Chopper Ditched

zander

I'm not sure how this could possibly be "unreported". Seconds from ditching would mean a double engine failure; and while it's possible the copter might have been out of contact with Aberdeen ATC (Due to the curvature of the Earth), it would most certainly have been in range of the gateway and any number of platforms. In other words, you'd expect a MAYDAY call, and any aircraft putting one of them out will find it very hard to keep it "secret" should it turn out to have been necessary.

If there was an unreported incident, Bond are breaching a number of very serious regulations in reporting near-misses and serious failures to the CAA. That alone would be a devastating PR blow.

Thats what i was told by a guy on the outbound and inbound flight

Seen a girl I went to school with posting on facebook "OMG my dad works offshore I've sent him a text to see if its him hes not replied I'm worried" Attention seeking bitch.

Crazy that her first thought was to publish it to the world on Facebook.

itch-chin.gif so basically it's worth it. Grabbers I ken on the rigs, wouldn't put it past them throwing a few (metaphorical) spanners in the works for that.

that's what the lads got on the chopper that ditched just before the one that killed everyone in 2009. Not sure if that was a sweetener to not speak to press or if it's a set compensation figure or what.

I suppose accidents are going to happen... just considering the effect of salt spray on a sophisticated piece of machinery like a chopper. What do those 4 downings represent as a percentage of all chopper flights during that time frame?

My arse falls out any time I get more than 10 feet off the ground... can't even imagine going down into the North Sea with a rotor blade spinning around a couple of feet above my heid, though.

Still, that's one of the risks you get the big bucks for.

that's what the lads got on the chopper that ditched just before the one that killed everyone in 2009. Not sure if that was a sweetener to not speak to press or if it's a set compensation figure or what.

Was only kidding. I dinna but load of my mates use em, one should have been on the one that everyone was lost on. Lot of guys wondering about bond though.

I suppose accidents are going to happen... just considering the effect of salt spray on a sophisticated piece of machinery like a chopper. What do those 4 downings represent as a percentage of all chopper flights during that time frame?

My arse falls out any time I get more than 10 feet off the ground... can't even imagine going down into the North Sea with a rotor blade spinning around a couple of feet above my heid, though.

Still, that's one of the risks you get the big bucks for.

yet there's still some folk who think offshore workers don't deserve an increased wage.

Think it was a high (or low) oil pressure warning in the main gear box, so given that it was the main gear box that caused the last one, they obviously take no chances & ditch asap.

It's ok for one & even both engines to pack in, as they can still auto rotate to a controled landing but if the gearbox goes there's no chance of a controled landing.

As has been said, even in a controled landing the guys onboard would have been shitting bricks (thank fuck it was calm enough) & they deserve every penny of any compo they get.

Also for the 5 that refused to take the rescue chopper back to hospital & opted for the lifeboat. Well I can understand that also. After a near miss & given the choice of a 25/30 mile boat trip in or another chopper right after, I think I'd maybe opt for the boat also. You could have all sorts of paranoid thoughts so soon after & likely still a good bit shocked, so understandable.

Thank fuck all are ok & it wasn't another like last year. Glad all ok.

Also I think this could be the end for Bond. THREE major incedents in as many years.

Guys offshore deserve the money they earn & more, all things considered.

we've had the same discussion/arguement numerous times on here where people moan at the inflated wages offshore workers receive. According to some, we don't deserve good wages and office workers deserve more. Jokers.

Ah, an admission that you already receive inflated wages.

No wage increase then.

Glad we agree.

we've had the same discussion/arguement numerous times on here where people moan at the inflated wages offshore workers receive. According to some, we don't deserve good wages and office workers deserve more. Jokers.

if it were up to me i'd give you more just for getting in the helicopters every trip. my work chartered a chopper for me and another boy to do work in the faroes once, fuck me i nearly had heart failure. i felt like a wasp in an irn bru bottle :ThumbsDown:

i wouldn't get in a chopper again, nae chunce.

don't remember anyone saying office workers deserve more on here but I'll take your word for it. no offence Dazzy but you just admitted that you get inflated wages but you say you deserve more. Which is it?

I'm sure you were fully aware that to get an oil rig you need to get on a chopper and that you knew the wages as you would have been advised of these when you started. I'm not saying you don't deserve your wage but not sure why you come on here after an incident like this saying you deserve more.

don't remember anyone saying office workers deserve more on here but I'll take your word for it. no offence Dazzy but you just admitted that you get inflated wages but you say you deserve more. Which is it?

I'm sure you were fully aware that to get an oil rig you need to get on a chopper and that you knew the wages as you would have been advised of these when you started. I'm not saying you don't deserve your wage but not sure why you come on here after an incident like this saying you deserve more.

I never once said we deserve more. My post about increased wage a few posts back I perhaps used the wrong word. Inflated is perhaps the better word to use. I'm happy with our lot, good wage and good time off. You perhaps misread what I wrote.

that would explain it!

wouldn't worry about people moaning about your wages. If you can do it then why not.

yet there's still some folk who think offshore workers don't deserve an increased wage.

Aye I must have mis-interpreted this bit about saying you deserve an increased wage as meaning you thought you actually deserved more wages!

Daft of me, apologies.

don't remember anyone saying office workers deserve more on here but I'll take your word for it. no offence Dazzy but you just admitted that you get inflated wages but you say you deserve more. Which is it?I'm sure you were fully aware that to get an oil rig you need to get on a chopper and that you knew the wages as you would have been advised of these when you started. I'm not saying you don't deserve your wage but not sure why you come on here after an incident like this saying you deserve more.

Of course they get inflated wages & it's because of the added risks of being offshore but the inflated wages are still well deserved & arguably should be even more.

Obviously you get good time off but you also miss out on a hell of a lot of important things at home too.

Offshore workers should pay a lesser tax in North sea & not just the ones abroad imo just like ships crews do.

Obviously you get good time off but you also miss out on a hell of a lot of important things at home too.

However, this is your own choice, not something foisted on you.

Most of the guys offshore I ken dinna want to spend time with their families, and some of them hardly even ken their own bairns, but spoil them rotten for the handful of days they come onshore for.

Hardly a recipe for a decent upbringing, bairns need their faither.

Utter here say. One of them works for me still. Utter boot room tripe.

Of course they get inflated wages & it's because of the added risks of being offshore but the inflated wages are still well deserved & arguably should be even more.

Offshore workers should pay a lesser tax in North sea & not just the ones abroad imo just like ships crews do.

People are not forced to work offshore. You know the pay and risks when you take the job.