Extending Broon's (Old) Contract

i really do believe we've got a right good team now, so brown has won back a LITTLE bit of respect and time from me

fast forward 11 hours however and that may well all have gone!

Aye defo.

I believe he has built a good team. Any extension would be for 1 year I'd imagine. Depends what the manager himself wants to do.

I'm still nae convinced by him. We have the team to do well, remains to be seen if they will.

Nope, Previous what 10 managers (apart from Miller) were of reasonable quality before they took the job, and i'll wager that most of them ours was the last big job they got

Brown, McGhee, Calderwood, Paterson, Skovdahl, Heggart, A Miller, Aitken, W Miller, Smith.

Have i missed anybody out!

You would have to say Alex Miller has done the best since being sacked...... :laughing:

Nope, Previous what 10 managers (apart from Miller) were of reasonable quality before they took the job, and i'll wager that most of them ours was the last big job they got

Brown, McGhee, Calderwood, Paterson, Skovdahl, Heggart, A Miller, Aitken, W Miller, Smith.

Have i missed anybody out!

You would have to say Alex Miller has done the best since being sacked...... :laughing:

Managerial graveyard :rangers:

Having someone of Browns experience and knowledge is not something alot of clubs can boast. Looks like this season he has assembled a strong squad. Injury free that is. A couple bad injuries and were back to square one again.

Saying that I kinda like the thought of Brown maybe taking a back seat at the club and allowing someone like Hartley / Adams to come in as manager. I think a young manager could learn alot having Brown / Knox at the club. Who knows....

its that old adage tho...

is his wisdom really that valuable in a game these days which has changed so, so much since he was in the limelight?

You could say the same about Fergie though ? Are they not around the same age ?

He is frustrating as f*ck sometimes with tactics but I think overall he is just what the club needed at a time we seemed to be spiralling into an abyss.

He can maybe lay down a steady platform for a young manager to come in like I said and take the club to the next level. Im pritty sure Brown isnt a long term appointment though?

i really do believe we've got a right good team now, so brown has won back a LITTLE bit of respect and time from me

Same here. He's brought in good, quality players over the summer. I'm optimistic for the first time in a long whilst about our chances of silverware/decent league placing.

Ideally (for me) Brown will lead us to Scottish Cup glory this season and leave come the end of the season.

Lets see at Xmas, we will have a good enough idea by then if we doing alright and he happy, then yeah go for it.

As I think waiting on winning a cup is a bit risky, as I dont really want to be waiting till April too know if Brown staying or going.

Does anyone think Stewart Milne has the knowledge of English/European football to be able to appoint someone outwith Scotland? No so our next manager going to be from Scotland.

With the exception of Adams as the up and coming Scottish prospect, is there in anyone in Scotland who is remotely close too being as good a manager as Craig Brown.

So either Brown in charge next season on condition of Adams season after, or some sort of combination of Brown as an advisor to deal with transfers/piss ups with fans/satisfying Angela's needs and a wee bit of a help to the manager.

With the Adams and Archie show in charge of the team.

:laughing: ...I'll reserve judgment till I've seen how we play on Sunday...the first test against opposition we should be on a par with...on the OP's question... I'm guessing he's on a wind-up ;)

I'm genuinely not on a wind up. It just seems that there is (or at least there has been) a lot of negativity towards Pa Broon and it seems that most people are looking forward to him going at the end of the season. The question was simply, given the choice between winning something - say the league cup - and keeping Broon or winning nothing and punting him in favour of someone else, what would you choose ?

Personally, I would take a trophy any day of the week.

With the exception of Adams as the up and coming Scottish prospect, is there in anyone in Scotland who is remotely close too being as good a manager as Craig Brown.

So either Brown in charge next season on condition of Adams season after, or some sort of combination of Brown as an advisor to deal with transfers/piss ups with fans/satisfying Angela's needs and a wee bit of a help to the manager.

With the Adams and Archie show in charge of the team.

Yes it has to be Adams, in time for moving stadium, hopefully on the back of a very strong showing in the SPL this year and next.

I'm genuinely hopeful we can win the league in the next three years if we can keep up this steady progression.

I'm genuinely not on a wind up. It just seems that there is (or at least there has been) a lot of negativity towards Pa Broon and it seems that most people are looking forward to him going at the end of the season. The question was simply, given the choice between winning something - say the league cup - and keeping Broon or winning nothing and punting him in favour of someone else, what would you choose ?

Personally, I would take a trophy any day of the week.

And leave it at that...He's owe us a trophy so I would fully expect the old gent to deliver this by the end of this season, if he wants to end his career on any sort of high...Derek Adams would be the most realistic candidate for the job and unless there is some horrific skeleton lurking in the Pittodrie Broom Cupboard...this is who I'd like to see take over...anytime he likes.