Download Festival 2012

Being called a gimp by a greaser is up there with the best thing that's ever been said to me on a forum. :trophy:

Add in the fact you've used a Wayne's World gag and it's top of the pops.

sorry to spoil ur fun big man but im a bald cunt so apart fae maybe sweaty ballsack and asscrack i wina be much o a greaser oer the course o the weekend! oh aye like wayne's world is always solid for a gag but iv nae idea fit ur on aboot we top o the pops

Add in the fact you've used a Wayne's World gag and it's top of the pops.

Contract or no, I will not bow to any sponsor.

shameless-product-placement--subliminal-advertising--waynes-world--mike-myers-pizza-hut-8130085.jpg

But yeah, moshers and headbanging. If that's your thing, along with being allergic to deodorant, it might just be for you.

sorry to spoil ur fun big man but im a bald cunt so apart fae maybe sweaty ballsack and asscrack i wina be much o a greaser oer the course o the weekend! oh aye like wayne's world is always solid for a gag but iv nae idea fit ur on aboot we top o the pops

Yer fae Buckie though so your fine in my book. :thumbs:

Top of the pops just means it's all good.

Fit like?

Top of the pops.

I canna be arsed with a generic, bland website description of it.

I want a Dons fan's view of it. So that counts you out.

Anyone care to enlighten me?

Its a festival for hard rock/metal music. Brilliant atmosphere, heavily populated by folk from the North East of Scotland. Spoke to a bouncer one year, they reckoned out of the 60,000 festival go-ers camping 18,000 of them were coming from Scotland.

The key to enjoy yourself at Download is to avoid guffs, and if they annoy you, get them telt. I've always found that a group of skinny yorkshire men that think chanting "random" quotes from their favourity (non-mainstream, obviously) comedy is funny will shit themselves at any sign of confrontation with grumpy Scots.

I go every year, regardless of the lineup. This year The Prodigy, Metallica and Black Sabbath are headlining. Should be good.

It's a disgusting rebranding of what used to be the premier rock festival in the world.

Monsters of Rock.

I was a regular in the early 90's. When the hair went, I stopped.

Have you seen the lineup though? Its like the old Monsters of Rock. I reckon you should go, I know a guy who has spare seats on his bus...

Its a festival for hard rock/metal music. Brilliant atmosphere, heavily populated by folk from the North East of Scotland. Spoke to a bouncer one year, they reckoned out of the 60,000 festival go-ers camping 18,000 of them were coming from Scotland.

The key to enjoy yourself at Download is to avoid guffs, and if they annoy you, get them telt. I've always found that a group of skinny yorkshire men that think chanting "random" quotes from their favourity (non-mainstream, obviously) comedy is funny will shit themselves at any sign of confrontation with grumpy Scots.

I go every year, regardless of the lineup. This year The Prodigy, Metallica and Black Sabbath are headlining. Should be good.

Did you not beat up 17 guys from Leeds at this one year?

Have you seen the lineup though? Its like the old Monsters of Rock. I reckon you should go, I know a guy who has spare seats on his bus...

Surprising those seats are still available given how popular it is with Scots. :sherlock:

Did you not beat up 17 guys from Leeds at this one year?

Surprising those seats are still available given how popular it is with Scots. :sherlock:

No.

That was at Leeds festival. I didnt beat them up, but I could have. I am crazy.

That's if Lars can stay off the drugs and turns up this time.

Outrageous accusation.

I'm going and looking forward to it. Plus it's my birthday this sat so gonna be one drink & music filled weekend

Weather forecast not looking too good, rain all day on the Sunday - hope they're as accurate as usual and we get clear blue skies.

As an aside, I know a Steve T who's going to download and its also his birthday on Saturday - pretty sure its not you though as he was born way before 1986.

Got back at 10 the day.

Magic weekend.

Slash was good.

Metallica were brilliant, was delighted with The Four Horsemen.

Black Sabbath were phenomenal.

NOFX & Opeth were surprisingly good. Opeth was espeically surprising - didint think I'd enjoy them but was pleasantly surprised. NOFX completely owned the Friday for me. Red White & Blues, Quireboys were also solid. Gutted that Europe pulled out, and the whole Friday was an absolute farce because of the mud.

On the Saturday, Biffy, as ever, were very good. 15th time seeing them, always a great live band. New songs sounded very good as well. Tenacious D were ok, Steel Panther were far better though.Trvium were surprising - didnt expect much but they were brilliant. Kids In Glass Houses, Lower Than Atlantis and Fozzy were all decent as well - only caught a bit of As I Lay Dying and they looked decent. Find of the weekend for me was Halestorm - very good band, a lot of potential there. Watched Soils acoustic set - totally fucking shite.

Sunday, Dropkick Murphys were poor I thought. Tim cunts. As were Kyuss, boring as fuck. Anthrax as usual, were brilliant. Megadeth & Black Label Society were both very good, Lamb of God were aright.

Cracking weekend, pity about the mud!

Got back at 10 the day.

Magic weekend.

Slash was good. - thought him and Myles were brilliant, especially since they played half of Appetite for Destruction. Axl who?

Metallica were brilliant, was delighted with The Four Horsemen. - agreed

Black Sabbath were phenomenal. - agreed, totally made my weekend

NOFX & Opeth were surprisingly good. Opeth was espeically surprising - didint think I'd enjoy them but was pleasantly surprised. NOFX completely owned the Friday for me. Red White & Blues, Quireboys were also solid. Gutted that Europe pulled out, and the whole Friday was an absolute farce because of the mud. - agree about the mud but didn't see any of these bands

On the Saturday, Biffy, as ever, were very good - yup, pity about the muted response from the crowd though. 15th time seeing them, always a great live band. New songs sounded very good as well. Tenacious D were ok, Steel Panther were far better though.Trvium were surprising - didnt expect much but they were brilliant. Kids In Glass Houses, Lower Than Atlantis and Fozzy were all decent as well - only caught a bit of As I Lay Dying and they looked decent. Find of the weekend for me was Halestorm - very good band, a lot of potential there. Watched Soils acoustic set - totally fucking shite. Watched a band called Kopex in the wee tent next to the accoustic stage and they were very good, worth watching. Ginger Wildheart was also brilliant on the Zippo stage

Sunday, Dropkick Murphys were poor I thought. Tim cunts. As were Kyuss, boring as fuck. Anthrax as usual, were brilliant :thumbs: . Megadeth & Black Label Society were both very good - except for Zakk Wyldes wanky as fuck 10 minute guitar solo - what a waste of time, Lamb of God were aright - just. Chris Cornell sounded amazing on the Sunday, loved seeing them after all these years

Cracking weekend, pity about the mud! :thumbs:

I heard a pretty good rendition of 10 men went to mow & stand free whilst walking back to my tent on Saturday, think it was the white camp, just before the orange.

Got back at 10 the day.

Magic weekend.

Slash was good.

Metallica were brilliant, was delighted with The Four Horsemen.

Black Sabbath were phenomenal.

NOFX & Opeth were surprisingly good. Opeth was espeically surprising - didint think I'd enjoy them but was pleasantly surprised. NOFX completely owned the Friday for me. Red White & Blues, Quireboys were also solid. Gutted that Europe pulled out, and the whole Friday was an absolute farce because of the mud.

On the Saturday, Biffy, as ever, were very good. 15th time seeing them, always a great live band. New songs sounded very good as well. Tenacious D were ok, Steel Panther were far better though.Trvium were surprising - didnt expect much but they were brilliant. Kids In Glass Houses, Lower Than Atlantis and Fozzy were all decent as well - only caught a bit of As I Lay Dying and they looked decent. Find of the weekend for me was Halestorm - very good band, a lot of potential there. Watched Soils acoustic set - totally fucking shite.

Sunday, Dropkick Murphys were poor I thought. Tim cunts. As were Kyuss, boring as fuck. Anthrax as usual, were brilliant. Megadeth & Black Label Society were both very good, Lamb of God were aright.

Cracking weekend, pity about the mud!

Aye, good band. Getting plenty of airplay on the American rock stations at the moment

My verdict on all the bands I saw:

1. Friday

Little Angels were good. I was only 14 when they broke up, but it was a blast from the past and they sound as good as I remembered. Opeth as always were excellent. Nightwish were excellent. First time I'd seen them with the new singer and I thought she handled the old stuff well. Slash and Myles Kennedy were brilliant. I've been a fan of GNR since the UYI days, but imho, as a massive Alter Bridge fan, Myles is the perfect choice for Slash. He is a better singer than Axl ever was and his lack of ego allows Slash to really shine, rather than play second fiddle to Axhole.

2. Saturday

Trivium sounded good, as always.

Steel Panther are a novelty. I don't spend too much time listening to their albums, funny though they are, but I was up for a laugh and so they were fun.

Tenacious D, same opinion.

Skindred are very good. Not usually my thing, but they are certainly different and Benji works a crowd really well.

Killswitch Engage sounded on form, although I left halfway through to catch the mighty, the one and only... Metallica.

All I can say is, despite the MANY ups and downs over the years (more down than up in the last 12yrs for me) when they are on top form, they are unstoppable and along with Sabbath, Maiden and Priest, the best traditional Heavy Metal bands ever. The set was impeccable and James Hetfield was electric.

3. Sunday

Kyuss Lives were decent, although their Stoner style is better in indoor arenas and the intensity gets lost a bit in open-air environments, imo.

Anthrax, I've seen about 7 times now, with both John Bush and Joey Belladonna on vocals and love both line-ups. Here they were great, no doubt fired-up by the great new album.

Sebastian Bach from Skid Row was excellent, even if his voice isn't as strong as it once was.

Ugly Kid Joe were the surprise set for me. I had no expectations, but liked them as a kid and they were great. Gave Sebastian a real run for his money.

Shinedown, as always, were awesome. Third time I've seen them now and they rocked their asses off and the new stuff sounded fantastic, stripped-down without the full orchestration.

Megadeth rarely disappoint and Mustaine sounds fantastic. They played even the rarity (and a fave of mine) "Angry Again", which was nice.

That leaves Soundgarden.... I have been a massive fan, ever since Superunknown rocked the charts. They were awesome and Chris Cornell seemed to sound better as the set wore on. Only down side (excuse the pun here) was they didn't play anything from their underrated final album, Down on the Upside.

AND....

Sabbath. Again, a fan for a very long time and part of me thinks they should have retired when Ronnie Dio passed away, especially when Ozzy looks (and sounds) half-dead. Still, Geezer Butler and Tony Iommi were unbelievable and they, along with the great choice of setlist, carried Ozzy and made it a great show overall.

I heard a pretty good rendition of 10 men went to mow & stand free whilst walking back to my tent on Saturday, think it was the white camp, just before the orange.

Ah, I missed that. Wasn't us anyway, we were in the brown camp.

Aye, good band. Getting plenty of airplay on the American rock stations at the moment

Yeah, will definitely check them out. Probably would shag the singer as well.

3. Sunday

Kyuss Lives were decent, although their Stoner style is better in indoor arenas and the intensity gets lost a bit in open-air environments, imo

Shinedown, as always, were awesome. Third time I've seen them now and they rocked their asses off and the new stuff sounded fantastic, stripped-down without the full orchestration.

AND....

Sabbath. Again, a fan for a very long time and part of me thinks they should have retired when Ronnie Dio passed away, especially when Ozzy looks (and sounds) half-dead. Still, Geezer Butler and Tony Iommi were unbelievable and they, along with the great choice of setlist, carried Ozzy and made it a great show overall.

Yeah, maybe I would have enjoyed Kyuss in the tent. Just not good at all IMO.

I heard mixed reviews from my mates that went to see Shinedown.

I thought Ozzy sounded really good, far better than any videos I've seen. He's looking frail - can't argue that even at this age he's still a great front man.

Forgot to add that the drummer was absolutely excellent as well, far better than Bill Ward these days.

First day back at work, got 2 hours sleep yesterday as we got up to pack at 4.30am, left just before 7am and was back in Newtonhill for 2pm after one half hour stop. Sabbath, Metallica, Steel Panther, Anthrax and Chase & Status were highlights for me. Crap weather first few days but sunburned on Sunday. Glad to come home after not showering for 5 days, I felt like an old firm fan :lolrangers::lolceltic:

Haha, I think I was involved in that. Was wearing my dons top and a bunch of folk recognised it and thus we had a singsong. Only other scots I bumped into were huns, was refreshing to find some dandies.

Can't be assed listing all the bands I saw, so shortened version -

Highlights

The Prodigy - one giant rave with mosh pits. Mental.

Megadeth - Technically superb, not a single mistake. Broderick and Mustaine are excellent guitarists.

Kyuss - Purely because I've wanted to see them for so long

Metallica - Nowhere near as good as Megadeth technically, but they are better showmen. Black Album was superb and plenty of Kill Em All.

Lowlights

Tenacious D - Snore.

The mud

The delay in opening the arena on Friday. Missed Rise to Remain cause of it and I really wanted to see them.

Haha, I think I was involved in that. Was wearing my dons top and a bunch of folk recognised it and thus we had a singsong. Only other scots I bumped into were huns, was refreshing to find some dandies.

Download 2010 I saw a guy sitting down with 3 of the old AFC logos tattooed on his back. This year I saw a Hun top, a few Sunderland tops, a few Chelsea tops, a few Wolves tops and a Dunfermline jacket!

Why would anyone wear football top at a music festival?

White goth make up, chains, long hair and leather bricks with a football top! :wtf:

safe to say that was an awesome weekend then!!

every band i seen were awesome bar a couple, NoFX are a fucking terrible band, shockin songs and terrible singer (told 2 hilarious jokes tho), Nightwish were mingin, expected as much tho cos i dina really like em but was bored oot ma tits watchin, and Tenacious D were root. shudv walked away fae them like but had 4 beers so cudna be assed t move haha.

anyway too many good performances to mention, but i will mention Axewound, Anthrax and Sabbath, obviously Metallica were class. class weekend, only other shite thing il mention was the setup, terrible. pity it rained all thursday aswell haha mental mud, but expected as much unforts

Weather forecast not looking too good, rain all day on the Sunday - hope they're as accurate as usual and we get clear blue skies.

As an aside, I know a Steve T who's going to download and its also his birthday on Saturday - pretty sure its not you though as he was born way before 1986.

Either that or i'm a lot younger than you think

I saw a boy with a dons top wandering about

same. actually seen 2 lots o dons fans wanderin aboot, one group were 3 lads with classic vintage toories on and the other was 2 dudes, 1 wearin a dons top and the other claimin to be a dons fan but basically just spat in my face sayin "donsssss, aaaaaarrrggghhhhhh, fuckin donsh....". good lads.