Jit

But putting the ball in the net.......

A fairly enjoyable game but the midfield wasnt as dominant as last week ossy was as good Rae was quieter and hughes was in the way really.

Its a pity that ozzy is such a beast in the middle as we coudl have done with him at RB and pushing magennis up front.

I woudlnt say that 4 3 3 isnt the right formation but until we cant get Vernon scoring we have to give him some support, we are solid at the back we can get balls in the box BUT we cant then transfer that to goals we need more targets in the box to aim for

Either the Rae and hughes have got to work harder to put players in the box or play another alongside

OH and St Mirren left TWO up for corners meaning we had to drop considine (who carries a goal threat) out of the box, we as usual had all back and hence no out ball - we are solid at the back and dont look like losing a goal at corners (unlike them) and yet we are the ultra defensive side

3 lots of nil nil though is going to Hurt soon the only good thing is 3 other draws

It was painful today.

First, the positives:

I don't remember Langfield being in any real danger at any point in the game. We were tight at the back and didn't let much happen, but there was still plenty slack passing at the back, that a team with more quality than St. Mirren will exploit (and like Hearts almost did last week). Anderson has to be telt that he should row Z it, unless he has a safe 5-10 yard pass.

The wingers cause full-backs problems for about 60 minutes (but seem to run themselves in to the ground in this time). Plenty decent crosses in to the box, waiting to be scored.

Rae and Osbourne were solid, as ever.

Cammy Smith looked lively when he came on though by then the rest of the team were really struggling.

Negatives:

Full back - 5 games in to the league season and we have no full backs playing. Even worse, we have a more than capable right back playing central midfield (and Osbourne was excelling in that position early this year), yet we put our new "versatile" in player. He is versatile in that he is the same quality in various positions. Unfortunately the quality is at politest, describable as poor.

Vernon - Left alone for most of the game and getting long balls pinged at him. He is no use at that. When he got involved in the game, it was 30 yards from goal with his back to it. His touch was poor and the times he did get it out wide etc, he was so slow getting in to the box, the cross was already cleared. What that was at the end, I have no idea, but it was embarrassing for a centre forward to miss so badly with that time to compose himself. I would say he needs benched, but then we either have Magennis go up and show the same quality as he did at right back, or we stick in a young guy like Megginson or McManus to have long ball after long ball hit at them with little support.

The System - Hughes as support to Vernon, often right up beside him. He is nae fast. He doesn't seem to read Vernon that well and Vernon was struggling anyway. Seemed a waste of space in that role. Hughes has never been an out and out attacking midfielder, so I don't understand why Brown is persevering with it. If Brown is going to stick with 4-3-3, with two wingers hugging the line on each side, then we need mobility up front and from midfield. Currently, we are getting neither.

Clark - Just why?

Wingers - Why are they always playing on their weak side? Both are capable of putting crosses in with their weak foot, but I don't see the benefit of it if they are repeatedly beating their man and sticking in a cross with their weak foot. I rarely remember either checking back and using their stronger foot.

Don't know what I would do for the next game against Inverness. Benching Vernon would be a good idea, but don't really fancy Magennis up top. I think Brown got that one very wrong, even if he is on low wages. Surely there are better players than that knocking about.

It ain't good enough just now. We seem to be setting up to counter-attack against teams that aren't really interested in coming and attacking at Pittodrie.

Broon cannot go on with all these fkn draws.

Sick to the back teeth of them.

Doesn't fkn matter if we're playing well & all the shite about "goals will come" & " some team's going to get a real hiding when we click"

Brown has ALWAYS been a fkn draw specialist & he's not fkn EVER going to change.

Cannot believe I was getting excited for this season.

Think I've been fkn duped AGAIN.

Wasted fkn games when we SHOULD be making real ground in the table.

County, Hearts & Middens at fkn home & we're fkn toothless in every fkn game.

If you are playing a 4-3-3, there are a few important things the team has to have.

The centre forward has to be good at holding hte ball up and linking play - Vernon isn't.

At least 1 of the midfield 3 have to be capable of consistently supporting the centre forward, and get in the box to score goals - No one does

If you play a 4-4-2 with Fraser & Hayes wide in the midfield 4, there's a danger you'd get outnumbered and overrun in midfield.

So what I'd do is play a 4-2-3-1

The midfield two Osborne & Hughes.

The 3 further forward would be Hayes McGinn & Fraser.

The centre forward would ordinarily be Vernon, but he might need dropped as his confidence seems to be shot.

really really disappointing to drop those 6 home points. winning at least one would have been nice. I really am quite gutted about it all this season more than any in the last twenty years should have been the one for us to pull it out of the bag in the league.

oh well two weeks to get the injured players back and try some wins on the board

we didnt create enough 100percent chances today to expect the win unfortunately

If you are playing a 4-3-3, there are a few important things the team has to have.

The centre forward has to be good at holding hte ball up and linking play - Vernon isn't.

At least 1 of the midfield 3 have to be capable of consistently supporting the centre forward, and get in the box to score goals - No one does

If you play a 4-4-2 with Fraser & Hayes wide in the midfield 4, there's a danger you'd get outnumbered and overrun in midfield.

So what I'd do is play a 4-2-3-1

The midfield two Osborne & Hughes.

The 3 further forward would be Hayes McGinn & Fraser.

The centre forward would ordinarily be Vernon, but he might need dropped as his confidence seems to be shot.

That is the system we played today, but it was Hughes in McGinn's position. He was right up around Vernon most of the game, but it just ain't a role he will work in as he doesn't possess the attributes to be a good attacking midfielder/forward. McGinn may in time, we'll see. I'd go with Smith or Megginson just now though.

I'd have Rae in the 2 based on this season so far. Osbourne should be RB this season. Then it is between Jack and Hughes to play with Rae.

Oh, and for someone who puts in pretty good crosses in open play, what was Hayes up to today with the set pieces? Rather poor like.

Aye, it was the same against Ross County

His better crosses come from open play when he's got less time to think.

It's so frustrating.

The team isn't playing badly.

When you look at the results we should be FIVE points clear at the top of the league.

A draw at Parkhead & 3 home wins on the balance of play would not be stretching it.

Not time to panic.

At least chances are being created - that wasn't happening last year.

Cammy Smith to play the "No.10" role against Caley in two weeks?

Will Broon be brave enough?

Maybe McGinn might play there if fit. To be honest, I don't see him being a striker or No.10 but Brown apparently does.

Ozzy made some hard challenges, distribution was ok too. There was a few poor ball control moments from magennis and Vernon really should have just tapped that 4yarder into the net. Great wing play, but no one supporting Vernon. I've only seen Hughes about 4 times, is he always that bad? Slow, boring and wasteful.

Hard to play against a team who park the bus thought.

Lastly, Chris Clark. What the fuck

1346516389[/url]' post='813882']

But putting the ball in the net.......

A fairly enjoyable game but the midfield wasnt as dominant as last week ossy was as good Rae was quieter and hughes was in the way really.

Its a pity that ozzy is such a beast in the middle as we coudl have done with him at RB and pushing magennis up front.

I woudlnt say that 4 3 3 isnt the right formation but until we cant get Vernon scoring we have to give him some support, we are solid at the back we can get balls in the box BUT we cant then transfer that to goals we need more targets in the box to aim for

Either the Rae and hughes have got to work harder to put players in the box or play another alongside

OH and St Mirren left TWO up for corners meaning we had to drop considine (who carries a goal threat) out of the box, we as usual had all back and hence no out ball - we are solid at the back and dont look like losing a goal at corners (unlike them) and yet we are the ultra defensive side

3 lots of nil nil though is going to Hurt soon the only good thing is 3 other draws

Broon needs to have more of a go. Vernon needs dropping and Hughes was very poor

For every one thing that Magennis does well he counters it with nine things that are just frankly laughable. This boy is a circus act and I can not believe people with the experience of Brown and Knox can persist in thinking this clown is a footballer.

Agree.

He's versatile....pish in any position you put him in.

He'll likely be back on the bench in two weeks as Jack should be back.

Hayes picks the ball up too often in his own half for the formation to be called 4-3-3 (see Jamie Smith) it's more of a 4-4-2 with Fraser pushed further up on the other flank. Obvious the formation isn't working, despite the balls that are coming over from the flanks, not enough bodies in the box, and no killer passes coming from midfield.

Didn't play as well today as last week, I didn't think, although that may just be that I was sure it was going to be 0-0 after 20 mins.

Hopefully, when we get Fallon, McGinn and Milsom fit, we can shakes things up a bit.

Despite all that, with even slightly more luck and composure, we'd be at the top of the SPL by 3 or 4 points.

Hughes was pish today he must b the 1 to get dropped when Milsom is fit. We should have played Hughes holding and Rae supporting. I also think that would have been irrelevant if we had played 4-4-2 we need 2 up top vernon looking for the first ball and someone else around the pen spot picking up scraps (Hughes was supposed to be doing that but was never in the right place.

We did create a couple of great chances and a good few that on an other day would have been goals. Vernon tried so hard so I can't fault his work. He will score a bucketload this season with quality of the wide play he just needs the first 1 (that he should have had today).

Some1 will get a pumpin soon we just need to keep the faith.

craig brown can fuck RIGHT off

2nd at least is there for the taking this season

celtic have on eye on the champs league, hearts are a spent force

if wed taken full points against ross county and hearts, who we battered but didnt win as well as todays, we'd be sitting pretty at the top

FUCK YOU CRAIG BROWN

If we batter teams and don't take the chances, how the fuck is that Craig Browns fault?

• Upvote 6

Pretty much dominated the whole game.

Some great balls from both sides flying into the box, just a pity Vernon couldnt connect with any of them. Was saying to my mate that I reckon Vernon is one for feeding off scraps but isnt there for the quality balls.

We should've won by 3...

I'd say Falon might be better up front to finish off the moves but then he's probably too slow to keep up with either winger.

We're 1 goal away from giving a team a real doing. I'd guess when 1 goes in the rest will follow.

If there's a chance to take someone else in then it has to be a striker who can arrive into the box and get his head to things.

craig brown can fuck RIGHT off

2nd at least is there for the taking this season

celtic have on eye on the champs league, hearts are a spent force

if wed taken full points against ross county and hearts, who we battered but didnt win as well as todays, we'd be sitting pretty at the top

FUCK YOU CRAIG BROWN

Your a clown at times min.

Wrap up.

• Downvote 4

Think it is clear at home we should be playing 2 up front.

In fact why not start all games that way and when/if the opposition are playing particularly well and putting us under pressure in the middle THEN drop one of the forwards off the front to switch it to a 4-3-3? Seems the simple solution to me.

Would need 1 of the forward players capable of dropping in to mid of course but I'm sure we have 1 or 2 lads who could manage that.