tup Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 I'd be happy just to see a team of players in the red shirt who gave it 100% effort in front of a big crowd regardless of their quality or otherwise. i.e. a decent game of football, something in short supply in Scotland, especially if the kick-off time is fucked about with. Link to comment
RUL Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 I don't think Sky will bail though, that's alienating 10% of your UK market for the sake of a few beans and makes no economic sense. Ex sky head of production said something very similar, also said sky will be fairly loyal to spl but they'll expect to pay less Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 Ex sky head of production said something very similar, also said sky will be fairly loyal to spl but they'll expect to pay less They'll be right in expecting to pay less after the noises coming from our football 'leaders'. Fuck me, if you are selling a product and go on national TV and through various outlets explaining how shit it is then don't expect to command top dollar. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 Ex sky head of production said something very similar, also said sky will be fairly loyal to spl but they'll expect to pay less Well the new deal that was agreed was significantly more than the current one (which has a year to run I think). This being the case it would be very cynical of them to look to reduce the existing one in the middle of the deal. If they reduce the new deal I still think thats pretty rotten but tbh I have NO confidence in Doncaster and Topping to present the SPL well and do a good job of selling the league. Hell its seems to me the people who should be talking the SPL up and insisting SKY should honour their existing agreements are actually the very source of all the talk of SKY not honouring the contracts. Its as if they are actively devaluing the SPL. I'd love to think the SPL could find a decent backer to help them set up SPL TV and never be held over a barrel by corporations like SKY ever again. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 If the contract allows them to leave with zero notice because Rangers are not present then Doncaster and Topping should both be sacked immediately - incredible mismanagement from them. Quite a remarkable clause to insert into any contract if this is indeed the case. Doncaster was questioned about this on Sportsound and tried to pass the blame to his predecessor saying that he wasnt responsible for the initial terms of the TV deal. He's conveniently forgetting that he is responsible though for the deal we have now and the one that wasnt signed. But hey, who am I to point out the slopey shoulders on this cunt. 1 Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 Doncaster was questioned about this on Sportsound and tried to pass the blame to his predecessor saying that he wasnt responsible for the initial terms of the TV deal. He's conveniently forgetting that he is responsible though for the deal we have now and the one that wasnt signed. But hey, who am I to point out the slopey shoulders on this cunt. Hopefully some of the SPL Chairman have enough about them to be thinking the same thing and planning when to dunt this fucker. We need a much more successful Chief Exec, Doncaster is a fecking nobody. I'm sure there are some decent people out there with the necessary skills to both manage the clubs ambitions, do a real sales job with the TV Companies, handle the PR properly etc. All things that Doncaster has proven completely incapable of. You also have to think he had a big hand in that shambles of a document pulled together to try and intimidate and bully the SFL. Ignoring the intent of that document for a moment - the actual presentation of the arguments was a complate joke. Very very unprofessional looking for such a document. Almost as unprofessional as the famous Sevco "We are Rangers" presentation. (which frankly might as well have been 4 slides with the words "We", "Are", "The" & "Peepil" emblazoned in huge royal blue text across them. How on earth to clubs ever get approval for an overdraft from a bank if thats the standard of presentation made? Frightening to see just how pathetically poorly qualifed people running both the member clubs and the authorities in the game are. Most of them don't seem like they could manage a coffee shop. Link to comment
mixu Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 My mate is a tim says game is on there website as 12 45ko so guess it must be on tv. Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 i love watching the English games on the telly but its ruining the Scottish game as kids are all going around with Man U or Liverpool topsThere is nothing much we can we do as long as SKY are showing Scottish football as well but if they were to stop the Scottish games my sky would be cancelled no questions asked. Only other solution i can see and that is a long way off if ever (and i do not want to start a political debate) is if Scotland gets independence and gets control over its own TV Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 Doncaster and Regan will be proved correct if we get a crap dealhardly going to encourage them to do better is it. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 So here is a question. If Sevco don't get a licence to play, which is starting to look a real possibility, what then for the SKY deal? Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Considering how much Sky tv gets from Scotland the deal we get for our league is an absolute disgrace. Compared to how much they get down south, even lower down the leagues. Clubs like Burton Albion raking it in - fit? If Sky pull the plug or try to negotiate an even lower deal I would hope a lot of Scots would cancel their Sky Sports subscription. The problem is most only have it so they can watch the English football, and Sky know this. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Considering how much Sky tv gets from Scotland the deal we get for our league is an absolute disgrace. Compared to how much they get down south, even lower down the leagues. Clubs like Burton Albion raking it in - fit? If Sky pull the plug or try to negotiate an even lower deal I would hope a lot of Scots would cancel their Sky Sports subscription. The problem is most only have it so they can watch the English football, and Sky know this. Apparently Sky pay us the same amount for a season of SPL as they do for 2 matches in the EPL. Fit???!!! Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Apparently Sky pay us the same amount for a season of SPL as they do for 2 matches in the EPL. Fit???!!! and the BBC pay Alan Hansen more wages than they give to the SPL rights as well Link to comment
E-P-K Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Don't think sky are advertising spl at all anymore They were certainly advertising it a few days ago, full page ad in the Daily Record and the Sun. Link to comment
Henry Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Sky still have Club 12 on their online fixtures FFS! Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 Sky announcement Viewers will see 30 live matches per season, plus a wealth of highlights A new agreement between Sky Sports and the Scottish Premier League will guarantee the continued coverage of Scottish League football for at least another five years. Sky Sports' coverage of the 2012/13 campaign will begin with Celtic v Aberdeen this Saturday (k/o 12.45pm). The deal will also include live Rangers matches from the Scottish Football League, beginning with their opening clash away to Peterhead on August 11 (k/o 12.45pm). Under the new deal, subject to ratification by the SPL clubs on Friday, Sky Sports viewers will be able to enjoy the following: LIVE MATCHES - 30 live matches a season, including five live Rangers fixtures from the Scottish Football League. MULTI-PLATFORM COVERAGE - coverage for viewers with Sky across TV, online, mobile and tablet devices through Sky Go. EXTRA PROGRAMMING - highlights programmes, plus extensive news views and analysis across Sky Sports News HD and skysports.com. Barney Francis, managing director of Sky Sports, said: "We've supported Scottish football since we started over 20 years ago, and have always wanted to continue that commitment. "Our viewers will see the SPL for five more years and our schedule includes the opening league match for Celtic. We will also follow Rangers as they plot their way back to Scottish football's top flight. "Clubs now have certainty over their income and exposure across the UK and Ireland and we look forward to the new season." Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 Apparently am additional 20 SPL and 10 SFL on ESPN too. Gads. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 We knew it was going to happen. Let's just make the changes we can to the League this season and worry about Sky showing East Stirling v 1690 FC another time. 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 We knew it was going to happen. Let's just make the changes we can to the League this season and worry about Sky showing East Stirling v 1690 FC another time. I'm nae worried aboot it. It's just fucking ridiculous and underlines everything wrong about Scottish Football. Link to comment
MMG Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 How does 50 SPL matches across both Sky and ESPN compare to last season? Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 How does 50 SPL matches across both Sky and ESPN compare to last season?Da' ken. Appear to be rather mair? Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 No mention of money and how it's being distributed... Funny that... Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 Was actually considering subscribing to Sky Sports this season mainly for the SPL but I'm not going to waste my money now, such is their desperation to show Sevco Third Division games. Link to comment
RabidGiraffe Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 So of 50 games being shown on Sky and ESPN, 15 will be SFL, i.e. Sevco. Almost a third of all matches, which will be against part-time teams of a pretty poor standard and will make pretty awful viewing. Most SPL teams will only be shown 2 or 3 times a season, mostly when they play the only remaining half of the OF. 5 year deal too, reportedly for less money than the current one. Great deal Docaster & Co. Way to showcase Scottish football guys. Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 Was actually considering subscribing to Sky Sports this season mainly for the SPL but I'm not going to waste my money now, such is their desperation to show Sevco Third Division games. We can't have everything the way we want it. The fact that Newco Rangers will have games televised in the 3rd Division doesn't come as a surprise at all. Sky/ESPN will have had a lot of subscribers who were supporters of the old Rangers FC, from all over Britain such was their size. It is only natural as a business that they don't want to lose these customers who are now supporters of the Newco Rangers. It really doesn't bother me that Newco Rangers will have televised games, I'm just feeling rather smug in a sense that yet another myth from the media mafia in Glasgow has proven to be pish. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 thefirstrow.eu is your friend.... #nomoresky Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 Celtic turning out the good guys or bullied by Fraser, Petrie n Co? So not only will the impending equal distribution of money come soon (if not this season certainly next) I'm now hearing the max number of home games on telly for any team is increasing from 6 to 9! Not seen it confirmed but that would be a big hit to Celtic when before they only had Rangers x 2, first and last games really. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 Celtic turning out the good guys or bullied by Fraser, Petrie n Co? So not only will the impending equal distribution of money come soon (if not this season certainly next) I'm now hearing the max number of home games on telly for any team is increasing from 6 to 9! Not seen it confirmed but that would be a big hit to Celtic when before they only had Rangers x 2, first and last games really. Does that not help them rather than hinder them? If it was a minimum of 6 they'd take a hit but not if it's a maximum as you rightly point out it's normally just their two games against dead Rangers at home that were on the box. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 Agree with a lot of this. ESPN is generally pish anyway so might as well unsubscribe from them. I'd love to see the terms and conditions of this Sky deal to see if there is a min / max number of home games per season allowable anywhere in the contract. I wonder if it is weighed in favour to Glasgow sides as we all think. Link to comment
MMG Posted July 31, 2012 Share Posted July 31, 2012 So of 50 games being shown on Sky and ESPN, 15 will be SFL, i.e. Sevco. Almost a third of all matches, which will be against part-time teams of a pretty poor standard and will make pretty awful viewing. Most SPL teams will only be shown 2 or 3 times a season, mostly when they play the only remaining half of the OF. 5 year deal too, reportedly for less money than the current one. Great deal Docaster & Co. Way to showcase Scottish football guys. I read it as 50 SPL games PLUS 15 SFL games. Link to comment