Rip Off Bastard Pubs.

Stoney

Carlsberg is honking though.

A pint of non-specific is a pint of non-specific to me, after a couple you wouldn't even notice what you're drinking anyway. Don't get folk that are all arsey over a pint of mass produced generic lager, it's all one.

The current Carlsberg advert does give the boak however and I would refuse to drink it on these grounds, rather than same shite, different fancy glass.

A pint of non-specific is a pint of non-specific to me, after a couple you wouldn't even notice what you're drinking anyway. Don't get folk that are all arsey over a pint of mass produced generic lager, it's all one.

I'm no lager snob, I'll drink Tennents all day long, but I really don't like Carlsberg, tastes shite. Don't mind their Export though.

All the pubs in Aberdeen are fucking shite. To get a decent pub you need to be out in the shire.

A few years back me and a few of the lads decided on doing the Ultimate Aberdeen Pub Crawl

Basically we pulled up the yellow pages (pre internet days) and looked at every drinking establishment out there, from uptown nightspots to low down Torry hovels, hotels & social clubs included.

Obviously this was not done in one sesh but spanned out over a summer. Off the top of my head I seem to remember there were about +/-210 locations.

All we needed to do was take the minimum of one nip for it to be ticked off the list. Some places one nip was really all we were ever going to stay for considering geographical location and the local clientele, others a whole evening was had getting pished.

All in all it was a very eye opening experience, some places were very welcoming, some not but what we did find that generally the shit pubs were cheap and the hotels a fucking rip off. The beer in most places was good but obviously depended on how much you had or if was just a "nip" pub.

I suppose next logical progression would be to do the Shire' - who's in ??

Prices are a way of controlling the clientele.

Things can cost more in some establishments because they want to exclude the low paid , because the low paid are less profitable.

Ok , when we pay 'top dollar' we expect a more upmarket environment....and we can experience the illusion that we are somehow in a better place.

It's all in yer heid.

Business is playing with your prejudice.

Bring back the Spa Bar.

I share your pain mate, I over-indulged a little last night before,during and after the fitba. I'm paying for it now.

:deadhorse: I cannot type today that's 3 fucking edits.

Sounds a bit 'gay' I know but a good habit is to finish off the evening's drinking with a mug of Horlicks or similar. Alcohol strips out essential vitamins and Horlicks pits them back.

You do sacrifice a little of that alcoholic 'high' but you'll be glad in the morning.....just don't let the milk bile oo'er and set the hoose on fire !

I'll bear that in mind Phoen, I'm sure I have some horlicks in the cupboard somewhere.

I get beasting hangovers these days :(

my mum used to tell me to drink a glass of milk before i went out for the evening. i could never stomach the thought tho, and have only ever had one hangover, so can't say for sure if it works. but may be worth a go...

I'll bear that in mind Phoen, I'm sure I have some horlicks in the cupboard somewhere.

I get beasting hangovers these days :(

Not having to go to work helps too , Karl....the effort of having to go and sell your soul to a cabal of rich c**ts along with a hangover is as close a description of hell as we can get.

Havnae had a hangover since I retired( but I am more sensible these days ). I't's fine tae lie in too( and think aboot abuddy getting up and going to wurk ! ).

Aye Stoney.....I must be getting old. I wid never hiv countenanced posting that even 10 years ago.

Fit are ye onywye.....some kinda macho man ? :P

Haha just a sucker for punishment, i hope by enduring a god awful hangover it will lead me to stop being so fucking stupid next time........however it never does.

I can still clear 7 pints in an hour......its nae right :laughing:

my mum used to tell me to drink a glass of milk before i went out for the evening. i could never stomach the thought tho, and have only ever had one hangover, so can't say for sure if it works. but may be worth a go...

May have to give that a bash, cheers :thumbup1:

Not having to go to work helps too , Karl....the effort of having to go and sell your soul to a cabal of rich c**ts along with a hangover is as close a description of hell as we can get.

Havnae had a hangover since I retired( but I am more sensible these days ). I't's fine tae lie in too( and think aboot abuddy getting up and going to wurk ! ).

Aye, it's fair to say my productivity levels have been at record lows the day min.

Hope retirement is treating you well auld fella!

Haha just a sucker for punishment, i hope by enduring a god awful hangover it will lead me to stop being so fucking stupid next time........however it never does.

I can still clear 7 pints in an hour......its nae right :laughing:

Fucking hell Stoney, that's Gazza-esque proportions that like :o

lgir, your avatar pic is ace, your chest looks like a happy sta puft marshmallow man face. good stuff.