Fucks Sake Craig Brown

I thought jack was poor today aswell. I much prefer him at rb where he can get at players. Lamgfield had 1 thing to do and nearly cost us a goal. Hughes faded in the 2nd half. Why milsom isnt playing i don't know. I thought magennis and fraser were brilliant when they came on. Mcginn looked pish and hayes' delivery wasnt that great either

Okay game and diss appointed to not get a goal. County never looked like scoring and the dons were mostly okay and still bedding in. What disgusts me is the level of hatred aimed at a team by supposed fans. What's the point? Have some faith support your team applaud when it's good but don't hate when some slight things go wrong on the pitch.

I get the sens that many dons fans are there to hate and moan and are happier doing so than supporting.

Go support another fucking team if AFC piss you off so much.

• Downvote 7

I think, for the last couple of season at least, about 6000 fans have already done that.

Seems like a pretty bad policy to tell your own fans to fuck off, from a financial point of view, leastwise.

I think, for the last couple of season at least, about 6000 fans have already done that.

Seems like a pretty bad policy to tell your own fans to fuck off, from a financial point of view, leastwise.

Half way through the second game of the season and some twat around me ahd written the team off. Really? Do we need 'fans' to turn up that end up booing at the end of a match. Piss off. :banghead:

Said to my brother I bet some people boo at the end, I have just come to expect it with Aberdeen fans. It is bloody annoying though especially after a performance like today. Today's performance certainly didn't warrant the players being booed of the pitch.

The club's in debt up to it's earholes, and needs every penny it can get.

If someone wants to pay 25 quid to sit and go "BOOOOO!" for 90 minutes then the club's policy should be, "Thanks for the cash. Come again."

Not "Fuck off and don't come back."

Again, this is down to mental toughness on the part of the players. It shouldn't matter to them if the crowd is cheering, booing or making the mating call of the Yak.

black%20yak%20bull%20P062.jpg

Fuck, I remember playing school fitba games against Kincorth aged 12 or 13 years old, and they'd have crowds of adults, presumably their parents, screaming abuse at you because you were on the other team. Can't recall it bothering our lads much... in fact, I seem to remember one of our players getting into it with some lad's father in one game.

If I was King of Pittodrie I'd have 'Come and Boo Like Fuck' days as well as 'Sell Out Saturdays'. Anything to get arses on seats and cash in the club's account.

your entitled to boo, but the team didn't deserve it, I've never booed the team in my life, I've left the ground raging in the past, but I just think its a pathetic thing to do. A lack of effort may merit it, or a shocking result, today was neither, we should have won, deserved to win, and there was a lot of encouraging signs.

Stenhousemuir -i lost it big time and booed AFC and then applauded Stenhousemuir players.

Tynecastle and Hampden semis - i booed AFC.

There have been others.

I'll boo them when i think it's justified.

I didn't boo today.

your entitled to boo, but the team didn't deserve it, I've never booed the team in my life, I've left the ground raging in the past, but I just think its a pathetic thing to do. A lack of effort may merit it, or a shocking result, today was neither, we should have won, deserved to win, and there was a lot of encouraging signs.

What were the encouraging signs?

Going forward we were pish.

McGinn & Vernon barely did a thing right the whole game.

To add to the point to why I started this thread in the first place. To me, the main point of the game today was the opportunity to try and encourage somewhere in the region of 5-7k fans who turned up for the game to return again. I saw good effort from all who played for us to today, going for the win, but we did not. At home. Against a newly promoted team. Were we entertained? Barely in my opinion. Some alright football, but no cutting edge from either team. No great play in either final third.

I obviously decided after the game that I was going to direct my displeasure for what I saw against Craig Brown. I did not boo at the end, I didn't see the point (especially since the final 11 gave the best shot against County of the whole game). I was quite unhappy with Brown though because of:

- First half formation. 4-4-2 it seemed, but a bizarre one. Hayes on the right wing and 3 central midfielders, none of whom adopted the positon of left wing. Even when we could have had Hayes left wing and Jack on the right, Brown decided this was best. Naysmith was isolated on the left whenever he had the ball and resorted to long hopeful punts when he realised he was getting no help.

- McGinn up front just does not look right. It may come good, but he doesn't look comfortable. A couple of times he got the ball in a central attacking area and looked lost what to do with it. Dilly dallying and losing the ball. Not helped by a Vernon who looks unfit. I don't see the point in trying to force a winger in to that role, especially when the players who started could have fit well in to a 4-3-3.

- Magennis coming on. He did well. He won more than Vernon did the rest of the game. We started a game at home to Ross County with one striker and a winger come striker up top with him, but the only sub we could put on was someone that last season we decided was not worth a new contract unless he proved himself as a full back, he was that useless up top. He doesn't offer us enough, and yet two games in to this season we are already pitching him in to a game as our only option as an alternate striker.

- No Milsom. Just what the fuck? Rae and Hughes I think are players that can offer us something this season, but not as 2 of a 3 man midfield at home to a team we wish to attack and beat. They aren't creative enough. One would suffice. Although Jack didn't have the best game today, one of Rae/Hughes should have been off before him, or if he was going off, Milsom should have been on. The only reason we were better after Jack went off was due to the team being balanced after he went off. First time all game. We would still have benefitted massively from having Milsom on the pitch today though. Starting preferably, but if not, at least as an impact substitution.

I see in this thread that some people have attacked the view given by myself and those who share it. I personally think that the signings have been about the best we can expect, addressing the areas I think needed addressed. My issue is that going in to this season I did not think that Brown would use these correctly, and today I saw this first hand. Clean slates and all that are all fine and well, but after so many years in management, I do worry that Brown is not for changing and will not utilise this squad as well as it can be used. When at home to a team like Ross County (or pretty much 7-9 other teams in the league) I'd like to see Aberdeen go all out for the win. I'd prefer to see a nice balanced team put out to go and try and beat the other team.

I've got my season ticket, I'm in for the long haul this year. Today there were a lot of people looking for a reason to go back for the Hearts game and beyond. You can criticise the booers and the negativity (neither of which I personally like to engage in or actually do) all you want, but the performance today was obviously not enough to encourage them back. I went with 3 guys today who bought 1 off tickets. Two will not be in a hurry back, the other one may be, just as he feels he has an obligation. That is what disappoints me most. Today was not entertaining enough, it was two tentative teams who did not want to go for the jugular. It is the mentality that I think means we will struggle to compete with the likes of Hearts, Motherwell and Dundee United. They may take a hiding or two this season, but in general they will all play attractive football and pick up far more wins than we will.

It may be early doors, but I just despair that this going to be another long season of negative football, all about making sure we don't lose rather than going for the win. Aberdeen have been afforded a much greater support this season than they were going to get and quite possibly deserve after last season's showing. I unfortunately think that Brown is not the person we want leading Aberdeen in such a situation.

pathetic thing to do?

lol

maybe you just need some passion

Yup, pathetic, that a grown man, would actually stand and shout boo, is pathetic, if your pissed off, let vent to it, if you must, but to actually shout boo is rediculous.

My passion is shown by being a ST holder for 19 years, and going to more away games than home in that time, so please don't question it when you've had seasons when you went to 2 games all season, and post more stuff on here about yourself than you ever do about the team.

We wern't great today, but the team didn't deserve any boo's at the end.

Did think it was pretty harsh to boo them off today. At least we created some chances, which is an improvement on some home games from last season!

Wasnt a great performance by any stretch, but wasn't the worst either.

I'm not too downhearted anyway. COYR

You always hear boos when your team fails to win... almost always, at least.

If I'd had one of those electric cassette tape recorders back in the early 80s, I could have taped hours of boos, and shouts like, "MILLER, YER PISH!" and "YE COULDNA BEAT A FUCKIN' EGG!"... that second one was directed at Peter Weir, incidentally.

This is fitba fans we're talking about, not nuclear scientists.

Stenhousemuir -i lost it big time and booed AFC and then applauded Stenhousemuir players.

Tynecastle and Hampden semis - i booed AFC.

There have been others.

I'll boo them when i think it's justified.

I didn't boo today.

I'm not saying their aren't times they desreve criticism Tommy, just that today wasn't one of them, and I think the idea of actually saying "booo" is daft.

I'm far from being a "happy clapper" but I think some of the criticism is over the top, we didn't win today because we missed some great chances, it wasn't because we played shite, or didn't give it our all.

Okay game and diss appointed to not get a goal. County never looked like scoring and the dons were mostly okay and still bedding in. What disgusts me is the level of hatred aimed at a team by supposed fans. What's the point? Have some faith support your team applaud when it's good but don't hate when some slight things go wrong on the pitch.

I get the sens that many dons fans are there to hate and moan and are happier doing so than supporting.

Have faith?

There will be people on here who have far greater reasons than me to lack faith. Guys who have seen great success. They've seen us conquer Europe and seen us compete with and beat the Old Firm. Me, I can't compete with that. This is my 8th season as a season ticket holder and prior to that I had seen Aberdeen play once in the flesh in 1995. I have no faith in anything to do with Aberdeen other than this season I decided to go back because they went for sporting integrity over anything else.

Today, I went in with pure blind optimism. I decided a bit through last year that Brown was fine enough to ensure we didn't get in to a mess like we did with McGhee, but we will never compete at the top end of this league with him. Based on the signing over the summer though, I went in with the aforementioned pure blind optimism that we may have turned a corner and that Brown may have seen the deficiencies in his approach in prior years. He signed the players to fill the gaps. Yet today, we see him put players out of position, take an entirely negative approach to our central midfield and for whatever reason, omit quite possibly our best player. At home, to a newly promoted team.

He seemed to realise the error of his ways part way through the game, but brings on someone up front who he decided was not up to standard for that role just 5 months ago (hence trying to see if he was capable at right and centre back) and decided to stick with an entirely uncreative central midfield.

At the beginning of the second half, Brown seemed to identify some of the issues with the team. He went Hayes on the left wing, and Jack on the right. We had a decent 5-10 minute spell, creating some chances (best one probably Hayes planting a cross on Rae's head which just went wide). It seemed to be working well, we created the best we had up to that point. What did Brown do? Hayes back to the right, Hughes told to roughly cover the left side of midfield.

In an attacking sense, Fraser was the only one to come away with pass marks for me today (apart from perhaps Osbourne's couple of runs to the byline). To me the way we have to set up next game is Fraser on one wing, Hayes on the other (preferably Fraser on the right, Hayes on the left, but won't hold my breath). Fingers crossed Brown goes with this, but I won't hold my breath.

As I said yesterday, my major hope for today was entertainment sufficient to get the switherers to come back to the Hearts game. It is safe to say that today was not a success in that respect. My personal opinion is that it is Brown's brand of football that is the main reason that this will be the case.

Today there were a lot of people looking for a reason to go back for the Hearts game and beyond. You can criticise the booers and the negativity (neither of which I personally like to engage in or actually do) all you want, but the performance today was obviously not enough to encourage them back.

I agree with that, this game was a massive chance to get the supporters who had stopped going, but had given us another chance, back into the habit, and we didn't do enough to make that happen.

I'm not saying their aren't times they desreve criticism Tommy, just that today wasn't one of them, and I think the idea of actually saying "booo" is daft.

I'm far from being a "happy clapper" but I think some of the criticism is over the top, we didn't win today because we missed some great chances, it wasn't because we played shite, or didn't give it our all.

I agree on the boos, I didn't see the point today. It wasn't a lack of desire or effort. Nor even a lack of ability.

Great chances though? Other than Vernon's from Fraser's freekick and Rae's header, we had very little in terms of goalscoring chances today. It was probably better than the tail end of last season (nae difficult) but we didn't win today because we didn't have enough to unlock a reasonably organised defence and we didn't take the approach of attacking this game and going for the win. I've seen myself adopt your opinion before, in parts of Calderwood's, McGhee's and Brown's tenure. We tried hard, it wasn't for a lack of trying etc etc. I still view that to a degree, but what annoys me is that I see various fans of other teams saying that we should be right up there going for top 2-4 this season, but I think Brown will have far to negative an impact on that, even with the squad he has built.

Look at Dundee United, Hearts and Motherwell, and you have managers who are all for going out for the win. Probably St. Johnstone too. Sometimes it will backfire and they will be on the wrong end of a fair humping, but by in large, they will produce on the pitch and be right up there competing.

Brown's signings suggested this was something he was going for this season. Today's performance was at best going to be a scraped 1-0 at best. It may be early doors, it may just be one game, but I am already beginning to despair that this may be another season of mediocre football at Pittodrie, never mind what may happen on the road.

The situation in the SPL is that we have our best opportunity in years to try and make an impact on the league. Brown has to let this team loose and let them go for the win as much as possible.