sheepiekev Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Milne's obviously a very successful businessman in his own right... however, as Kelt often points out, every football-related decision he's made has been a complete calamity. As I said, I don't think he's a football-man. I don't think he understands football fans. He'll probably remembers the furore over Old Firm tax and the outrage it caused among supporters. That eventually blew over.... who's to say Milne hasn't projected the same think will happen here? As I said, he doesn't understand the mindset of a football supporter - because he isn't one himself. I think he will be believe keeping Rangers in league will represent best option financially for Aberdeen. A reduced TV deal, whenever the contract is up for renewal along with the loss of Rangers gate receipts are tangible. Supporters response, both in the long and short term, is not. I'm worried, so I'm hoping Tup and Bripod are proved correct. It's pretty simple.If Milne votes yes to NEWCO, it's the beginning of the end for him, and also for the club.He'll be hounded out so the guarantees to the bank will go, and the fans will turn their back on the club.....Cue the inevitable demise of AFC.The decision on NEWCO is basically the crossroads for the club in my opinion. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 20, 2012 Author Share Posted June 20, 2012 In a period when Scottish football has been corrupt to the core. It was impossible to succeed looking back. The blame should be targeted elsewhere. Hun like delusion. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 In a period when Scottish football has been corrupt to the core. It was impossible to succeed looking back. The blame should be targeted elsewhere. Hun like delusion. hun like blame dodging. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 People had given up on the club because it was clear that real success was no longer attainable. Our crowds and share of TV money dwindled year on year. This was because Rangers were so far out of reach in terms of resources, and Celtic shared in that too. You canna blame folk for losing interest, and that canna be blamed directly on Milne. He has to take a massive share of the blame. After Hearts - although I'm just guessing here as no-one really knows what the hell is going on over there - we have the highest level of debt. St. Mirren, for example, have no debt and recently managed the successful construction of a new stadium. Our new stadium is already well behind schedule and we still haven't found the means to pay for it. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 It's pretty simple.If Milne votes yes to NEWCO, it's the beginning of the end for him, and also for the club.He'll be hounded out so the guarantees to the bank will go, and the fans will turn their back on the club.....Cue the inevitable demise of AFC.The decision on NEWCO is basically the crossroads for the club in my opinion.Probably cause Pittodrie's value to plummet as well... Link to comment
tup Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Hun like delusion. Why? Rangers overspend was hundreds of millions of pounds. How in the hell would we ever have been able to compete with that? Every time any team in the SPL had a player of real promise or quality, they were signed for a pittance by the Old Firm. That was the reality, not a delusion. Link to comment
tup Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 He has to take a massive share of the blame. After Hearts - although I'm just guessing here as no-one really knows what the hell is going on over there - we have the highest level of debt. St. Mirren, for example, have no debt and recently managed the successful construction of a new stadium. Our new stadium is already well behind schedule and we still haven't found the means to pay for it. St Mirren had a large debt, until Tesco bought their old site, and paid for the construction of a new, cheap, crap stadium. That's not a club that's well run, that's a club that was desperate to be rescued but had high value land to save themselves. We were trying to compete with Rangers for some time after 1991. We never had a hope in hell. That's why our debt is so high. Same goes for Hearts. Link to comment
Lencarl Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Milne has a problem when talking to the media ( not his fault ) he tends to stay in background as it looks bad when ever he makes any statement. He is not a politician but maybe he should hire a spokesperson to get his points over now Miller has gone Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 20, 2012 Author Share Posted June 20, 2012 Why? Rangers overspend was hundreds of millions of pounds. How in the hell would we ever have been able to compete with that? Every time any team in the SPL had a player of real promise or quality, they were signed for a pittance by the Old Firm. That was the reality, not a delusion. So our debt rising nearly 400% is Rangers' fault? Our owner/management should have spotted what we were doing wrong and fixed it, a decade ago. Instead money continues to be drained out of the club. Rangers went for it, everyone knows we couldn't have went with them, and thank god for that because look at the huns now. Their turnover is how many more times that of ours? Even with zero debt each they're going to offer more money than us. That's football. Bigger clubs can pay more money. Adapt, improvise and overcome. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Milne has a problem when talking to the media ( not his fault ) he tends to stay in background as it looks bad when ever he makes any statement. He is not a politician but maybe he should hire a spokesperson to get his points over now Miller has gone Liar's usually do Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 We were trying to compete with Rangers for some time after 1991. We never had a hope in hell. That's why our debt is so high. Same goes for Hearts. That's a cop out tup. I'm well aware I'm not going to change your opinion on anything.... ever. So I'll leave it there. However, Milne has made a series of disastrous decisions since taking control of Aberdeen. We are in dire straits financially and we've been an even bigger shambles on the pitch. If we were trying to compete with Rangers, then we also made a complete hash of doing that too! Milne was the man who sanctioned all this. I have no confidence in Stewart Milne whatsoever and there are a large number of Aberdeen supporters who share my opinion. If he's going to turn things around and begin to change my opinion of him, then he can start by making the correct decision when judgment day for Rangers arrives. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 No knowledge of what is going on but my best guess would be that AAM potentially took a back seat in the Feb/March debt restructuring and also probably indicated not keen on rights issue/share issue for new stadium funding and given those facts should depart when an opportunity could be found which appears to now be the case. Any idea how many shares AAM had? Only Gilbert and Little's personal holdings are disclosed in the AFC accounts. Unlike Milne/SMG they dont fully control AAM themselves so those shares are not classified under them. Link to comment
tup Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 So our debt rising nearly 400% is Rangers' fault? Our owner/management should have spotted what we were doing wrong and fixed it, a decade ago. Instead money continues to be drained out of the club. Rangers went for it, everyone knows we couldn't have went with them, and thank god for that because look at the huns now. Their turnover is how many more times that of ours? Even with zero debt each they're going to offer more money than us. That's football. Bigger clubs can pay more money. Adapt, improvise and overcome. Rangers never 'went for it'. They implemented a massive fraud, the extent of which is vast, and utterly unprecedented in world football. Aberdeen FC had no way of knowing that at the time. We simply assumed they were spending TV money and followed suit. Our fans demanded we try to. They then used their massive spending leverage as justification for taking all TV money and league revenue to themselves (and Celtic). It was an impossible situation, one which no club could possibly have budgeted for, as they were utterly unaware of the underlying reason for Rangers new found prominence. Link to comment
tup Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 That's a cop out tup. I'm well aware I'm not going to change your opinion on anything.... ever. So I'll leave it there. However, Milne has made a series of disastrous decisions since taking control of Aberdeen. We are in dire straits financially and we've been an even bigger shambles on the pitch. If we were trying to compete with Rangers, then we also made a complete hash of doing that too! Milne was the man who sanctioned all this. I have no confidence in Stewart Milne whatsoever and there are a large number of Aberdeen supporters who share my opinion. If he's going to turn things around and begin to change my opinion of him, then he can start by making the correct decision when judgment day for Rangers arrives. I think it's fairly clear that he has every intention of doing that. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 I think it's fairly clear that he has every intention of doing that. I wish I shared your confidence. At this moment in time, I'm bricking it. Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 So our debt rising nearly 400% is Rangers' fault? Our owner/management should have spotted what we were doing wrong and fixed it, a decade ago. Instead money continues to be drained out of the club. Rangers went for it, everyone knows we couldn't have went with them, and thank god for that because look at the huns now. Their turnover is how many more times that of ours? Even with zero debt each they're going to offer more money than us. That's football. Bigger clubs can pay more money. Adapt, improvise and overcome. I agree with tup to a certain extent. Rangers have brought everyone down with them. Every club in Scotland has over spent trying to keep up and now we see the outcome. Anyone who puts the blame 100% on Milne is themselves deluded. Sick of hearing idiotic arguments that Milne is minted so he should be ploughing the cash in. You only need to look at the state of Hearts to see this is not only pointless but unsustainable in the SPL. Its no real coincidence that the old firm have mopped up every league title since the league structure was changed. The blame hear lies higher within the way our league has been run for the past 20 odd years. Lets just hope we have a change for the better coming up in the next few weeks or else Scottish football is doomed. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 20, 2012 Author Share Posted June 20, 2012 I agree with tup to a certain extent. Rangers have brought everyone down with them. Every club in Scotland has over spent trying to keep up and now we see the outcome. Anyone who puts the blame 100% on Milne is themselves deluded. Sick of hearing idiotic arguments that Milne is minted so he should be ploughing the cash in. You only need to look at the state of Hearts to see this is not only pointless but unsustainable in the SPL. Its no real coincidence that the old firm have mopped up every league title since the league structure was changed. The blame hear lies higher within the way our league has been run for the past 20 odd years. Lets just hope we have a change for the better coming up in the next few weeks or else Scottish football is doomed. No ones said anything at all in this thread about Milne putting his own cash in (well except you) and no one has laid blame 100% at his door either. And I'd be interested to know how much of his own money Romanov has pumped into Hearts? The macro environment of course influences every club, but we don't exactly help ourselves do we. The club could and should have been run better. New stadium situation for example...shambles. Anyone with their fingers in their ears lalala it's all everyone else's fault is deluded. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Genuinely dont understand why so many people think Milne will vote to keep Rangers in. He clearly hasnt made money from AFC and has put up with a lot of shit over the last how ever many years. He has made mistakes (as has pretty much every chairman in football!) in that time , mainly in the 1990's when all major clubs both sides of the border spent ridiculous sums. Why would he have stayed so long if he didnt care about AFC and have our best interests at heart ? Don't give me that bollocks about him making money by us moving stadium, he certainly wont be too far ahead financially overall from AFC even if that does happen , also would it have been worth all the abuse over the years? I'm not a Milne apologist and there is no doubt hes fucked up in his time as chairman, however with the arguments above , coupled with the fact he has personally guaranteed our debt for fuck knows how long I have no doubt he will vote no to Rangers Newco. The board restructure is a straightforward freshen up to cope with the new climate , something which people have claimed has been needed for a while. Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 No ones said anything at all in this thread about Milne putting his own cash in (well except you) and no one has laid blame 100% at his door either. And I'd be interested to know how much of his own money Romanov has pumped into Hearts? The macro environment of course influences every club, but we don't exactly help ourselves do we. The club could and should have been run better. New stadium situation for example...shambles. Anyone with their fingers in their ears lalala it's all everyone else's fault is deluded. The part i mentioned about Milnes dosh etc i meant as a general ignorant rant you usually hear from some arshole in the pub. There are plenty of folk out there (not necessarily on here) who just read how much Milne is worth and reckon he should be shelling out. I would love to know what was discussed at his house at the weekend with the 10 chairmen as this boardroom clearout must have been on his mind going into that meeting. Time will tell i suppose. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 People had given up on the club because it was clear that real success was no longer attainable. Our crowds and share of TV money dwindled year on year. This was because Rangers were so far out of reach in terms of resources, and Celtic shared in that too. You canna blame folk for losing interest, and that canna be blamed directly on Milne. Well it's pretty obvious that a team(s) that get a fortnightly gate of 50,000+ will have more disposable income than one that barely gets 10,000 - but that didn't matter in the 80s did it ? Even if we couldn't compete with them financially how come we're not consistently 3rd, occasionally winning a cup - that's right it's because of Milne's Chairmanship of the club. Poor decisions, poor leadership, poor management. He doesn't have a fucking clue what he's doing and to blame anyone but him for where we currently sit (not even in comparison to the OF) is both naive and frankly laughable. Tup all over then... Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 20, 2012 Author Share Posted June 20, 2012 The part i mentioned about Milnes dosh etc i meant as a general ignorant rant you usually hear from some arshole in the pub. There are plenty of folk out there (not necessarily on here) who just read how much Milne is worth and reckon he should be shelling out. I would love to know what was discussed at his house at the weekend with the 10 chairmen as this boardroom clearout must have been on his mind going into that meeting. Time will tell i suppose. Got ye. The usual shite a taxi driver will spin although he's not set foot in Pittodrie for 10 years and won't be back "til Milnes gone". Then he'll have to think of another excuse. Hear it all the time. Link to comment
tup Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Well it's pretty obvious that a team(s) that get a fortnightly gate of 50,000+ will have more disposable income than one that barely gets 10,000 - but that didn't matter in the 80s did it ? Even if we couldn't compete with them financially how come we're not consistently 3rd, occasionally winning a cup - that's right it's because of Milne's Chairmanship of the club. Poor decisions, poor leadership, poor management. He doesn't have a fucking clue what he's doing and to blame anyone but him for where we currently sit (not even in comparison to the OF) is both naive and frankly laughable. Tup all over then... You really dinna get it do you? The SPL and TV money shared between the 'rebel 10' (as these bastards had the hide to call us recently) was laughable. The difference between us all as a result of that, given the low gates engendered by the lack of competition, was negligible. Therefore there was only a marginal difference between the money for 3rd and that for 12th. Neither generated much. That's why it was possible for Gretna and Livingston to come up and tear their way through it, albeit briefly. There was no competition. This was not Stewart Milne's fault, fairly obviously. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Well it's pretty obvious that a team(s) that get a fortnightly gate of 50,000+ will have more disposable income than one that barely gets 10,000 - but that didn't matter in the 80s did it ? That's because this did not happen in the 80's. Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Got ye. The usual shite a taxi driver will spin although he's not set foot in Pittodrie for 10 years and won't be back "til Milnes gone". Then he'll have to think of another excuse. Hear it all the time.Aye exactlyI just nod and agree now. Usually crops up in the small talk exchanged by a taxi driver or some drunk cunt who latches onto you in a pub, generally. Has anything come out of this meeting at the Milne Dynasty at the weekend ? Surprised the west coast didnt catch on and come up with some conspiracy story etc. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Genuinely dont understand why so many people think Milne will vote to keep Rangers in. He clearly hasnt made money from AFC and has put up with a lot of shit over the last how ever many years. He has made mistakes (as has pretty much every chairman in football!) in that time , mainly in the 1990's when all major clubs both sides of the border spent ridiculous sums. Why would he have stayed so long if he didnt care about AFC and have our best interests at heart ? Don't give me that bollocks about him making money by us moving stadium, he certainly wont be too far ahead financially overall from AFC even if that does happen , also would it have been worth all the abuse over the years? I'm not a Milne apologist and there is no doubt hes fucked up in his time as chairman, however with the arguments above , coupled with the fact he has personally guaranteed our debt for fuck knows how long I have no doubt he will vote no to Rangers Newco. The board restructure is a straightforward freshen up to cope with the new climate , something which people have claimed has been needed for a while. Yes you are...why bother taking time out of your life to post otherwise? Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Yes you are...why bother taking time out of your life to post otherwise? You don't understand opinions that arent set in stone and based on "feelings" you have do you ? Blaming Milne and looking for any excuse to have a go (same as you do with Brown) is slightly pathetic and suggests you are not making much effort to actually think about the good and bad points. Still your life seems to revolve around : (1) Hate Craig Brown and make sure everyone knows it at 5 minute intervals.(2) Hate Milne and make sure everyone knows it at 5 minute intervals.(3) A very homo-erotic relationship with Lee Richardson who I think you have a big crush on!(4) Getting told by a majority on here that you are a boring tosser , followed by you saying "i was pished".(5) Trying (badly) to hide your love of all things hun What turned you so bitter , twisted and pathetic ? ... Having a terrorist mother-in-law couldnt have helped I guess. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 You don't understand opinions that arent set in stone and based on "feelings" you have do you ? Blaming Milne and looking for any excuse to have a go (same as you do with Brown) is slightly pathetic and suggests you are not making much effort to actually think about the good and bad points. Still your life seems to revolve around : (1) Hate Craig Brown and make sure everyone knows it at 5 minute intervals.(2) Hate Milne and make sure everyone knows it at 5 minute intervals.(3) A very homo-erotic relationship with Lee Richardson who I think you have a big crush on!(4) Getting told by a majority on here that you are a boring tosser , followed by you saying "i was pished".(5) Trying (badly) to hide your love of all things hun What turned you so bitter , twisted and pathetic ? ... Having a terrorist mother-in-law couldnt have helped I guess. Hurray...woo woo...you've just confirmed to me... you are my first...complete and utter stalker ...fuck me pal I'm not that interesting...you seem to think otherwise and have just confirmed with the above...get help!! Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Hurray...woo woo...you've just confirmed to me... you are my first...complete and utter stalker ...fuck me pal I'm not that interesting...you seem to think otherwise and have just confirmed with the above...get help!! I think anyone who has seen 5 of your posts on this site could compile that list. A stalker ? dont flatter yourself. Even your family send you off to Baku every few weeks to see the back of you , no wonder you are an alcoholic Also , your response to the original post suggest the truth hurts. You couldnt counter any point as usual Link to comment