Karl Fletcher Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 Don't ask me how, but I stumbled upon looking at our 93/94 campaign on Wiki/AFC Heritage website. I was born in '87 and was definitely going to Dons games by this point but looking at this season, holy fuck, what a season it was of 'close things' I don't remember this much heartache! -Finish just three points off Rangers in the title race. Looking at the fixture list, what a frustrating amount of shitey draws we had. Really should have had that title wrapped up. -Narrow defeat by Torino in the ECWC, after they'd scored a late winner in Italy, denying us a Quarter Final tie with Arsenal -United equalise in the last minute in the Scottish Cup Semi-Final, gone onto win the Replay and eventually the Cup against an indifferent hun side. On reflection does that entire season compare, in terms of heartache and could've beens, to that fateful day at Ibrox in May 1991? Season 1993-94 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 We were crap that season. The seeds were sown therein for the near relegation the following season. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 Don't ask me how, but I stumbled upon looking at our 93/94 campaign on Wiki/AFC Heritage website. I was born in '87 and was definitely going to Dons games by this point but looking at this season, holy fuck, what a season it was of 'close things' I don't remember this much heartache! -Finish just three points off Rangers in the title race. Looking at the fixture list, what a frustrating amount of shitey draws we had. Really should have had that title wrapped up. -Narrow defeat by Torino in the ECWC, after they'd scored a late winner in Italy, denying us a Quarter Final tie with Arsenal -United equalise in the last minute in the Scottish Cup Semi-Final, gone onto win the Replay and eventually the Cup against an indifferent hun side. On reflection does that entire season compare, in terms of heartache and could've beens, to that fateful day at Ibrox in May 1991? Season 1993-94 Only two points for a win at that time. Rangers won it by a far bigger distance than the three points suggests. Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 I have that season review on VHS. Some cracking goals from Shearer n Co. Some terrible 0-0 draws at home that season effectively cost us the league. Hindsight is a good thing but that was a decent side we had that season. 1st season of the RDS too if i remember correct. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 I remember the Torino game, that was about it! I don't remember much about the league etc. I'm sure I also made it to at least one of the cup finals....that was heartbreaking, even at 10. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 23, 2012 Share Posted July 23, 2012 We were better the season before. Link to comment
Kilkito Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 -Narrow defeat by Torino in the ECWC, after they'd scored a late winner in Italy, denying us a Quarter Final tie with Arsenal -United equalise in the last minute in the Scottish Cup Semi-Final, gone onto win the Replay and eventually the Cup against an indifferent hun side. I watched the Torino away game in the Pittodrie bar, can't remember if it was Jess or Mixu that put us 2 up, sure they were the scorers though, but the pub went absolutely mental, up on the tables etc Torinos first and 3rd goals were both scored well into injury time, we just didn't get the breaks. to be fair, in the home leg, was it Carbone, the wee winger, ripped us apart, and they were deserved winners, although Ricos goal was a classic. The Semis were heartbreaking, the first game we were very poor and lucky to get a draw. The 2nd game, we were by far the better team and didn't deserve to lose. In those days, you were sure you'd be back to Hampden pretty soon! Link to comment
tup Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Aye Jess and Paatelainen scored. I had a season ticket that year. It was pishing it down with rain and howling a gale when we played Torino at home. Carbone was good but Andrea Silenzi up front destroyed us in that game. I was also at the United game at Hampden. That was the end of an era, we've never been anywhere near as good since 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 We were better the season before.Aye. By about 10 times. That team of 93/94 got exactly what it deserved from that season.Fuck all. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 That was the end of an era, we've never been anywhere near as good since It is almost painful thinking back to the slide from great to good to average to poor - whilst it is sad for younger fans not to have experienced the glory - many have avoided the pain of that drop... ...however they have also missed the fun of owning Glasgow and going to ibrox and parkhead with justified confidence... Link to comment
AussieDon Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I watched the Torino away game in the Pittodrie bar, can't remember if it was Jess or Mixu that put us 2 up, sure they were the scorers though, but the pub went absolutely mental, up on the tables etc Torinos first and 3rd goals were both scored well into injury time, we just didn't get the breaks. to be fair, in the home leg, was it Carbone, the wee winger, ripped us apart, and they were deserved winners, although Ricos goal was a classic. The Semis were heartbreaking, the first game we were very poor and lucky to get a draw. The 2nd game, we were by far the better team and didn't deserve to lose. In those days, you were sure you'd be back to Hampden pretty soon! I was in the Pittodrie Bar that night too. Wasn't there an incident at the home leg. Some numpty chased the ref if I recall. Link to comment
Jonty Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I watched the Torino away game in the Pittodrie bar, can't remember if it was Jess or Mixu that put us 2 up, sure they were the scorers though, but the pub went absolutely mental, up on the tables etc Torinos first and 3rd goals were both scored well into injury time, we just didn't get the breaks. to be fair, in the home leg, was it Carbone, the wee winger, ripped us apart, and they were deserved winners, although Ricos goal was a classic. The Semis were heartbreaking, the first game we were very poor and lucky to get a draw. The 2nd game, we were by far the better team and didn't deserve to lose. In those days, you were sure you'd be back to Hampden pretty soon! Carbone and Silenzi tore us apart at Pittodrie that night. Mind watching the first leg at home on Rai Uno on Cable TV, volume down, radio commentary switched up. Link to comment
RUL Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Did Torino not let off a flare in the main stand? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Did Torino not let off a flare in the main stand? Aye, I remember Bohemians let off loads as well. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 1987, what a terrible year to be born as a dons fan. Raging, wish I was born in 1960. Better Dons, better Scotland team and better music to grow up to!! Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 We should never have even needed the replay against United in the cup semi. We were 1-0 up after about 3 minutes of the first game thanks to Duncan Shearer (and a howler from the United keeper), and were then comfortable for the whole game until the 89th minute, when the bastards equalised. We then just never got going at all in the replay and deserved to lose. As Tup says the rot was already setting in by that point, with some pretty sub-standard players in amongst the classs. Guys like Ray Mackinnon had been brought in but were clearly not of a standard that we required to keep a realistic league challenge going. Although we were 2nd we were well off the pace and were nowhere near as good as the team of 92/93 Link to comment
WillemVan Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Was it the 92-93 season when we gubbed Hearts 6-2, Partick 7-0 and Airdrie 6-0? Think we got to two cup finals that season as well. Some of the football we played that season was a joy to watch, Jess, Shearer, Booth and Mixu were on fire the whole season. How we didn't win anything is unbelievable. To be fair the huns were strong as well and got the breaks especially in the two cup finals. What a bounce when Shearer equalised in the Skol cup final, can remember it so well. How times have changed, it's depressing. When I was growing up as a kid Aberdeen were always strong and challenging, you just took it for granted. Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Remember that season well and must say the stupid draws that should have been wins cost us.I think the next season was just as bad Link to comment
Johnny Mac Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I remember Shearer was dropped for the away leg of the Torino game then scored a belter of an overhead kick against Dundee United on the Saturday. Will never forget that goal. Link to comment
Kilkito Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 We should never have even needed the replay against United in the cup semi. We were 1-0 up after about 3 minutes of the first game thanks to Duncan Shearer (and a howler from the United keeper), and were then comfortable for the whole game until the 89th minute, when the bastards equalised. We then just never got going at all in the replay and deserved to lose. Not saying your wrong, but thats not how I recollect it at all, I was sure we gubbed them in the replay and just didn't get the breaks, but I often can't remember the score from few weeks back. What a bounce when Shearer equalised in the Skol cup final, can remember it so well. One of the best ever, travelled from virtually the back row of the terracing to against the fence at the front, those were the days. The og 2 minutes from the end was heartbreaking. I remember Shearer was dropped for the away leg of the Torino game then scored a belter of an overhead kick against Dundee United on the Saturday. Will never forget that goal. Me neither, drove over from Mallaig, cutting my hioliday short for it, was well worth it, did McMoist not score one similar the following week against Hibs in the league cup final and it was all we ever heard about, no mention of Big Duncs. Link to comment
tup Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 One of the best ever, travelled from virtually the back row of the terracing to against the fence at the front, those were the days. The og 2 minutes from the end was heartbreaking. Aye 2 minutes from the end of extra time. I was right up against the fence and the hail of coins from the huns after Shearer scored was something else. Also remember smaller kids getting passed down over folks heads after it as folk were bleeding from head cuts from the flying debris. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I spent circa '89 - '99 in a drink and drug fuelled stupour. I remember nothing. Link to comment
tup Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Here was me thinking you were just feel. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Here was me thinking you were just feel.That too Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 We should never have even needed the replay against United in the cup semi. We were 1-0 up after about 3 minutes of the first game thanks to Duncan Shearer (and a howler from the United keeper), and were then comfortable for the whole game until the 89th minute, when the bastards equalised. We then just never got going at all in the replay and deserved to lose. As Tup says the rot was already setting in by that point, with some pretty sub-standard players in amongst the classs. Guys like Ray Mackinnon had been brought in but were clearly not of a standard that we required to keep a realistic league challenge going. Although we were 2nd we were well off the pace and were nowhere near as good as the team of 92/93 Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Was born in 85 and pretty sure the 93/94 season was when I first went to the football. Was never interested in football until I went to my first game at Pittodrie which I think was Scotland vs Estonia or Scotland vs Switzerland then was hooked. Remember being at the Torino game and that Torino had fans in the main stand Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I remember Shearer was dropped for the away leg of the Torino game then scored a belter of an overhead kick against Dundee United on the Saturday. Will never forget that goal. Correct, I was there too. Pikeys were wearing their away strip which resembled a crushed piece of grey and white paper???? I remember Brian Welsh and his blonde mop frantically chasing Shearer about. His overhead kick was marvellous. For some reason there were never any cameras there that day but i remember it clear as day, was sitting in the South Stand and had a great angle. Shearer the Pikey slayer Link to comment
tup Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 It was Welsh who equalised was it not? That was one of the first games at the redeveloped Hampden. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 It was Welsh who equalised was it not? That was one of the first games at the redeveloped Hampden.Is that not what you spent months attempting to do on a bet you had on the Dons being in the top six? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Is that not what you spent months attempting to do on a bet you had on the Dons being in the top six? We would have made it if it hadn't been for a leeky defence. Link to comment