Earthquake/sonicboom

Did anyone witness the rumbling last night?

Must have been the back of 11, I felt two rumbles and the light was swinging from the roof. Not heard any official word on what caused it and don't know if I imagined it all together.

Must have been RAF Jets( DID THE EARTH MOVE FOR YOU ) :rolleyes:

Semi serious head on. RAF is at fault, but nae for the reasons you think. Maybe blame the Russians, ken this sounds paranoid, but just cos we don't have a cold war anymore doesn't mean that they don't conduct "probes" with their bomber fleet, to test the readiness of the RAF, it's all a big game of cat and mouse, but still very serious business. Especially with the defence cutbacks and base closures kicking in. They've plenty supersonic bombers, but also big hulking propeller bombers too. So the sonic booms are fae the RAF boys goin supersonic to intercept unknown bogies on the radar. Must get confusing if the radar guy has the cold though.

BBC apparently quoting British Geological Survey saying that there was a 3.5 magnityde earthquake 155 miles from Aberdeen in the North Sea.

Now how far into the North Sea was that rig which had a gas leak?

Canna find it, got a link? Pretty sure the Elgin/Franklin field's that far out, but saying the quake was 155 miles out without giving a rough direction means that it coulda happened anywhere in the North Sea.

yip, 2 loud "blasts" at aboot half 9 ish in Cove......though mini jc was hitting his driver at Nigg.

Funny you should say that, played there on friday and was on the edge of the green at the 10th with two shots, pity everything else was shit :(

Serious note though, I didn't hear a thing which is a good job, I'd have freaked oot nae doot.

RAF spokesman has confirmed it was them, some of the Typhoons from Leuchars were out playing over the North Sea. Sonic booms combined with the current high pressure weather system, which means that sound travels further.

I doubt they were off intercepting Russians probing UK airspace, that does still occasionally happen but it's pretty rare nowadays. More likely to be a routine night-flight training exercise.

RAF spokesman has confirmed it was them, some of the Typhoons from Leuchars were out playing over the North Sea. Sonic booms combined with the current high pressure weather system, which means that sound travels further.

I doubt they were off intercepting Russians probing UK airspace, that does still occasionally happen but it's pretty rare nowadays. More likely to be a routine night-flight training exercise.

The Russkies have actually re-started their routine 'patrols' out over the North Sea.

They want to be taken as a serious power again, like in the good old days when folk had to queue for four months to buy used dogshit.

1.jpg