phoenix Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Extract: 'Sky's dominance over the BBC is already looming: now past its investment phase, Sky's income is multiplying fast at Link to comment
Pash Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 I really do hate Sky. Heard they bought all the rights (assume that's what they did?) to the James Bond films so they will no longer be shown on ITV. Next they will be doing the same with Back to the Future. Then after that all the Rocky films. Utter kents. Link to comment
beer gut Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 I really do hate Sky. Heard they bought all the rights (assume that's what they did?) to the James Bond films so they will no longer be shown on ITV. Next they will be doing the same with Back to the Future. Then after that all the Rocky films. Utter kents. If you like bond that much buy the box set. TV before Sky was utter horse shit. I have no problem with a successful Sky. Long may it continue. The only thing i watch on the BBC nowadays is match of the day. Link to comment
Jonty Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Extract: 'Sky's dominance over the BBC is already looming: now past its investment phase, Sky's income is multiplying fast at £5.5bn a year, against the BBC's static £3.5bn. Sky's growing billions can buy everything, not only sports and movies, but every best series: the BBC trains and develops talent, predatory Sky will snatch it. Nor is Sky that good for the Treasury: for every £1 in Sky subscriptions, 90p flees the country, straight to News Corp and Hollywood in the US. The BBC is remarkable value for money: Sky subscribers can pay £500 a year, the licence fee is £145 for masses more content. Sky is parasitic, as its own subscribers watch many more hours of BBC than Sky, so Sky would collapse if the BBC denied it its channels. Yet the BBC still pays £5m a year for appearing on its platform, a deal struck by Thatcher to help Murdoch'. http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/apr/26/murdoch-cameron-shameful-tale?fb_action_ids=10150725432999081&fb_action_types=news.reads&fb_source=other_multiline Sky are good at what they do so I dont see the issue - Sky Sports coverage of football is miles ahead of the BBC; I watch shows on Sky Atlantic far more than the BBC. And the most important thing is that I choose to pay £50 a month to watch Sky; whereas I have to pay for the BBC licence fee even if I don't watch one hour of BBC programmes - wheres the value for money there? Link to comment
Pash Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 If you like bond that much buy the box set. TV before Sky was utter horse shit. I have no problem with a successful Sky. Long may it continue. The only thing i watch on the BBC nowadays is match of the day. Can't afford it. F1 too, utter kents. Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 TV before Sky was utter horse shit. It's magic now I take it? TV is shit full stop. Anybody who's life revolves around it is a sad bastard. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 I don't really watch tv anymore. The internet supplies all my needs. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 There are too many channels on TV these days, too much to fill with quality TV that it's spread very very thinly. It's a pity you couldn't choose your individual channels to pay for, rather than this "pick a package" pish where for every SKY ONE, you get a Tarot Card reading channel. Reduce the number of channels, stop making shite cheap TV to fill the gaps and use that money to invest in proper, decent television. It is that simple. You can thank me later Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 There are too many channels on TV these days, too much to fill with quality TV that it's spread very very thinly. It's a pity you couldn't choose your individual channels to pay for, rather than this "pick a package" pish where for every SKY ONE, you get a Tarot Card reading channel. Reduce the number of channels, stop making shite cheap TV to fill the gaps and use that money to invest in proper, decent television. It is that simple. You can thank me later No chance, it's a conspiracy. HDTV sedates the individual. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Reduce the number of channels, stop making shite cheap TV to fill the gaps and use that money to invest in proper, decent television. Aye, it was wall to wall quality when there was 3 channels Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Aye, it was wall to wall quality when there was 3 channels Yep. Reflections used to chill me right out before bed. Link to comment
Nespa Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 There are too many channels on TV these days, too much to fill with quality TV that it's spread very very thinly. It's a pity you couldn't choose your individual channels to pay for, rather than this "pick a package" pish where for every SKY ONE, you get a Tarot Card reading channel. Reduce the number of channels (teams), stop making (signing) shite cheap (foreign players) TV to fill the gaps and use that money to invest in proper, decent television (Scottish youth set up) It is that simple. You can thank me later similar to scottish football???? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Aye, it was wall to wall quality when there was 3 channels Aye, but that was back in the 70s! What I think will eventually happen is you will get only a handful of channels, but you can select what you want to watch on them. Similar to Netflix and Lovefilm, but it's run by SKY or the BBC. On Demand TV is the way it's going! Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 The best crack you'll ever get is going out and speaking to your fellow human beings, face to face. Fuck the telly, the 'Why Don't You?' theme tune had the most prescient lyrics. Link to comment
Pash Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Yep. Reflections used to chill me right out before bed. Strange But True was a craking programme. Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 I still do my own personal 'Reflections' in my head every evening at midnight such was the marked effect that programme had on my life, it only lasted five minutes, but telly was about quality then not quantity. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 The best crack you'll ever get is going out and speaking to your fellow human beings, face to face. Fuck the telly, the 'Why Don't You?' theme tune had the most prescient lyrics.You'll often find that your fellow human beings are as banal and repetitive as the TV programs on the telly. Especially after a few drinks, they become as funny as that fucking Mrs Browns Boys and as preachy as the god channel. But yes, if TV is becoming a replacement for human interaction then help is immediate help is required. Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 You'll often find that your fellow human beings are as banal and repetitive as the TV programs on the telly. Especially after a few drinks, they become as funny as that fucking Mrs Browns Boys and as preachy as the god channel. But yes, if TV is becoming a replacement for human interaction then help is immediate help is required. You dinna have to be pissed. I like speaking to old mannies out walking their dogs and stuff, they've got the best crack of anyone in society, and they're not always pissed. Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 If you don't watch a lot of telly you tend to be much more aggressive than those who do in my experience. Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 It's good to be calm when offshore, which is probably why the imperialists provide Coronation Street for your perusal. Ask yourself this, are you much more aggressive onshore, when you maybe miss an episode or two? Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 If you don't watch a lot of telly you tend to be much more aggressive than those who do in my experience. TV makes me agressive I can't sit in the same room with someone who is watching the x factor or something like The only way is essex. I need help Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 TV makes me agressive I can't sit in the same room with someone who is watching the x factor or something like The only way is essex. I need help No, you have the aggression because you DO NOT watch that shite. If you played along, and sat down and watched it, you'd become sedentary, like the masses, like you're supposed to be. It's good to feel like putting your feet through the telly, and I find it reassuring to consider murdering members of your family for watching and enjoying mindless drivel such as the X-Factor. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 No, you have the aggression because you DO NOT watch that shite. If you played along, and sat down and watched it, you'd become sedentary, like the masses, like you're supposed to be. It's good to feel like putting your feet through the telly, and I find it reassuring to consider murdering members of your family for watching and enjoying mindless drivel such as the X-Factor. TV isn't as bad as computer games People who play computer games all the time are murderers and paedos :hysterical: Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 TV isn't as bad as computer games People who play computer games all the time are murderers and paedos Agreed. Next time my loon asks to play Wrestlemania Allstars on the X-Box he'll be getting a flea in his lug about the potential he might have to become a paedophile in the next couple of decades. That should put his gas at a peep straight off. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Agreed. Next time my loon asks to play Wrestlemania Allstars on the X-Box he'll be getting a flea in his lug about the potential he might have to become a paedophile in the next couple of decades. That should put his gas at a peep straight off. Its a shite game anyway. Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 I hope you don't play it with him Dinna be daft min, he was nearly bawling because he kept getting beat, he was pleading with me to help him out. I said I'd study the instructions and see about turning the difficulty down, I'm not getting involved. The only computer game I play with him is FIFA12, usually always Aberdeen vs huns. I caught him going Rangers one day, I started going mental 'what are you doing?' I screamed at him, he said he was trying to score as many own goals as possible, thank fuck for that I thought. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Dinna be daft min, he was nearly bawling because he kept getting beat, he was pleading with me to help him out. I said I'd study the instructions and see about turning the difficulty down, I'm not getting involved. The only computer game I play with him is FIFA12, usually always Aberdeen vs huns. I caught him going Rangers one day, I started going mental 'what are you doing?' I screamed at him, he said he was trying to score as many own goals as possible, thank fuck for that I thought. I do that. When playing FIFA, I like playing as Scotland v England, and not playing any old firm or ex old firm players if possible. Gordon Bardsley LCBBerra CBDorrans RCB Bannan LMMcArthur CMD FletcherCMMorrison RM J McFadden CF Goodwillie STMcKail Smith ST Always win, at least 6-0. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Bardsley played for the Huns. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 I hope you don't play it with him Thats more likely to make his son a paedo than the x-box Link to comment
tup Posted April 27, 2012 Share Posted April 27, 2012 Thats more likely to make his son a paedo than the x-box I beg your pardon robbojunior, who rattled your cage? Link to comment