wouldn't be in fuel poverty right now so they wouldn't be having to toss up between food or heat. I'd rather have electricity bills that were around Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted July 10, 2012 Share Posted July 10, 2012 What do windmills actually do that they are a good thing, just as a matter of interest? They look pretty pointless to me. Generate electric ? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 11, 2012 Share Posted July 11, 2012 I see the £150 a round, less £25 if you live in Abz, prices are only for this year, so if you want to play it, better do it this year. Better watch he doesn't price himself out of the market. Plenty other good courses in this area to play. Even the Yanks will baulk at paying over £150 a round. if the course is as good as it has been reported, then price won't be an issue. Corporates and yanks will pay it.I don't think their target market is the local riff raff anyway. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 11, 2012 Share Posted July 11, 2012 I don't think their target market is the local riff raff anyway. Did Razor not help build it though ? Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted July 12, 2012 Share Posted July 12, 2012 Stuck in traffic for 30 mins today because of the fat yanks golf course, it just raised my already high level of hatred for yanks.Hopefully the windmills get the go ahead so there won't be any more disruptions for his proposed hotel and hooses 2 Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted July 12, 2012 Share Posted July 12, 2012 Stuck in traffic for 30 mins today because of the fat yanks golf course, it just raised my already high level of hatred for yanks.Hopefully the windmills get the go ahead so there won't be any more disruptions for his proposed hotel and hooses This might affect me too. Is it due to loads of folk turning into the course from the main road? Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 12, 2012 Share Posted July 12, 2012 it'll be on groupon in a year, round of golf and soup and a sanny in the bar. 1 1 Link to comment
Big Man Posted July 12, 2012 Share Posted July 12, 2012 Did Razor not help build it though ? Aye, him and his travelling Navvy pals helped dig it... They lived on-site for much of the job... Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted July 12, 2012 Share Posted July 12, 2012 This might affect me too. Is it due to loads of folk turning into the course from the main road?No there is a lane in the middle of the road for turning right, they were putting up lights along the road, I was queuing before the Cruden Bay turn off ! I was cursing Trump Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted July 12, 2012 Share Posted July 12, 2012 I was hoping the course might lead to the dual carriaging of the Phd-Abd road. Link to comment
Nig Posted July 13, 2012 Share Posted July 13, 2012 Plans are in place to dual it to Ellon Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 13, 2012 Share Posted July 13, 2012 Plans are in place to dual it to Ellon If that ever goes ahead I'll protest. Regards, Bill Walton. 1 Link to comment
E-P-K Posted July 14, 2012 Share Posted July 14, 2012 Sorry SS, but you're way off the mark. When you come from a country where membership can cost way over 6 figures a year, Link to comment
fatshaft Posted July 14, 2012 Share Posted July 14, 2012 Which is probably less that what Loch Lomond and Queenswood charge for there membership.LL is Link to comment
weemackie Posted July 18, 2012 Share Posted July 18, 2012 Played at Trump International yesterday. It's some course like, it was just a pity my golf was fucking horrendous! Some of the holes are amazing and it can definately be classed as one of the best courses in the world. The weather was good yesterday and there wasn't much wind so was ideal playing conditions, i wouldnt fancy playing it when its blowing a gale though. It's not so hard that you cant score on it though and there was a couple of holes that i thought you can easliy get birdies at if your on your game. The only bad thing i would say about it was some of the fairways aren't in as great a condition as you would expect but the weather has been shite lately and its only been open a week so i'll let them aff. It took over 5 hours to play our round aswell Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted July 18, 2012 Share Posted July 18, 2012 No there is a lane in the middle of the road for turning right, they were putting up lights along the road, I was queuing before the Cruden Bay turn off ! I was cursing Trump are you sure those roadworks were because of trumps course? theres road works for laying drains right now all along the Aberdeen - Peterhead & Fraserburgh roads. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted July 18, 2012 Share Posted July 18, 2012 are you sure those roadworks were because of trumps course? theres road works for laying drains right now all along the Aberdeen - Peterhead & Fraserburgh roads.This was definitely lighting for the turn off at the golf course drove past on Monday and it seems to be fixed now. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted July 18, 2012 Share Posted July 18, 2012 This was definitely lighting for the turn off at the golf course drove past on Monday and it seems to be fixed now. seems strange as there has been no lights there at all and I don;t remember seeing them on Monday despite driving to and from aberdeen that day on that road Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted July 18, 2012 Share Posted July 18, 2012 seems strange as there has been no lights there at all and I don;t remember seeing them on Monday despite driving to and from aberdeen that day on that roadThe street lighting poles are on the left side of the road driving from Aberdeen Dinka ken if they have been switched on yet as have passed by a night, one thing for sure there will be a few accidents at the junction Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted July 18, 2012 Share Posted July 18, 2012 The street lighting poles are on the left side of the road driving from Aberdeen Dinka ken if they have been switched on yet as have passed by a night, one thing for sure there will be a few accidents at the junction should have been made in to dual carriageway all the way to peterheed years ago. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted July 20, 2012 Share Posted July 20, 2012 The reason your electricity bill has risen by almost 100% in the last 5 years is because of these things. With the amount of money the government has ploughed into subsidising wind farm projects, projects that are a lot less viable than tidal power (for greenies) or nuclear (the best way forward) which are both things we could really make money out of... with the green subsidies they could've insulated every house in the UK and still had money left over to put in solar panels and energy efficient light bulbs into the houses of everyone over 65. That would save a lot more electricity that all the wind farms in the UK can make and would mean around 900'000 people in Scotland wouldn't be in fuel poverty right now so they wouldn't be having to toss up between food or heat. I'd rather have electricity bills that were around Link to comment
Red Morning Light Posted July 22, 2012 Share Posted July 22, 2012 Beautiful course. Played it on a calmish day and still really struggled. There is no semi rough. If yer rough yer lost. And no chance of hooking onto another fairway and still having a go at the green. Holes too far apart. Once it gets a chance to grow in it will be right up there with the beat and toughest courses in the world. Link to comment