Armed Forces

Lencarl

• Replies 152

one of the best books I have ever read.

I've wanted to start it now but every single person that has read it said its brilliant and I won't want to put it down. I'd rather keep it for when I'm on the flight and by the pool in a couple of months................... but dying to read it now :(

BRING BACK NATIONAL SERVICE

Good or Bad

Thoughts anyone?

Extremely bad.

Take me, for example. I have an aversion to taking orders that borders on the pathological. If you were to put me in the army I'd be wasting I don't know how many years in whatever passes for prison in the military, simply because I'd be unwilling to do the most basic task I was ordered to perform.

Through no fault of my own I'd have wasted a significant part of my youth rotting in prison, simply because I was press-ganged into joining an entity I had no interest in, in fact a rabid distaste towards.

I would also refuse to participate in any kind of military action I had a moral necessity to oppose, such as the unprovoked invasion of Iraq or the other Bush War in Afghanistan. That, too, would see me court martialed through no fault of my own.

In situations like the NAZI invasion of Western Europe I'd have no qualms about putting on a uniform and shooting NAZIs. But shooting Iraqis who are defending their own turf against an invader, 'fraid not.

If people want to voluntarily join the military then that's up to them.. have at it. The rest of us, however, want nothing to do with it.

I'll also put to rest the old adage that it's those who are willing to do violence who protect the rest of us... this is bollocks on its most basic level, because in the case of pretty much EVERY major conflict, it has been those who were drafted involuntarily into the military who have made up the bulk of that military, from levies forced into militias to fight off Viking raids right through to civilians drafted into the military in WW2, ... ergo it's actually those who are UNWILLING to do violence who protect the state.

Sounds like a Quote from Quentin Tarantino's Inglourious Basterds but fair points made

Bear Jew is one of my favourite Tarantino creations, though ironically I loathe and despise Jews.

Not really, but if I did it would be ironic.

I will say that Jews tend to annoy the fuck out of me though... but I wouldn't say that to Bear Jew's face.

Not to Bear Jew's face.

TheBearJew.jpg

Loads of folk say this. He might be over the top and hotfoot back to the Marriott once he's done but he's still some lad.

Speaking of Rambo types, anyone watched the World War 2 most unlucky soldier on the Military channel. Some old dude from Aberdeen Alisdair Urquhart I think was his name. Still kicking about.

Poor fucker was jinxed. Even in his Japanese Camp riddled state a guard wanted to stroke a length up him so he kicked him in the balls and got thrown in a small pit full of piss and shit. When he got out the boat he was on got torpedoed in shark infested waters and I'm pretty sure he was also sight seeing in Nagasaki when they dropped the big A. If I ever see him, he's getting fish suppers on a Friday for life from me.

There is a book out about him. Forgotten Highlander. Great read if you're into that kind of thing.

Not sure. Work with some Norwegians some of whom enjoyed it as it was a jolly if you got the right gig.

All comes doon tae who Daddy kens. Eh work wi a boy who spent his time looking at a radar screen up in the Arctic, all cosy and warm on a boat. He is an utter prick, but Daddy is connected.

The rest get flung in a tent up in Finnmark when it's -40. Fuck that.

The funny thing is this country is wide open to anyone who wants it. All they have to do is wait til after 3pm when abody has gone home.

All comes doon tae who Daddy kens. Eh work wi a boy who spent his time looking at a radar screen up in the Arctic, all cosy and warm on a boat. He is an utter prick, but Daddy is connected.

The rest get flung in a tent up in Finnmark when it's -40. Fuck that.

they arent very good in a war the norwegians though are they.

-40deg training is no use for another battle of el alamein.