amancalledbuck Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Same here. There used to be a guy with long blonde hair in there all the time. Haggered looking fella probably in his early 50's who used to give me the creeps. Other than that it was generally all right. Never stayed in too long anytime I was in but that was purely for keeping a clean police record more than anything else. Haggard. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Haggard. I'm nae a Harry Potter fan. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I'm nae a Harry Potter fan. Lord Of The Rings? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Lord Of The Rings? Never been in. Does it serve a good pint? Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Never been in. Does it serve a good pint? I'm too tired to make funnies. I've been gardening today. And yes, it was on an incline. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I'm too tired to make funnies. I've been gardening today. And yes, it was on an incline. Is the show still on in August in your new town? That's a belting weekend make no mistake. I'd probably come up past and pay you a visit if it's on at the right date. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I usually avoid social gatherings, like the plague, but I might pay this a visit. I've heard good things about it. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I'm too tired to make funnies. I've been gardening today. And yes, it was on an incline. Which direction on the incline, would you say, that you did most of this gardening? 1 Link to comment
phoenix Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 Any pub I walk into automatically becomes the roughest pub..... .....sailor. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 Any pub I walk into automatically becomes the roughest pub..... Aye, word is yer a menace in thon bath-chair Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 i'm downin scarborough, and i walked by a hun pub, orange walk mural on the outside. needless to say it was a shithole. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 i'm downin scarborough, and i walked by a hun pub, orange walk mural on the outside. needless to say it was a shithole. Wonder if that " Fuck The Huns" is still visible in the pisser. Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 We had to leave a pub in Larne where we were killing an hour before catching the ferry. It was a hun pub and one of my mates had scratched "Ally McCoist sucks cock" on the pisser wall. As he was urging us out, I had to go back for a look. I laffed. On that same trip, the pub in Donegal has to be the friendliest ever. It was a Celtic pub and we watched the highlights of AFC getting horsed 5-0 at Celtic Park. Mid 90's sometime. Have bad memories of a pub in larne on the way back from bohs v aberdeen Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 Have bad memories of a pub in larne on the way back from bohs v aberdeen Were you one of them with the flags n flares. Or am i mixing you up with someone else ? Link to comment
K-9 Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 Were you one of them with the fags n flares. Or am i mixing you up with someone else ?Me and Milners were with him but nae sure about the flares!! 1 Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 Haha Before i joined the granite city............actually quite a bit before! I was with the Ullivi dons, one of our party got shot with an air rifle before the game, eventful trip Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 Me and Milners were with him but nae sure about the flares!! Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 Haha Before i joined the granite city............actually quite a bit before! I was with the Ullivi dons, one of our party got shot with an air rifle before the game, eventful trip Back in the day eh At ibrox a chelsea bam fired a rescue flare, it hit wall of main stand and then bounced offme.Little wonder i shat myself when Everton came up in more recent times Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 25, 2012 Share Posted July 25, 2012 Back in the day eh At ibrox a chelsea bam fired a rescue flare, it hit wall of main stand and then bounced offme.Little wonder i shat myself when Everton came up in more recent times haha think that was before my time, first game for me was 96, and then didnt return until 99 i was in the merkland for the everton game, simpler times Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 Dishonourable mention for Murdos http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/news/local/two-men-in-hospital-after-alleged-brawl-at-aberdeen-pub-1.318074 Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 just saw the what the fuck were you doing in paedo-town scarborough! I went to see the coastal erosion on the Yorkshire coast south of scarborough. all these people who bought their houses with sea views, and now years later they've got beach front properties, sort of Malibuesque post mandarin attack on iron man's howf. there's a cracking boozer in niddrie, Edinburgh just opposite the holyrood boxing club, called omans. we sometimes went there after a sunday league game against a team from that neck of the woods. opens at 6 in the morning for no reason apart from alkies, no post office or train station for miles. some of the patrons have lived in faces. went to the canny mans in morningside the other day with mrs b. and my mum! needless to say we didn't get served! it's legendary for that, not serving people. it's like norman bates' parlour inside, stuffed animals and curios all over the place. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 Don't start something you're nae willing to finish. Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 went to the canny mans in morningside the other day with mrs b. and my mum! needless to say we didn't get served! it's legendary for that, not serving people. it's like norman bates' parlour inside, stuffed animals and curios all over the place. Is it still owned by the same arsehole? Used to live opposite that place yeeears ago so got told a few stories. The guy used to ask people to shift their cars from the car park if a nicer car turned up - He'd actually insist, even when the folk were eating. He also turfed my uncle out for being English, then invited him back in when he found out he was an accountant?! Saw Alex McLeish walk in, then immediately walk out one time as well - Never found out what happened there. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 aye it's a weird place, a public bar, but regulars only! my old dear kens the kerrs as well, but that has got nothing to do with anything. love the big brass plaque outside. no camerasno backpackersno mobile phonesno irish the last one's a joke, but... Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 Always liked that he was aiming for some exclusive, luxury ambience, butu the pub entrance was directly opposite a particularly seedy-looking Ladbrokes and a honking public toilet (or it was 15 years ago, at least). Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 the safeway is now a waitrose, and there's a few charity shoppies that I'm sure the good people of morningside will try their hardest to make sure their leases are not renewed. Edinburgh now has a handful of working class areas, around the football grounds. stockbridge - goneNewington and marchmont are students...and so on. gorgie and easter road area are all that's left, everybody's gone to the suburbs. Leith doesn't count, and if you're a leither it definitely doesn't count because it's not Edinburgh. Leith has at least 3 Michelin starred restaurants anyway! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 Dishonourable mention for Murdos http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/news/local/two-men-in-hospital-after-alleged-brawl-at-aberdeen-pub-1.318074I'm led to believe, young Ryan Youngson, who a few on here will know, suffered a broken jaw in said incident Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 I cut my drinkin teeth in Edinburgh Link to comment