tup Posted August 1, 2012 Share Posted August 1, 2012 It's quite simply bad parenting. Going to the game actually involves spending some time with each other, and interacting. Sitting in front of a telly drooling like a halfwit takes no effort whatsoever. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 1, 2012 Share Posted August 1, 2012 It's quite simply bad parenting. Going to the game actually involves spending some time with each other, and interacting. Sitting in front of a telly drooling like a halfwit takes no effort whatsoever. Correct, and shouting abuse at yer own team or the opposition is much more satisfying when they can hear it Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted August 1, 2012 Share Posted August 1, 2012 However, the reasoning given for showing all the hun away games is that it will ease the potential for trouble in small towns from the hordes of terrorists who follow them. That will still happen unfortunately Link to comment
tup Posted August 1, 2012 Share Posted August 1, 2012 Correct, and shouting abuse at yer own team or the opposition is much more satisfying when they can hear it I like getting into fights with the opposition dugout. If they're in a pack, like in a dugout, they can handle the cheek even less. I had Gus McPherson's own substitutes laughing at the abuse I was giving him while he danced on the spot and asked for me to be removed from the stadium. I knew then he was facing the sack imminently, he'd lost the dressing room, or in this instance the dugout. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted August 1, 2012 Share Posted August 1, 2012 That will still happen unfortunately However nobody is concerned about it in reality. The real reason is that Sevco would lose big money if they screened their home games. So they never screen them. Link to comment
caledonia Posted August 1, 2012 Share Posted August 1, 2012 The coverage of the game doesn't bother me per se, less AFC games on the box mean more folk through the turnstiles hopefully, but it's a mere symptom of a wider problem. Hopefully a push for changes to the voting structure are made at the meeting on Friday. But you need TV exposure to entice new young fans thats why so many kids just now are out playing with Man Utd or Arsenal tops on. 2 Link to comment
caledonia Posted August 1, 2012 Share Posted August 1, 2012 correct I know which had a bigger impact on me and you but times have completely changed. exactly and its not just one rangers game its up to 10 at least.Add to that some people might not have the money to take their kids to pittodrie as we are in a recession or they might be out of a job And by the time its over or they can afford it will it be to late. Link to comment
caledonia Posted August 1, 2012 Share Posted August 1, 2012 3 posts in a row but this is what i would do if i were the other clubs outside the old firm1 = get an even or better distribution of cash2 = make sure an even amount of of home and away games for each team are shown in a season3 = make sure each team is shown the same amount of times the first half of the season (after that show the ones competing for the title or relegation)4 = change the league structure to benefit them and Scottish football not just to benefit the deadhuns.5 = tell the deadhuns to fuck off one more time as it sounded so good Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 2, 2012 Share Posted August 2, 2012 But you need TV exposure to entice new young fans thats why so many kids just now are out playing with Man Utd or Arsenal tops on.Spot on.Same applies with hun and mhink tops. Link to comment
STANDfreeSCOTTY Posted August 2, 2012 Share Posted August 2, 2012 Their should absolutely be a fair share of TV money going to all teams. However to think that they wouldn't and shouldn't show more sevco and celtic games on TV is a bit narrow minded. They have the most fans and TV is about viewing figures end off. No one is complaining that we don't see Bollywood movies on BBC 1 at 8pm. If you don't want to watch sevco or celtic, then don't watch it. If you want to watch Aberdeen, get off your arse and go to the game, wherever it is! I could not give a flying fuck if they show more of those cants than Aberdeen, Hearts, Ross County or whoever. Link to comment
slippers Posted August 2, 2012 Share Posted August 2, 2012 The coverage of Scottish football has been terrible for years! Whoever produced the opening credits to the show need shot! I could whip up something better in a day on after effects FFS! Looks like its been filmed and edited by a child! As much as some people wouldn't like this let's get Andy Gray and Richard keys presenting sportscene! Get some decent equipment like sky and improve the product! Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted August 2, 2012 Share Posted August 2, 2012 Anyone else getting annoyed at those disgusting green and white hoops all over BBC Sport all day on the Scottish Football section? Link to comment
slippers Posted August 3, 2012 Share Posted August 3, 2012 Espn confirming they have agreed a deal that will see 30 SPL games and 10 SFL games! Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 7, 2012 Share Posted August 7, 2012 Now 3 season SPL deal with YouTube. AFC (alll clubs?) have dedicated channel. RedWeb Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 7, 2012 Share Posted August 7, 2012 quite happy with that, decent quality aswell. saves bothering to watch sportscene/sky version Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 7, 2012 Share Posted August 7, 2012 Stephen Craigen is bugging the fuck out of me. This Irish twat is on the radio Talkshite and BBC Scotland, and on Sportscene as well. He's everywhere and suddenly an authority on all things Scottish fitba.Another Craig Paterson is all that he is.A lanky streak of pish with to much to say. Plus his accent is murder. Link to comment
tup Posted August 7, 2012 Share Posted August 7, 2012 Stephen Craigen is bugging the fuck out of me. This Irish twat is on the radio Talkshite and BBC Scotland, and on Sportscene as well. He's everywhere and suddenly an authority on all things Scottish fitba.Another Craig Paterson is all that he is.A lanky streak of pish with to much to say. Plus his accent is murder. Not to mention that he's as thick as mince, and an advocate of the type of neanderthal approach to football that makes our league such a laughing stock worldwide. Is it beyond the BBC to simply recruit some people who know what they are talking about, instead of this tired approach of employing ex-pros who were never any use in the first place and who's opinions on anything should be treated with the contempt they deserve? Link to comment
oilcat Posted August 7, 2012 Share Posted August 7, 2012 So according to Derek Rae, ESPN are showing Berwick Sevco against Sevco live the same Sunday that we are at home to Hearts? Seriously WTF? Link to comment
tup Posted August 7, 2012 Share Posted August 7, 2012 So according to Derek Rae, ESPN are showing Berwick Sevco against Sevco live the same Sunday that we are at home to Hearts? Seriously WTF? Any Aberdeen fan subscribing to that utter shite channel needs to take a good look at where their life is heading. You're basically funding Sevco by paying ESPN. Link to comment
tup Posted August 10, 2012 Share Posted August 10, 2012 Straight to the top, I hit the director general mannie with the following: Dear Mr Thompson, Whilst I applaud your sentiments in attempting to regain some balance to the coverage of the Olympics by the BBC in terms of impartiality, I cannot help but feel there is another branch of the organisation far more worthy of your attention in terms of regaining some impartiality, namely BBC Sport Scotland. The BBC website for Scottish football still contains stories linked to the disgraced club formerly known as Glasgow Rangers FC on the SPL website page. This is clearly wrong. The phoenix club which emerged from the financial debacle at Ibrox is in Division 3, and rightly so. They should be afforded the same level of coverage as others in that division are. However, far worse is BBC Sportsound. The programme displays outright bias for Celtic and the new phoenix club who many insist on still calling 'Rangers', which is inherently incorrect, unless of course this 'Rangers' plans to inherit all the obligations of the previous club, particularly in terms of finance. This is never going to happen, hence they are not 'Rangers', and it is an affront to decent, taxpaying citizens in Scotland to address them as such. 'The Rangers' is a new club. Your organisation appears to be acting within Scotland as if nothing has happened. This can only be because the staff at BBC Sport Scotland are former supporters of Rangers. The coverage on Sportsound is, frankly, diabolical. It would me much more appropriate to employ people who would be willing to display objectivity and who can actually provide some intellectual debate in footballing terms. Instead we get the likes of Billy Dodds (who lied to a BBC investigatory programme about EBT's) and Kenny Shiels (Kilmarnock manager displaying open support for Celtic last week). These people are not impartial. Some of them are complete imbeciles who one would cross the street to avoid. I suggest a revamp of BBC Sport Scotland, as clearly objectivity is important to you, and it's been lost in your Scottish football coverage. Yours sincerely 1 Link to comment
barnared Posted August 10, 2012 Share Posted August 10, 2012 spot on about ESPN. i cannae believe anyone other than the huns or celic fans would pay for that crap and the bbc wiil be up and down the country giving full abd comprehensive coverage and news from the scottish 3rd div and ramsdens cup ties....like they always did, no? Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted August 19, 2012 Share Posted August 19, 2012 15 SFL games at the weekend but only one game has highlights on the BBC website - http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/19313755 Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 15 SFL games at the weekend but only one game has highlights on the BBC website - http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/19313755 Dinna stick up a link then - all you're doing is encouraging them. You'd think a mod would know that... Link to comment
tup Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 I never even got the courtesy of a reply fae the BBC mannie Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 I phoned and cancelled my ESPN the other week. Good riddance. I'll use First Row Sports from now on for free when I want to watch German games etc. Fuck off ESPN. Did they nae give you it for free? THats what they did when I cancelled mine. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 What has happened to all the live BBC radio coverage? Last season they usually had a few games on live at the same time on various FM frequencies depending on what region you were in. On Saturday I couldn't find anything apart from the open all mics coverage so I had to dust off the laptop and get RedTV coverage on (which is pretty good due to the biased nature of it). Has this now stopped? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Pretty sure it has yea, due to cost cutting. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Aye, 3 months free or something like that. It's free with Millertime's boys anyway - £10 for the card, but no subscription Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 What has happened to all the live BBC radio coverage? Last season they usually had a few games on live at the same time on various FM frequencies depending on what region you were in. On Saturday I couldn't find anything apart from the open all mics coverage so I had to dust off the laptop and get RedTV coverage on (which is pretty good due to the biased nature of it). Has this now stopped? It sure has, Richard Gordon put on his twitter that it was due to BBC cut backs. You know the BBC cut backs, the ones where they spend an estimated Link to comment
tup Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 The BBC that covers football in Scotland is basically an offshoot of the huns, with a few tims thrown in to keep the peace. If Richard Gordon had any self-respect he'd hand in his resignation immediately. Link to comment