The Boofon Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 haha yeah, kelt waffles too much Interesting observation. Totally inaccurate as always but interesting none the less. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Not if you're on business or if you want to check the leaderboard at a golf tournament, or even respond to e-mails when on a train or at a cafe. anycunt that likes golf can go abroad and stay there as far as im concerned. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 If you are abroad any mobile phones should be turned off and kept locked away in your suitcase until you are going home or you could purchase a short-term travel plan for your smartphone? or buy a new pay-as-you-go phone locally? Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Not if you're on business or if you want to check the leaderboard at a golf tournament, or even respond to e-mails when on a train or at a cafe. Or if you are on holiday but aren't going to be chained to everyone else that you are there with... Link to comment
Henry Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 anycunt that likes golf can go abroad and stay there as far as im concerned. Typed from his mum's attic in Holland. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Typed from his mum's attic in Holland. like i said earlier youre a funny guy. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 you're not thats alright, neither are you. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Due an upgrade in December. Swithering between the new IPhone or the Samsung Galaxy S3 but nae sure if its worth getting the Samsung now, probably will be discontinued after the court cases. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Iphone will replace your wallet Doubtful unless it can also pack away an emergency johnny and a couple of wraps of chico. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 I am a surprising advocate for the iPhone because I never thought I would ever get a touchscreen jobby. I was Nokia for well over a decade and after the 6310i, thought that battery life in particular was important to me. When Union Square opened and the Apple shop had up that Orange was now ale to support the iPhone and as I was in my last three months of contract, I got one. I have no problem charging it most nights but if I haven't used it much that day and it's 63 or 73%, I sometimes don't bother.I used to have the iPhone 4 which the g/f is now using and I moved to the Samsung Galaxy S2. Mainly because they offered the phone for nowt on quite a cheap contract. I had doubts that I would have switched over, but I have been converted to Android for a number of reasons. Battery life not being one of them, although the ability to replace a battery is very useful but not something that would sway me one way or the other. I am intrigued to see what direction smartphones will go from here. Sticking in Quad Core processors and 12MP is all well and good, but they don't seem to add anything. The SG2 has a dual core and it's quick enough. The iPhone 4 was single core and it was pretty snappy as well. I'm not convinced with NFT either Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 I'm not married to iPhone so would be interested to know what the benefits are for Android, although I'm in contract for another year or so.A couple of things that have swayed me towards the SG2 include: Expandable memory (32G is generally fine for everyday use, but I have watched a few HD movies which are huge so the extra 32GB provided by micro SD was helpful)Price - The iPhone contracts are still very expensive.Customisability - I like having the ability to change how the UI looks with Widgets etc. Not a huge thing though. I already had the 4 and was looking at the 4S, but they are basically exactly the same phone so seemed a bit pointless upgrading to it. The SG2 has the same specs as the 4S. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Thanks. I never watch movies and 16GB is more than enough for me so just personal preference really.To be honest, there really isn't a huge difference between Android and IOS. It is definitely personal preference. For example, I like having a menu and back button on my phone...it's not a huge thing, and I managed fine with the one button iPhone for years. Would like to see Windows 8 in action. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 id suggest then that this is down to the fact the iphone is a better fone, therefore it uses more power Link to comment
Jones Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 id suggest then that this is down to the fact the iphone is a better fone, therefore it uses more power if youre telling me that you know of one which dies within 12 hours without being used, then its broken Or has a shitter battery. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 id suggest then that this is down to the fact the iphone is a better fone, therefore it uses more power if youre telling me that you know of one which dies within 12 hours without being used, then its broken Millertime has an iphone therefore it's the best phone out there. It's the most expensive as well. Link to comment
Henry Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 an iphone is without doubt the best mobile you can get, all round Fantastic indeed Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Fantastic indeed He's the gift that just keeps giving. Link to comment
Jones Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Fantastic indeed that is funny! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 MT... come on, are you for reals? An iphone will look cool on a 500 pound pirate chest coffee table. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 An iphone will look cool on a 500 pound pirate chest coffee table. Sitting in the shadow of a Cheryl Martin original. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Sitting in the shadow of a Cheryl Martin original. It would compliment the biggest Panasonic known to man perfectly. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 iPhone is a definite triumph of form over function. I can't imagine how it can possibly be 'The Best' under any rational criteria, although 'best' is subjective. I guess it's technically possible that, say, if you don't want to be able to switch out memory at any given time, or if you don't want to be able to tether it more than a limited number of designated devices, or if you want substandard data transfer rates, or if you don't want to be able to replace the battery, or if you want to pay twice as much as a comparable device, or if you want zero customisation unless you jailbreak (at which point it's 'warranty void') then, by those criteria, it could definitely qualify as 'The Best'. It's kinda like Budweiser is the 'Best' beer because it's a massive seller and has cool adverts. The actual product itself is pretty weak, but that doesn't stop it being 'The Best' to those who drink it. 1 1 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 iPhone is a definite triumph of form over function. I can't imagine how it can possibly be 'The Best' under any rational criteria, although 'best' is subjective. I guess it's technically possible that, say, if you don't want to be able to switch out memory at any given time, or if you don't want to be able to tether it more than a limited number of designated devices, or if you want substandard data transfer rates, or if you don't want to be able to replace the battery, or if you want to pay twice as much as a comparable device, or if you want zero customisation unless you jailbreak (at which point it's 'warranty void') then, by those criteria, it could definitely qualify as 'The Best'. It's kinda like Budweiser is the 'Best' beer because it's a massive seller and has cool adverts. The actual product itself is pretty weak, but that doesn't stop it being 'The Best' to those who drink it.Just goes to show how impressive Apples Markettng is. They are still managing to sell a device, which has been overtaken by many others, as being "the best" and people believe it because it has that Apple logo on it. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 28, 2012 Share Posted August 28, 2012 Just goes to show how impressive Apples Markettng is. They are still managing to sell a device, which has been overtaken by many others, as being "the best" and people believe it because it has that Apple logo on it. You know what demographic is being targeted when a technology firm makes the focus of its commercials, "Look at all the pretty colors! Look at them! Look! There's a RED ONE!" and "Can you see how fucking THIN this thing is? Jesus fuck, it's THIN!!" If I'm spending cash on a piece of technology I want to know how well it performs, not if I can buy a fucking Angry Birds case to keep it in. Now I realise that there's a massive portion of the buying public who don't have the first clue about technology. They don't know, or care, if there's a difference between a single processor or a 4 core device. They're not interested in shit like bus speed or data transfer rates. They want something that will do the job right out of the box. Apple will do that for them, absolutely. They're not customisable for a reason. And that reason is that if you give someone with no technical knowledge the ability to fuck around with something... they're going to change settings and have no idea how to fix it. now while it's not 'broken', as far as the user is concerned it IS broken, because it stopped doing what they wanted it to do. And at that point Apple's service desks are going to be flooded with complaints. Their devices are working fine, but Joe Schmoe only knows that he pushed a button and now the thing that used to 'work' doesn't work now. Therefore they make their devices with limited customisability, zero expansion, an almost idiot proof online store, and adverts that focus on the AWESOME COOL rather than on whether it's current technology or not. So it's understandable that Apple's business model works, supplying the huge numbers of people who have zero technical knowledge. But while that business model works, Apple is in no way supplying 'The Best' from a technical standpoint. They do have nice display resolutions, though. I will admit that. Though, seriously, I've no use for 'better than hd' resolution on a 5" device. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted August 29, 2012 Share Posted August 29, 2012 iPhone is a definite triumph of form over function. I can't imagine how it can possibly be 'The Best' under any rational criteria, although 'best' is subjective. I guess it's technically possible that, say, if you don't want to be able to switch out memory at any given time, or if you don't want to be able to tether it more than a limited number of designated devices, or if you want substandard data transfer rates, or if you don't want to be able to replace the battery, or if you want to pay twice as much as a comparable device, or if you want zero customisation unless you jailbreak (at which point it's 'warranty void') then, by those criteria, it could definitely qualify as 'The Best'. It's kinda like Budweiser is the 'Best' beer because it's a massive seller and has cool adverts. The actual product itself is pretty weak, but that doesn't stop it being 'The Best' to those who drink it.I've made this point many times about Apple, though used the McDonalds analogy. I have asked people if they think Big Macs are the best burgers in the world. The answer is invariably no - so I compare iPads / iPhones / iPods to the mass marketed and succesfully sold Big Mac. I personally own a ZT ThinkPad an HTC phone and a Creative music player - all leaps and bounds better than my wife's Apple tat. The irony in this wee story is that I actually love Big Macs, and think they are possibly the best burgers in the world. Link to comment
Gold a don in oz Posted August 29, 2012 Gold Share Posted August 29, 2012 The budweiser and big mac analogy falls flat on its arse. You're not talking about a 3 or 4 quid beer or burger. It's something that the majority of people have to think about before buying, purely on a money point of view which means it's not the same type of purchase or purchasing decision at all. Not an impulse buy. Beyond that, there's really no point arguing the toss about it given the supercilious (and ever-so-not-at-all-slightly superior) nonsense being put around. Just thought I'd call you both on that silly analogy. Especially since one of you just called Big Macs the best burgers in the world when it's obvious the Whopper is superior. (no... I don't like either burger) Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 29, 2012 Share Posted August 29, 2012 The budweiser and big mac analogy falls flat on its arse. You're not talking about a 3 or 4 quid beer or burger. It's something that the majority of people have to think about before buying, purely on a money point of view which means it's not the same type of purchase or purchasing decision at all. Not an impulse buy. Beyond that, there's really no point arguing the toss about it given the supercilious (and ever-so-not-at-all-slightly superior) nonsense being put around. Just thought I'd call you both on that silly analogy. Especially since one of you just called Big Macs the best burgers in the world when it's obvious the Whopper is superior. (no... I don't like either burger)The only burger worth eating in any of those joints is the XL Bacon Double Cheeseburger. This is fact. Link to comment
Henry Posted August 29, 2012 Share Posted August 29, 2012 whats your point? theyre not indestructable theyre so sleek and sexy that they cant be made 100% bulletproof apple replaced the item anyway...so again, whats ur point? My point was the 'best all round' phone on the market wouldn't need to be replaced. Have you had much experiences of other smart phones to back-up your assertion? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 29, 2012 Share Posted August 29, 2012 well, yeahi can afford any phone on the market, so why wouldnt i have the best? Only one thing worse than a minker and that's a minker with money. Link to comment