thedandydon Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Still no place for McCormack?! Scotland squad Goalkeepers : Matt Gilks (Blackpool), Craig Gordon (Sunderland), Allan McGregor (Rangers) Defenders : Phil Bardsley (Sunderland), Steven Whittaker (Rangers), Christophe Berra (Wolves), Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic), Russell Martin (Norwich City), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic), Lee Wallace (Rangers), Andy Webster (Hearts) Midfielders : Barry Bannan (Aston Villa), Scott Brown (Celtic), Craig Bryson (Derby County), Don Cowie (Cardiff City), James McArthur (Wigan Athletic), Matt Phillips (Blackpool), Shaun Maloney (Wigan Athletic) Forwards : David Goodwillie (Blackburn Rovers), Craig Mackail-Smith (Brighton), Kenny Miller (Cardiff City), Johnny Russell (Dundee United). Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 why does he persist with Gilks? Levein is a gump Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Fit about Rhodes? U21's have a big game coming up so hes with them, I think. could be wrong though. Link to comment
OddJob Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 So he finally decides to recall Webster, took him long enough. Agree VDA, the picking of Gilks is so boring now. Link to comment
tup Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 U21's have a big game coming up so hes with them, I think. could be wrong though. You're right. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 So he finally decides to recall Webster, took him long enough. Agree VDA, the picking of Gilks is so boring now. thank fuck Rhodes will soon be a pick for the first team soon. I could not handle another campaign with Miller upfront. Levein and Fletcher should also be sitting down like adults and ironing out any difference they have for the benefit of our team. Imagine Fletcher and Rhodes as our first picks or Miller again :suicide: Link to comment
boboisared Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Good to see Russell getting a go up top, doubt he'll get on though. Link to comment
Dazzler Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Good call up for Johnny Russell. Would have liked to have seen McCormack in there. Super happy that he's not called up Robson again. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Still no place for McCormack?! Scotland squad Goalkeepers : Matt Gilks (Blackpool), Craig Gordon (Sunderland), Allan McGregor (Rangers) Defenders : Phil Bardsley (Sunderland), Steven Whittaker (Rangers), Christophe Berra (Wolves), Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic), Russell Martin (Norwich City), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic), Lee Wallace (Rangers), Andy Webster (Hearts) Midfielders : Barry Bannan (Aston Villa), Scott Brown (Celtic), Craig Bryson (Derby County), Don Cowie (Cardiff City), James McArthur (Wigan Athletic), Matt Phillips (Blackpool), Shaun Maloney (Wigan Athletic) Forwards : David Goodwillie (Blackburn Rovers), Craig Mackail-Smith (Brighton), Kenny Miller (Cardiff City), Johnny Russell (Dundee United). Potter gets a fair wad of stick, and rightly so. What would everyones best starting XI be though? If everyone was fit, not dying, not fallen out with the manager etc. I'd go: GordonBardsley Webster Mulgrew WallaceAdam D.Fletcher McArthurBanan S.Fletcher Maloney Link to comment
SoundOfSilence Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Still no place for McCormack?! Scotland squad Goalkeepers : Matt Gilks (Blackpool), Craig Gordon (Sunderland), Allan McGregor (Rangers) Defenders : Phil Bardsley (Sunderland), Steven Whittaker (Rangers), Christophe Berra (Wolves), Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic), Russell Martin (Norwich City), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic), Lee Wallace (Rangers), Andy Webster (Hearts) Midfielders : Barry Bannan (Aston Villa), Scott Brown (Celtic), Craig Bryson (Derby County), Don Cowie (Cardiff City), James McArthur (Wigan Athletic), Matt Phillips (Blackpool), Shaun Maloney (Wigan Athletic) Forwards : David Goodwillie (Blackburn Rovers), Craig Mackail-Smith (Brighton), Kenny Miller (Cardiff City), Johnny Russell (Dundee United). If we must persist on picking English born strikers i'd rather have Jamie Mackie or Fletcher in before CMS. McCormack ahead of them all in my book though. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Think thats one of the poorest squads I have seen, but injuries and other issues may be effecting this. (Fletcher x 2, Naismith etc) Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 There are only TWO non OF / English based players in that squad. Just goes to show how shite our manager and / or our league is right now. I've lost interest in Scotland these days, can't relate to the teams picked anymore. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 If we are picking english born strikers, we should at least pick ones that score Link to comment
tup Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 If we are picking english born strikers, we should at least pick ones that score Like? Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Like? preferably none, should have rephrased it , remove english and include strikers that can score Link to comment
tup Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 preferably none, should have rephrased it , remove english and include strikers that can score We dinna have many of those. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Potter gets a fair wad of stick, and rightly so. What would everyones best starting XI be though? If everyone was fit, not dying, not fallen out with the manager etc. I'd go: GordonBardsley Webster Mulgrew WallaceAdam D.Fletcher McArthurBanan S.Fletcher Maloney I'd be annoyed if that was our starting line up for me it would be GordonHutton Webster Caldwell BardsleyAdam D.Fletcher DorransNaismith S.Fletcher Maloney Would still leave Mcfadden, Rhodes, Banan, Brown, McArthur, Morrison, Berra, Wallace, Snodrgrass, Mcormack & Russell to come off the bench. Miller can get to fuck Link to comment
Foster14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 I assume Mackie at QPR is unavailable for whatever reason. 7 goals is a nae bad return considering he has been punted out to the wing, played for a largely shit team and missed the first half of the season with a broken leg. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 It'll be through gritted teeth that I'll be supporting Charlie Mulgrew, I really can't stand the cunt. Next up Aluko will claim he has a Scottish Granny. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Gordon McNaughton - Berra - Webster - Mulgrew McCormack - D. Fletcher - Phillips - Snodgrass S.Fletcher - Rhodes That would be my preference if I gave a fuck, albeit Fletcher is away to quit football by the sounds of things so I need a central midfielder who is impressive to fill the void, Charlie Adam isn't great so need someone else to step up to the plate. goo team that mate, I'd forgot about McNaughton.................. I don't agree with Berra before Caldwell Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 I assume Mackie at QPR is unavailable for whatever reason. 7 goals is a nae bad return considering he has been punted out to the wing, played for a largely shit team and missed the first half of the season with a broken leg. read elsewhere his wife is aboot to give birth Link to comment
Foster14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Actually, ignore that last point. He came back in October. Would still have him in before Mackail Smith currently. Link to comment
tup Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Good to see Levein tearing into Steven Fletcher as I had urged him to do just last week. I reckon he reads AFC Chat. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 What happened to Dorrans? He scored at the weekend against Arsenal.. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Good to see Levein tearing into Steven Fletcher as I had urged him to do just last week. I reckon he reads AFC Chat. the only people that are suffering here are the fans and the team. Fletcher is arguably our best striker and a hell of a lot better than Kenny Miller. the two need to sort out the differences now so we can look forward to the next campaign with our strongest squad Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 What happened to Dorrans? He scored at the weekend against Arsenal.. Dorrans wife is also about to give birth Link to comment
tup Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 the only people that are suffering here are the fans and the team. Fletcher is arguably our best striker and a hell of a lot better than Kenny Miller. the two need to sort out the differences now so we can look forward to the next campaign with our strongest squad It won't happen. Levein has said Fletcher will never play for Scotland again. I agree with that 100%. He's going to play in this Team GB pish anyway, rendering himself ineligible. Good riddance to him. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 It won't happen. Levein has said Fletcher will never play for Scotland again. I agree with that 100%. He's going to play in this Team GB pish anyway, rendering himself ineligible. Good riddance to him. stupid mistake by Levein Link to comment
K-9 Posted May 15, 2012 Share Posted May 15, 2012 Wonder which 12 players will pull out of this needless friendly this time around "injured". Players want to just fuck off on holidays at this time and call offs happen every year. In fact half these players will probably be away on beach somewhere with families already. Link to comment