E-P-K Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 It sure has, Richard Gordon put on his twitter that it was due to BBC cut backs. You know the BBC cut backs, the ones where they spend an estimated Link to comment
tup Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Yip. Rob Peter to pay Paul, Or in simple terms, Fuck Scottish fitba Per se, the BBC would rather have Van Persie I honestly think it's because they've taken the cream puff about the Rangers situation and decided 'it's our ball and we're taking it back'. I've complained various times about their coverage and the sheer bias of it and I've only once had a reply, one inviting me to make a formal complaint against Chick Young, which was probably some sort of internal joke. Link to comment
barnared Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 I honestly think it's because they've taken the cream puff about the Rangers situation and decided 'it's our ball and we're taking it back'. I've complained various times about their coverage and the sheer bias of it and I've only once had a reply, one inviting me to make a formal complaint against Chick Young, which was probably some sort of internal joke. No its cause they are English fitba loving cunts at the BBC full stop. There is nothing else to it, Sky arnae much better. The proportion of money spent on English fitba per English pound payed to Sky sports to that of Scottish pounds paying for Sky sports and money going to Scottish game is fucking crazy...........You could say, well at least the SPL get something...But I wouldnae put it like that. The only good point to Sky sports is the almost equal share of international coverage. Back to the BBC. We pay a fucking incredibly expensive licence fee for basically fuck all entertainment and to top it all off us Scots have tae watch our money going to fund an already over funded EPL and also LOWER LEAGUE!!! English football when we get 1, day late, highlights show lasting about 1/2 an hour! Not even online radio commentary any more. The final fucking insult Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Games moved Fucking pish.Especially the Sunday een. The following Clydesdale Bank fixtures have been changed due to both games being selected by the TV companies. Round 7 Aberdeen v Motherwell Was - Saturday 22/09/12 3.00pm KO Now - Sunday 23/09/12 12.45pm KO Live on Sky Sports Round 8 Aberdeen v Hibernian Was - Saturday 29/09/12 3.00pm KO Now - Saturday 29/09/12 12noon KO Live on ESPN Link to comment
jassb Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Can't say I'm upset at those changes. Local holiday on the 24th so that's not so bad. Go to the game then the rest of the day in the pub without worrying about a Monday hangover. I'm away on holiday when the hibs game is on so might get to see that in a pub somewhere now. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Reading that only 90k watched Celtic v Aberdeen but 166kWatched Peterhead v rangers. The other sol games covered so far have had viewers if 20k Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Reading that only 90k watched Celtic v Aberdeen but 166kWatched Peterhead v rangers. The other sol games covered so far have had viewers if 20k Well considering there was about 50 000 more punters at our game that would make sense no? If we'd had a televised game against the tims being played at a wee diddy ground then there'd be no room for all the tim punters there so they'd be watching it on the box also Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 Can't say I'm upset at those changes. Out of our next 4 home games only 1 remains at 3pm Saturday KO. That pisses me off. Especially moving games for TV when the TV deal we have is absurdly pish. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 Well considering there was about 50 000 more punters at our game that would make sense no? If we'd had a televised game against the tims being played at a wee diddy ground then there'd be no room for all the tim punters there so they'd be watching it on the box also To give it more substance there was 306k watched opening spl game last year min? All spl audiences are well down on last year, we are talking itv digital territory. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 Out of our next 4 home games only 1 remains at 3pm Saturday KO. That pisses me off. Especially moving games for TV when the TV deal we have is absurdly pish. I think they should trial showing games live at 3pm, up against other games, worth a shot? Sure crowds wouldn't be affected and bound to get more viewers? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 To give it more substance there was 306k watched opening spl game last year min? All spl audiences are well down on last year, we are talking itv digital territory. Wonder if it's media spin & false stats or maybe the Olympics had an effect on the figures, everyone was pretty hyped about them or maybe it's really the reason below What no Glasgow Rangers in the SPL! ah well am no watching that shite en! Link to comment
tup Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 It's against the law, or something. TV exposure = kick offs getting dicked around with. Sad fact of life. It's about the only thing left sacrosanct in modern football. TV coverage is not allowed at 3pm on a Saturday because this is when all teams play their usual games. Ergo, local clubs would lose out to all these so-called big clubs who dominate the saturation television coverage. Changing that rule would finish football for small clubs, even though they've little to play for as it is. TV exposure is a fallacy. We should totally dispense with it in Scotland. 2 Link to comment
tup Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 Quite how Sky can get away with running a cartel which benefits themselves and the handful of big clubs they are obsessed with to the huge detriment of all others is a question which remains unanswerable. Money corrupts and it seems basic rules which govern our society are being ignored or swept away in a sea of cash. BT dominated the telecoms market. The Monopolies Commission correctly broke them up, which drove the price down. Why are they not looking at Sky, which has a vice like grip on UK football, and charges way over the score for the privilege of watching the same handful of teams every week? God knows. Society is sick at present, consumed by gluttony, and this is merely another branch of that to add to banks, MSP's, offshore workers etc etc. None of them interested in making things better for all so consumed are they by taking everything to themselves. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 Wonder if it's media spin & false stats or maybe the Olympics had an effect on the figures, everyone was pretty hyped about them or maybe it's really the reason below What no Glasgow Rangers in the SPL! ah well am no watching that shite en! The stats are from barb but you'd assume Olympics were a factor Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 Notice the been now has a Scottish Football main page, rather than the main one being the SPL. I assume this is so they can keep the newhun high on their agenda despite the complaints. Or maybe it's because I'm looking at it on my mobile? Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 21, 2012 Share Posted August 21, 2012 Edit: doubled- bloody mobile Link to comment
Poodler Posted August 22, 2012 Share Posted August 22, 2012 Edit: doubled- bloody mobile I noticed on the back of the Daily Record that The Rangers have adverts for their games in the Scottish Football League, no mention of Div 3. I did laugh Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted September 11, 2012 Share Posted September 11, 2012 New TV fixtures announced.Only the one affecting us which was a certainty to be picked.So happy that it remains on a Saturday. Sunday games suck ass. Not so happy though that we have no away games televised.Only 6 Celtic games out of the 13... Fixture amendmentThe SPL today announced a number of Clydesdale Bank Premier League fixtures to be shown live on Sky Sports and ESPN plus a new date for the outstanding match between Celtic and Dundee United that was postponed in August. Saturday October 20St Mirren v Celtic - live on ESPN, 12.30pm Sunday October 21Hearts v Motherwell - live on Sky Sports, 12.45pm Friday October 26Motherwell v Hibernian - live on ESPN, 7.45pm Sunday November 4Dundee United v Celtic - live on Sky Sports, 12.45pm Saturday November 10Inverness CT v Hearts - live on ESPN, 12 noon Sunday November 11Hibernian v Dundee United - live on Sky Sports, 12.45pm Saturday November 17Aberdeen v Celtic - live on ESPN, 12 noon Sunday November 18Inverness CT v Motherwell - live on Sky Sports, 12.45pm Saturday November 24Motherwell v Hearts - live on Sky Sports, 12.45pm Wednesday November 28Hearts v Celtic - live on ESPN, 7.30pm Saturday December 8Kilmarnock v Celtic - live on ESPN, 12.30pm Sunday December 9Dundee v Dundee United - live on Sky Sports, 12.45pm Wednesday December 12Celtic v Dundee United, 7.45pm Link to comment