tup Posted September 3, 2012 Share Posted September 3, 2012 Just read it. Apart from saying I highly recommend reading it (as I do Ronson's other material), I have the following observation. In it, he references the Hare checklist, which is a series of questions used by psychologists designed to ascertain whether you are a psychopath or not. If you score higher than 30 in the test, you should be in the most secure unit at Broadmoor. Thankfully I only scored 29 when I self tested. Only 1% of the population are psychopathic, thankfully, but many of them are in high office and outwardly successful is one of his observations. Link to comment
Henry Posted September 3, 2012 Share Posted September 3, 2012 Just read it. Apart from saying I highly recommend reading it (as I do Ronson's other material), I have the following observation. In it, he references the Hare checklist, which is a series of questions used by psychologists designed to ascertain whether you are a psychopath or not. If you score higher than 30 in the test, you should be in the most secure unit at Broadmoor. Thankfully I only scored 29 when I self tested. Only 1% of the population are psychopathic, thankfully, but many of them are in high office and outwardly successful is one of his observations. We were discussing psychopaths on here the other day. MT ticked many of the boxes. Not sure if working in a call-centre can count as successful though. THE PSYCHOPATHY CHECK LIST(Revised) or The PCL-R Factor 1.1 Glibness/superficial charm 2 Grandiose sense of self-worth 3 Need for stimulation/proneness to boredom 4 Pathological lying 5 Cunning/manipulative 6 Lack of remorse or guilt 7 Shallow affect [i.e. superficial experience and expression of emotions] 8 Callous/lack of empathy Factor 2.9 Parasitic lifestyle 10 Poor behavioural controls 11 Promiscuous sexual behaviour 12 Early behaviour problems 13 Lack of realistic long-term goals 14 Impulsivity 15 Irresponsibility 16 Failure to accept responsibility for own actions 17 Many short term marital relationships 18 Juvenile delinquency 19 Revocation of conditional release 20 Criminal versatility Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 3, 2012 Share Posted September 3, 2012 Just read it. Apart from saying I highly recommend reading it (as I do Ronson's other material), I have the following observation. In it, he references the Hare checklist, which is a series of questions used by psychologists designed to ascertain whether you are a psychopath or not. If you score higher than 30 in the test, you should be in the most secure unit at Broadmoor. Thankfully I only scored 29 when I self tested. Only 1% of the population are psychopathic, thankfully, but many of them are in high office and outwardly successful is one of his observations. I recommended that to you months ago. I would have posted it to you in return for the books you were going to send me if you'd ever got round to doing so. The Psychopath Test. Superb. Same author as "The Men who Stare at Goats" which is also ace. Link to comment
robbo Posted September 3, 2012 Share Posted September 3, 2012 im ok, i only ticked off 10 of those and all 10 i already knew were character flaws i have. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 3, 2012 Share Posted September 3, 2012 Give yourself a mark of 0, 1 or 2 for each statement. I scored 6. Over to you Millertime. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted September 3, 2012 Share Posted September 3, 2012 there was a good documentary about this, a doctor who studies psychos found out he was one, with his short temper, lack of empathy and such like. so it's no wonder that some psychos end up being ceo's. he put it down to upbringing as a major factor whether you turn into a serial killer or not. Link to comment
brownie Posted September 3, 2012 Share Posted September 3, 2012 The Psychopath Test is a very good bookThem Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted September 4, 2012 Share Posted September 4, 2012 I scored 5 points in each factor. Cool. Link to comment
tup Posted September 4, 2012 Author Share Posted September 4, 2012 Outwith the actual test, the main way to tell whether someone is a psychopath or otherwise is whether they feel emotion or empathy in appropriate situations. This is the one which worries me the most, as I'm fairly devoid of appropriate emotion, and have a tendency to want to burst out laughing at funerals when everyone starts their waterworks pish. I'm not one for encouraging overt public displays of emotion. The way to tell (now outlawed) is: Rig a person to a machine which will, after a 10 second countdown, give them a reasonably powerful electric shock. Do this without telling them. Then, once they've had it once, tell them it's happening again. In the non-psychopath, their amygdala (part of the brain) will send out shock responses to the rest of their body, which culminates in fear becoming apparent. In the psychopath, even though they ken what's coming and that it will be sore as fuck, this part of their brain does? Nothing. No fear, or any other emotion. I'd like to sit that test. Link to comment
RUL Posted September 4, 2012 Share Posted September 4, 2012 I'd like millertime to sit that test 2 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2012 Share Posted September 4, 2012 Outwith the actual test, the main way to tell whether someone is a psychopath or otherwise is whether they feel emotion or empathy in appropriate situations. This is the one which worries me the most, as I'm fairly devoid of appropriate emotion, and have a tendency to want to burst out laughing at funerals when everyone starts their waterworks pish. I'm not one for encouraging overt public displays of emotion. The way to tell (now outlawed) is: Rig a person to a machine which will, after a 10 second countdown, give them a reasonably powerful electric shock. Do this without telling them. Then, once they've had it once, tell them it's happening again. In the non-psychopath, their amygdala (part of the brain) will send out shock responses to the rest of their body, which culminates in fear becoming apparent. In the psychopath, even though they ken what's coming and that it will be sore as fuck, this part of their brain does? Nothing. No fear, or any other emotion. I'd like to sit that test. . Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2012 Share Posted September 4, 2012 If you score higher than 30 in the test, you should be in the most secure unit at Broadmoor. Thankfully I only scored 29 when I self tested. In the psychopath, even though they ken what's coming and that it will be sore as fuck, this part of their brain does? Nothing. No fear, or any other emotion. I'd like to sit that test. ok then. you are a psychopath. Link to comment
tup Posted September 4, 2012 Author Share Posted September 4, 2012 Luckily enough, I've managed to channel my lack of emotion into a problem page to help others, those who do feel emotion. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2012 Share Posted September 4, 2012 Luckily enough, I've managed to channel my lack of emotion into a problem page to help others, those who do feel emotion. now that is one thing you do feel emotion to; the internet. youre never off it. Link to comment
tup Posted September 4, 2012 Author Share Posted September 4, 2012 now that is one thing you do feel emotion to; the internet. youre never off it. Aye, apart from for a week until today. And every weekend. And most evenings. Aside from that, you're right, wild horses could not drag me off the internet once I get started. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 4, 2012 Share Posted September 4, 2012 Aye, apart from for a week until today. And every weekend. And most evenings. Aside from that, you're right, wild horses could not drag me off the internet once I get started. Link to comment
robbo Posted September 4, 2012 Share Posted September 4, 2012 i know where your coming from tup. i often feel like i dont exhibit the appropriate emotions. when i was burgled, my mrs was scared to go in but i bowled in undeterred by it. same when i was in a car crash. i have a tendency to lack fear when i should be fearful. brain switches off and i just do. common sense prevails, but rarely am i scared for what would be a reasonable stimulus. thats always worried me. not saying ive missed my call as a firefighter or anything like that but ive often questioned why i dont get scared when i really should be Link to comment
Jones Posted September 4, 2012 Share Posted September 4, 2012 i know where your coming from tup. i often feel like i dont exhibit the appropriate emotions. when i was burgled, my mrs was scared to go in but i bowled in undeterred by it. same when i was in a car crash. i have a tendency to lack fear when i should be fearful. brain switches off and i just do. common sense prevails, but rarely am i scared for what would be a reasonable stimulus. thats always worried me. not saying ive missed my call as a firefighter or anything like that but ive often questioned why i dont get scared when i really should be Adrenalin? Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted September 5, 2012 Share Posted September 5, 2012 Factor 1. 1 Glibness/superficial charm 2 Grandiose sense of self-worth 3 Need for stimulation/proneness to boredom 4 Pathological lying 5 Cunning/manipulative 6 Lack of remorse or guilt 7 Shallow affect [i.e. superficial experience and expression of emotions] 8 Callous/lack of empathy You can definitely see how some people in high up positions or politicians would score high in factor 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 5, 2012 Share Posted September 5, 2012 when i was burgled, my mrs was scared to go in but i bowled in undeterred by it. what happened? ive always wondered what i'd do in a situation like this. confronting burglers really is not worth it. possesions can be replaced, thats what insurance is for. and it can improve your house, a little insurance number. but i dont like folk taking liberties and i'm not affraid of a dust up. but these confrontations can escalate quickly.... ...... Link to comment
tup Posted September 5, 2012 Author Share Posted September 5, 2012 I think the point Ronson was making under the surface of it was that we ALL conform to some or all of these criteria and therefore it could be argued that we are all mad, and that society is governed by madness. I took him to mean that psychoanalysis is just a waste of time and highly subjective and open to individual interpretation. We're all capable of becoming any of these things in the right set of circumstances. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 5, 2012 Share Posted September 5, 2012 We're all capable of becoming any of these things in the right set of circumstances. not a shock really ocnsidering they are fundamental human emotions. so the books a waste of time, your saying? Link to comment
tup Posted September 5, 2012 Author Share Posted September 5, 2012 not a shock really ocnsidering they are fundamental human emotions. so the books a waste of time, your saying? No, the book is quite funny, but disna say anything I didna ken anyway. The book is highlighting that the analysis of madness is a waste of time. Yet it's entirely based on an analysis of madness. So maybe it is, yes, but it's making a point :confused: It's very Louis Theroux, irreverent. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 5, 2012 Share Posted September 5, 2012 No, the book is quite funny, but disna say anything I didna ken anyway. The book is highlighting that the analysis of madness is a waste of time. Yet it's entirely based on an analysis of madness. So maybe it is, yes, but it's making a point :confused: It's very Louis Theroux, irreverent. most of these things are tup. peopel get paid to analyse and theorise even the simplest of things. tehn write a book on it, when it could be summaries on an a4 sheet. thats why i watch tv instead. so much more informative. Link to comment
tup Posted September 5, 2012 Author Share Posted September 5, 2012 I never watch telly, and only read books. Yet I'm clever, and you're thick! How does that fit into your theory? It certainly supports the theory that we are surrounded by madness. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 5, 2012 Share Posted September 5, 2012 I never watch telly, and only read books. Yet I'm clever, and you're thick! How does that fit into your theory? It certainly supports the theory that we are surrounded by madness. it supports my theory that you are gullible. Link to comment
robbo Posted September 5, 2012 Share Posted September 5, 2012 what happened? ive always wondered what i'd do in a situation like this. confronting burglers really is not worth it. possesions can be replaced, thats what insurance is for. and it can improve your house, a little insurance number. but i dont like folk taking liberties and i'm not affraid of a dust up. but these confrontations can escalate quickly.... ...... got to our door (which in that house was techincally the back door since it just to be a large house but was split into 2. so upstairs had the front door. we got the back door which made it easier for mr burglar cunt. so aye, got to the door and noticed the vent in the ground was unscrewed randomly which immediately seemed odd. opened the door and saw that the door to the cellar was broken at the lock. so i just pushed her behind me, rolled my sleeves over my hands to prevent any fingerprints being rubbed off. walked into the front room, drawers open, dvds gone. etc. same basic story throughout the house. despite there being big black fingerprints everywhere - the guy had opened that grating, dropped into the cellar and slid along the grotty ledge so was covered in grub - the police couldnt find 1 good print. but aye, back to the point. at no point was i concerned for my own safety. i wanted to make sure nobody was there, and if he was, i knew where all the dangerous stuff was sitting in everyroom. Link to comment