Stoney Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Cut a long story short i went into the collage bar on tuesday to have a pint and watch first half of the football. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 It's cos you went to a pricey bar. Link to comment
Tommy Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Cut a long story short i went into the collage bar on tuesday to have a pint and watch first half of the football. Link to comment
Stoney Posted June 14, 2012 Author Share Posted June 14, 2012 They maybe took you for an idiot. Me and a few others! Robbin cunts, no wonder the place was empty! Link to comment
Tommy Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Me and a few others! Robbin cunts, no wonder the place was empty! It's nae as if it's a titty bar either. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Add the spiders web and key west to the charge too much for a pint list. Link to comment
Tommy Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Add the spiders web and key west to the charge too much for a pint list. Get their e mail addresses Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 what type of pint was it? surelty for that price it mustve been some fancy foreign stuff. or trendy rubbish like magners or desperados. Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 I would have finished my pint then left and went somewhere else for the second half Link to comment
Stoney Posted June 14, 2012 Author Share Posted June 14, 2012 Must have had a Peroni! It was I would have finished my pint then left and went somewhere else for the second half I did, went up to the bowling club but bar doesnt open till 6 Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 College is a good bar. Not overly priced if you avoid peroni. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 College is a good bar. Not overly priced if you avoid peroni. It was a good bar a few years back, did a good lunch and in the evening was always fair busy. Now it is just standard PB Devco fare, over-priced, trying to look modern and full of posers. Link to comment
Stoney Posted June 14, 2012 Author Share Posted June 14, 2012 College is a good bar. Not overly priced if you avoid peroni. Always thought it was alright excellent for the football as they have loads of tv's. Never seen a bar that quiet at that time of night, was myself and two american gadgies in the place! One dude came in looked at what he thought was the food menu (was the cocktails) and about turned and left! Went up to dizzys for a half after that and it was out the door. Im not generally tight but Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 It was a good bar a few years back, did a good lunch and in the evening was always fair busy. Now it is just standard PB Devco fare, over-priced, trying to look modern and full of posers. True that. Bet it still takes in a decent amount though. Weekends will still be busy. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Was there for the champions league final and the bar was hoaching. Good atmosphere and the prices were standard town prices. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 True that. Bet it still takes in a decent amount though. Weekends will still be busy. Certainly is, I work nae too far from there, so it still sometimes makes an appearance on a Friday night out from work. Always hoaching. PB Devco have recently taken over the Howff (I think, certainly only recently I have noticed on their posters). Hope they dinnae change it like the rest of theirs. Another thing, why is Peroni charged at such a premium? It is ok, but not really that great, certainly wouldn't be one of my first choices in a pub. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Was there for the champions league final and the bar was hoaching. Good atmosphere and the prices were standard town prices. Out of interest, what channel did they show that game on? The reason I ask if because they had the Real vs Bayern semi final on some foreign channel [despite it being on ITV] with the volume off, and music on in the bar. Found it strange as quite often used to watch fitba in there. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Certainly is, I work nae too far from there, so it still sometimes makes an appearance on a Friday night out from work. Always hoaching. PB Devco have recently taken over the Howff (I think, certainly only recently I have noticed on their posters). Hope they dinnae change it like the rest of theirs. Another thing, why is Peroni charged at such a premium? It is ok, but not really that great, certainly wouldn't be one of my first choices in a pub.Was gonna ask the same thing, certainly wouldnt be high on my list of drinks. Prince of Wales charge over the odds for it too even though the rest of their drinks are reasonable. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Out of interest, what channel did they show that game on? The reason I ask if because they had the Real vs Bayern semi final on some foreign channel [despite it being on ITV] with the volume off, and music on in the bar. Found it strange as quite often used to watch fitba in there.Was on a foreign channel but with English presenters and commentators. Gary Lineker was in the studio for it. Commentary was on loud, and no music in the bar. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Was gonna ask the same thing, certainly wouldnt be high on my list of drinks. Prince of Wales charge over the odds for it too even though the rest of their drinks are reasonable. All the Belhaven Pubs market it heavily too. Remember that about a year ago they were advertising a pint in every pub at "only Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 peroni is nae different to any other medium strength continental lagers. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Was on a foreign channel but with English presenters and commentators. Gary Lineker was in the studio for it. Commentary was on loud, and no music in the bar. That'll be Al Jazeera then. Link to comment
Stoney Posted June 14, 2012 Author Share Posted June 14, 2012 Was gonna ask the same thing, certainly wouldnt be high on my list of drinks. Prince of Wales charge over the odds for it too even though the rest of their drinks are reasonable. it was just because the two taps i sat down in front off there was some weird stuff that i had never heard off, red strip (which was off) and peroni, the only other tap i seen was for tuborg and im still nae quite sure about it. I never really stick to one beer, which ever one that catches my eye first! Favorite tap would be Heinaken or Amstel but hardly any bars doing it! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Was on a foreign channel but with English presenters and commentators. Gary Lineker was in the studio for it. Commentary was on loud, and no music in the bar. That'll be Al Jazeera then. They have some excellent presenters. Lineker seems to be much more at ease on Al Jazeera than on BBC. Link to comment
zerodon47 Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Aberdeen is definately the most expensive city for price o drinks that iv been tae in the last couple years! add to that the fuckin insanely cuntish price o the taxis and some extremely average restaurants then aberdeen is very much nae value for money! EDIT: hoose prices ana! fuck me theyr the worst value for money anywhere!!! Link to comment
Cowie Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 Aberdeen is definately the most expensive city for price o drinks that iv been tae in the last couple years! add to that the fuckin insanely cuntish price o the taxis and some extremely average restaurants then aberdeen is very much nae value for money! EDIT: hoose prices ana! fuck me theyr the worst value for money anywhere!!! Try the SE of England... You will have a heart attack. Link to comment
Stoney Posted June 14, 2012 Author Share Posted June 14, 2012 loose end again tonight before the club opened so wound up in the less glamorous jml 2.69 for a pint of amstel and a fucking lovely pint it was too. Link to comment
Jigot Posted June 14, 2012 Share Posted June 14, 2012 loose end again tonight before the club opened so wound up in the less glamorous jml 2.69 for a pint of amstel and a fucking lovely pint it was too.I'd sooner lick dog pish off a nettle than drink thon.Mind you I drank it awrite in Greece but I cannae here. Link to comment