zander Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Another chopper went down today in the north sea all 14 are believed to be safe. https://twitter.com/#!/northsound1 Link to comment
tutankamun Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Bond again... "A helicopter has ditched in the North Sea, Coastguards have said. The incident - about 25 miles off Aberdeen - is believed to involve a Bond helicopter. It is understood all 14 on board made it into a liferaft, and are in process of being airlifted by helicopters. The incident, which happened at about 12:15, is believed to have been a controlled ditching." http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-18020646 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Bond yet again. This after the news that they had stopped flights on all the helicopters the operate for the likes of the police, ambulance and rescue services due to cracks found on a rotor. Hope all are well. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Thank feck everyone appears to be ok. A controlled ditching or not, that must be scary! Link to comment
ebbe Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Another chopper went down today in the north sea all 14 are believed to be safe. https://twitter.com/#!/northsound1 another 1, sad like. boys trying to get to their work and back. at least it appears everyone is ok. how's thing with you zander, you offshore just now? Link to comment
gypsymuffin Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Good to hear everyone appears to be fine. Link to comment
zander Posted May 10, 2012 Author Share Posted May 10, 2012 another 1, sad like. boys trying to get to their work and back. at least it appears everyone is ok. how's thing with you zander, you offshore just now? Na was meant to be away Tuesday but nae sure now hopefully get another weekend at home. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Any word on where it was going to / coming back from ? Link to comment
zander Posted May 10, 2012 Author Share Posted May 10, 2012 Bond took down there flights page probably to stop folk speculating. Be more throughout the afternoon I suppose. Link to comment
redsector Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Bond need to be looked at very closely. Thats now 4 in 3 years that have gone down. Canna mind who posted it a few weeks back, about another bond flight that nearly went down. Nothing was mentioned, but spoke to a guy that was on that flight, he said they were seconds from ditching Link to comment
thedandydon Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Any word on where it was going to / coming back from ? "The helicopter was heading from Aberdeen to the Maersk Resilient and Ensco 102 drilling rigs when an alert was broadcast." Link to comment
tutankamun Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Bond need to be looked at very closely. Thats now 4 in 3 years that have gone down. Canna mind who posted it a few weeks back, about another bond flight that nearly went down. Nothing was mentioned, but spoke to a guy that was on that flight, he said they were seconds from ditching http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=29602 Link to comment
zander Posted May 10, 2012 Author Share Posted May 10, 2012 https://twitter.com/#!/northsound1/status/200571716559306753/photo/ Good too see all arriving safely Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Another reason I am glad i'm not doing any offshore work anymore. Link to comment
Podge Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 It must be a bit bizarre after surviving a ditching in a helicopter, only to then get on another helicopter that is there to rescue you! Sounds like they knew it was duffed and landed it fine though which is good. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 It must be a bit bizarre after surviving a ditching in a helicopter, only to then get on another helicopter that is there to rescue you! Sounds like they knew it was duffed and landed it fine though which is good. Nae really. If I was on a boat that was sinking I wouldn't be concerned about jumping into a lifeboat. Link to comment
Stoney Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 aye or a van crash then an ambulance? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 aye or a van crash then an ambulance? I do understand what Podge meant though. Link to comment
tup Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 What about getting eaten by the shitcart? That would be rubbish Link to comment
Poodler Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 What about getting eaten by the shitcart? That would be rubbish That would be a cartastrophe of the highest odour Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Far too early to comment on probably causes, except to say the photographs release so far so no obvious structural damage. At the very least seems unlikely to be a recurrence of the catastrophic gearbox failure previously. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Far too early to comment on probably causes, except to say the photographs release so far so no obvious structural damage. At the very least seems unlikely to be a recurrence of the catastrophic gearbox failure previously. The news reporting just now it suffered 'engine problems', which is what happened in that last (unreported) incident. Link to comment
Podge Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 aye or a van crash then an ambulance? Different when it comes to flying vehicles though. No worries about going from a car crash into another car or van etc. But from a helicopter that has crashed (although in this case it looks like it just landed on water rather than crashed, so to speak) straight into another. Same way I'm not sure people who survive a plane crash are so quick to jump on the next flight! Link to comment
tutankamun Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Different when it comes to flying vehicles though. No worries about going from a car crash into another car or van etc. But from a helicopter that has crashed (although in this case it looks like it just landed on water rather than crashed, so to speak) straight into another. Same way I'm not sure people who survive a plane crash are so quick to jump on the next flight! To be fair I'd rather be in the rescue helicopter than the sea! Take your point on being reluctant to fly again though. My work have had to put some employees through therapy after even relatively small incidents. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Seen a few relieved wives' posts on Facebook this afternoon. Link to comment
zander Posted May 10, 2012 Author Share Posted May 10, 2012 Seen a few relieved wives' posts on Facebook this afternoon. Seen a girl I went to school with posting on facebook "OMG my dad works offshore I've sent him a text to see if its him hes not replied I'm worried" Attention seeking bitch. Link to comment
Lencarl Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Good job the sea was pretty calm today. I remember flying offshore in bad weather knowing ditching was not much of an option Link to comment
redsector Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Got a check in for next week today. Told them that i wouldn't fly Bond. Was told " shut up your safer flying with them than crossing Union Street. What an attitude. Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 Bond need to be looked at very closely. Thats now 4 in 3 years that have gone down. Canna mind who posted it a few weeks back, about another bond flight that nearly went down. Nothing was mentioned, but spoke to a guy that was on that flight, he said they were seconds from ditching I'm not sure how this could possibly be "unreported". Seconds from ditching would mean a double engine failure; and while it's possible the copter might have been out of contact with Aberdeen ATC (Due to the curvature of the Earth), it would most certainly have been in range of the gateway and any number of platforms. In other words, you'd expect a MAYDAY call, and any aircraft putting one of them out will find it very hard to keep it "secret" should it turn out to have been necessary. If there was an unreported incident, Bond are breaching a number of very serious regulations in reporting near-misses and serious failures to the CAA. That alone would be a devastating PR blow. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted May 10, 2012 Share Posted May 10, 2012 I mean unreported by the press. It wasn't even in the local news. Link to comment