Bluto10 Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 Don't start something you're nae willing to finish. Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 went to the canny mans in morningside the other day with mrs b. and my mum! needless to say we didn't get served! it's legendary for that, not serving people. it's like norman bates' parlour inside, stuffed animals and curios all over the place. Is it still owned by the same arsehole? Used to live opposite that place yeeears ago so got told a few stories. The guy used to ask people to shift their cars from the car park if a nicer car turned up - He'd actually insist, even when the folk were eating. He also turfed my uncle out for being English, then invited him back in when he found out he was an accountant?! Saw Alex McLeish walk in, then immediately walk out one time as well - Never found out what happened there. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 aye it's a weird place, a public bar, but regulars only! my old dear kens the kerrs as well, but that has got nothing to do with anything. love the big brass plaque outside. no camerasno backpackersno mobile phonesno irish the last one's a joke, but... Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 Always liked that he was aiming for some exclusive, luxury ambience, butu the pub entrance was directly opposite a particularly seedy-looking Ladbrokes and a honking public toilet (or it was 15 years ago, at least). Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 the safeway is now a waitrose, and there's a few charity shoppies that I'm sure the good people of morningside will try their hardest to make sure their leases are not renewed. Edinburgh now has a handful of working class areas, around the football grounds. stockbridge - goneNewington and marchmont are students...and so on. gorgie and easter road area are all that's left, everybody's gone to the suburbs. Leith doesn't count, and if you're a leither it definitely doesn't count because it's not Edinburgh. Leith has at least 3 Michelin starred restaurants anyway! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 Dishonourable mention for Murdos http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/news/local/two-men-in-hospital-after-alleged-brawl-at-aberdeen-pub-1.318074I'm led to believe, young Ryan Youngson, who a few on here will know, suffered a broken jaw in said incident Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 I cut my drinkin teeth in Edinburgh Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 You must be an old bigger TB stock bridge and matchmont haven't been "WC" forDecades Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 I think ever since the 80's the whole gaff has been slowly gentrified, well before my youth. I bet the council have dumbiedykes on their hit list soon. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 when you chat to salt-of-the-earth types, you kind of get the gen. when 2 stories match in different pubs, different people, there may be a grain of truth in what they're whinging about. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 stockers used to be the hippy place, all arty farty. so "they" moved in to join in the fun, and they inevitably suck the soul out the place. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 prime real estate, just up the road from the parliament, views of arthur's seat and the park. get it knocked down, rapid style. they're building student accommodation just down the road from me, right next to the regent bar, a rainbow flag boozer, so it'll be right up their alley! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 I'm led to believe, young Ryan Youngson, who a few on here will know, suffered a broken jaw in said incidentA few others with some tasty injuries as well including missing body parts. Thank fuck we never went back there after the game yesterday. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 blooters. I got my Panini #gotgotneed getting my box of stickers this week. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 A few others with some tasty injuries as well including missing body parts. Thank fuck we never went back there after the game yesterday.was going to head in but got the offer of a lift, our boys just walked in when it kicked off Link to comment
Tommy Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 I'm led to believe, young Ryan Youngson, who a few on here will know, suffered a broken jaw in said incidentNae good, he's a decent lad. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 had a wee deek at the article. seems what happened is it's a scheme pub with its regulars and a few people weren't, a volatile mix, high spirits, stares were exchanged and things were said then all hell breaks loose. I'm some detective! in any city in general, I'd feel much safer in a city centre pub instead of one further out. same with all the wee towns round about Edinburgh, some ropey wee hun places. whae's this cunt? 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 blooters. I got my Panini #gotgotneed getting my box of stickers this week.Already working my way through the box. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2014 Share Posted April 14, 2014 I want to see if England let them use the badge and strip. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Thread about the toughest pubs and it gets on to fitba stickers. Any adult without a child that collects fitba stickers is a Category A weirdo. 4 Link to comment
Down Under Sheep Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Anyone remember Dancing Cairns? Link to comment
Tyrant Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Not a pub regular in all honesty. The Albion in Govan, The East Neuk on King Street and the Broadswaord in Tilly are probably the worst ones I've been to. Never had any problems in any of them though. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Not a pub regular equals lonely hermit in my book Link to comment
Hewitt1983 Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 What was the story at Murdos then? All I heard was that some cunt kicked a bird in the heid then proceeded to get part of his ear bitten off Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 She probably deserved it. And the bloke has two lugs, so plenty left if only part of one was bitten off. 1 Link to comment
Tyrant Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Not a pub regular equals lonely hermit in my book You can be in public without being in a pub ye ken. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Found that the roughest bars are always the best as no cunt steps out of line, Then you go to the snoppy pub / clubs in town and have fan boys acting the goat - which i find really irritating. You know where you stand in a rough pub, you wont get battered for no reason. Not through experience anyways. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Nah its just a bit strange. Like someone who never eats out. Or next er goes on holiday. Or doesn't eat or drink basic foodstuffs. You get folk like that you know. Weird picky people. They give me the creeps Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 I'm led to believe, young Ryan Youngson, who a few on here will know, suffered a broken jaw in said incidentWas always quiet when we were younger. Would be very surprised if he started it. Saw something about it on facebook yesterday but no idea what actually happened. Link to comment