New Ipad

There's loads of decent free apps in the app store. However, if you want to show off the capabilities of the ipad, you pay for what you get.

- Firstly, get grand theft auto 3. It's absolutely amazing on the ipad. I've spent many an hour playing it.

- Words with friends, bbc iplayer, bbc news are all good.

- I use RL Classic for scanning barcodes and QR codes.

- Monopoly is good fun. Jenga is especially fun on the ipad.

Its all about personal taste. Just hae a good browse through the app store. Anything you can do on your android devices you should be able to do on the ipad.

AroundMe is good if you travel to places you don't know.

Shazam if you like music but have a shit memory. SoundHound the same.

Viber is useful for phoning folk have also have it.

Skype.

Supersonic is quite good. Old style arcade and you can import music from your own iTunes.

If you have sky Internet, get Cloud WiFi to save on 3G charges.

Is this thing just an app that lets you browse to flash sites and watch the embedded clips etc. Didn't have any of this nonsense on android.

Suggestions all appreciated folks.

Aye. You copy and paste the URL into sky fire and then it loads it up and you watch the embedded video.

i use vlc player and avplayerhd to play my media - but will check out the others..

if you're on bt - bt wifi is good - means you can use bt wifi anywhere theres a signal - means you probably don't even need a phone sim card (but you probably should anyway...) Free WiFi Finder is also good for finding free wifi...

Games - take your pick - Angry Birds, Plague Inc, Jelly defence, Monopoly, Where's My Water, Cut The Rope, Plants v Zombies - masses of times wasting to be done !

I prefer to use Camera+ for my photos, WhatsApp pretty essential Viber as has already been mentioned. BBC inlayer, ITV player, 4OD, Sky Go - i like to read my mags on my iPad so Zinio, and Empire, Esquire GQ etc...

Plenty of other - but always on the look out for good apps too - so interested to hear what everyone else says

Just hain a look through my ipad. Some forgotten gems i never mentioned:

- 1password pro (i use across mac, iphone, ipad) to store all my passwords in. Fantastic stuff.

- Fliptime. It's like an old school airport clock/flipper thing. Complete waste of money really but i think it looks cool.

- Sketchbook pro is great fun for drawing cartoons and generally pishin aboot.

- imovie is good for messing around and editing video on the go.

- Theelements. It's like a visual period table. Absolutely stunning visuals. I've only got an ipad 2, but if you've got the new retina display one and there is a retina display version of the app it will probably blow your mind. Watch out though, it takes up about 2gb of space.

- Bloomberg is good for keeping an eye on stock prices and business news.

- Findmyphone allows you to track, remote lock and wipe your ipad.

- Skype for ipad.

Oh aye, any cunts that live in edinburgh, i just got that Edinbus app. It let's you see where all the lothian buses bus stops are across the city, and you can see the what times the buses are due in real-time. It also tells you about delays and where the traffic jams are.

1341674967[/url]' post='784739']

i use vlc player and avplayerhd to play my media - but will check out the others..

if you're on bt - bt wifi is good - means you can use bt wifi anywhere theres a signal - means you probably don't even need a phone sim card (but you probably should anyway...) Free WiFi Finder is also good for finding free wifi...

Games - take your pick - Angry Birds, Plague Inc, Jelly defence, Monopoly, Where's My Water, Cut The Rope, Plants v Zombies - masses of times wasting to be done !

I prefer to use Camera+ for my photos, WhatsApp pretty essential Viber as has already been mentioned. BBC inlayer, ITV player, 4OD, Sky Go - i like to read my mags on my iPad so Zinio, and Empire, Esquire GQ etc...

Plenty of other - but always on the look out for good apps too - so interested to hear what everyone else says

I had vlc player but had to wipe my iPad due to unforeseen circumstances and by then it wasn't available. Have to say I haven't had any issues with cinexplayer

Kelt you are an american min, are americans nae meant to be aiple daft?

smiley_sherlock.gif

Lot of Apple fanboys and fangirls over here... talking to one is like talking to someone whose spent the last 10 years being brainwashed by Moonies.

I have a couple of iTouches, the wife has an iPhone, and more inflexible, unexpandable, limited pieces of crap I've never owned.

Fair enough, they work, but they make you jump through ever-smaller hoops if you want to use them.

You want to stick one song on your iTouch? Better get to a wifi spot or tether it to an activated computer.

Drag and drop? Haha... no, you're going to have to sync the fucker.

Expandability? MicroSD slot? I have no idea what you mean...

Oh, but the iPad has BETTER than HD resolution... great, how many better than HD movies are there for me to watch on the thing? Oh, none, you say?

Android is okay... you can drag and drop, and do so from any computer. You can expand it. You can replace the battery. It's functional and it's flexible.

Apple stuff.... jesus.

Can't understand why anyone would deliberately get Apple when there are alternatives.

Lot of Apple fanboys and fangirls over here... talking to one is like talking to someone whose spent the last 10 years being brainwashed by Moonies.

I have a couple of iTouches, the wife has an iPhone, and more inflexible, unexpandable, limited pieces of crap I've never owned.

Fair enough, they work, but they make you jump through ever-smaller hoops if you want to use them.

You want to stick one song on your iTouch? Better get to a wifi spot or tether it to an activated computer.

Drag and drop? Haha... no, you're going to have to sync the fucker.

Expandability? MicroSD slot? I have no idea what you mean...

Oh, but the iPad has BETTER than HD resolution... great, how many better than HD movies are there for me to watch on the thing? Oh, none, you say?

Android is okay... you can drag and drop, and do so from any computer. You can expand it. You can replace the battery. It's functional and it's flexible.

Apple stuff.... jesus.

Can't understand why anyone would deliberately get Apple when there are alternatives.

Apparent lack of drag and drop is a pain in the hoop. All my music is on a USB HDD, how the fuck do I get it on the iPad without syncing? Must admit though, there's something "nice" about it though.

Kelt, it's a work iPad so any choice was taken away from me. Just happy not to be lugging a ThinkTank around anymore.

Apparent lack of drag and drop is a pain in the hoop. All my music is on a USB HDD, how the fuck do I get it on the iPad without syncing? Must admit though, there's something "nice" about it though.

Kelt, it's a work iPad so any choice was taken away from me. Just happy not to be lugging a ThinkTank around anymore.

Wife's iPhone is through work, bought the iTouches before there was an Android alternative... and admittedly one thing you can say about Apple stuff is that it's smooth and reliable.

I can't understand why Apple deliberately cripples its own devices though... well, I can...

Wife's iPhone is through work, bought the iTouches before there was an Android alternative... and admittedly one thing you can say about Apple stuff is that it's smooth and reliable.

I can't understand why Apple deliberately cripples its own devices though... well, I can...

Because they can. BYOD will drive Apple right into the workplace, where they've never been welcome before. Says something when even Cisco give up on tablets cos Apple are so dominant. Their corporate strategy is to enter a market place and buy it, not counting Flip.

Ironically, some major American corporations are beginning to ban aspects of Apple's devices.

Siri is the prime example.... all data that Siri collects is automatically routed to Apple. What they do with that data... well, that's none of our fucking business, apparently, and Apple isn't inclined to tell anyone... so if you're using Siri for any kind of work-related projects then that data is now in the hands of Apple Corp. And if you happen to work for, say, Microsoft, IBM, or any one of the IT/Telecommunications corporations then you can understand why those companies would not want their staff passing work-related data directly to Apple.

Ironically, some major American corporations are beginning to ban aspects of Apple's devices.

Siri is the prime example.... all data that Siri collects is automatically routed to Apple. What they do with that data... well, that's none of our fucking business, apparently, and Apple isn't inclined to tell anyone... so if you're using Siri for any kind of work-related projects then that data is now in the hands of Apple Corp. And if you happen to work for, say, Microsoft, IBM, or any one of the IT/Telecommunications corporations then you can understand why those companies would not want their staff passing work-related data directly to Apple.

Just investigated what Siri is and if true then fuck me that's naughty. I work for an IT reseller and Apple are by far and away the most inflexible vendor we deal with. Their ethos is we can sell our shit as fast as we can make it so no need to develop the channel, and we are just about as big as it gets in reseller land. Fortunately they haven't really touched my technology yet but it's on the way no doubt.

brainwashing is the spot on term. fuck me, some apple followers are real beauts. just looka t the outpouiring fo grief when their old ceo passed away. or the anticipation when another minor upgrade to an apple product is released. (just how many incarnations of the smaaller ipod have there been?)

everything they do is geared towards limiting the technology and shelf life of your gadget for the next release