ericblack4boss Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 players who were never or recieved too few international caps considering thier abilities Paul Mason- i honestly believe he was the best attacking midfielder of his time in the Scottish game he was unlucky enought to be around at a time of England being able to boast midfielders like Barnes, Beardsley, Waddle, Platt, Gascgoine Theo Snelders - one solitary cap for the Dutch and no place in the Italia 90 squad. Eric Black - only capped twice for Scotland an none whilst at Aberdeen, Andy roxburgh felt that the likes of Peter Grant, Ian Wilson, Andy Walker were more deserving of national caps than the great eric. others Billy Stark, Frank McDougall, Brian Grant, another three who were uncapped for the national side.oh and add to that former St.Mirren keeper Campball Money, Tommy Coyne ( i know played for Eire but should've been capped for Scotland ) and ig Andy Ritchie Link to comment
tup Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 To be fair Snelders was going to be capped for Holland but famously 'bottled it' before a clash with Germany, and withdrew from the starting line-up, a feat later repeated by Kevin McNaughton (his was imposed by Vogts), meaning basically the end of their international careers before they started. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Peter Weir, only 6 caps Link to comment
tup Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 The strength of that Aberdeen team at the time was it's teamwork and togetherness as quite a few of these players mentioned went on to mediocre careers elsewhere. The real reason for the success of the club during that spell was Alex Ferguson rather than any individual player, we changed the team around, but kept winning, which of course he's still doing to this day. We've never had a manager since who's even come close to matching his drive and ambition. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 24, 2012 Author Share Posted September 24, 2012 Peter Weir, only 6 caps fair point about Weir but remember he was around at the same time as Davie Cooper another player underused by his country.also look at the palyers Scotland had competing for that left side role in those days Weir, Cooper, Burns, Provan, Pat Nevin. Eammon Bannon, to name just six Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Allan Thomson should've been capped for E*****d whilst at Celtic. Link to comment
Jigot Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 There were a good few players denied further caps due to the Weegie bias.Players who would have walked over hot coals to play for Scotland,but a long procession of managers kept picking players from the once apon a time old firm.Players who routinely pulled out of a match with an injury,but always,as if by miracle,made their club game a couple of days later. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 24, 2012 Author Share Posted September 24, 2012 Doug Rougvie, he was most unfortunate to have competition from maurice malpas and Stevie Nicol for that left back berth. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 24, 2012 Author Share Posted September 24, 2012 would like to add two more Paul hegarty and Dave Narey, what chances that one of the most reliable, dependable, talented, defensive partnerships would be around at the same time ast THE best central defensive pairing. Link to comment
tup Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Narey did play a number of times for Scotland including scoring an outrageous toe-poke against Brazil that Millertime look-a-like Jimmy Hill labelled a fluke, thus the famous 'We hate Jimmy Hill, he's a , he's a ' chant was born. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Matt Le Tissier only got 8 caps for the full England team. Might have got a few more than that if he had decided to play for any of the other home nations. Link to comment
Jigot Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Matt Le Tissier only got 8 caps for the full England team. Might have got a few more than that if he had decided to play for any of the other home nations.Good point tut,I always took it for granted that the Channel Islands were part of englandshire,but that's from someone who asked the way to the "Duty Free"on the Stranraer to Belfast ferry. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Allan Thomson should've been capped for E*****d whilst at Celtic.I'm sure he was and played shite in his only game. Could be wrong though. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 i'll say it again. we should've played the aberdeen XI in '82. most of '86 as well. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 I'm sure he was and played shite in his only game. Could be wrong though. Correct. Picked by Sven for a game against Sweden. The only Celtic player to have won an England cap. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 fair point about Weir but remember he was around at the same time as Davie Cooper another player underused by his country.also look at the palyers Scotland had competing for that left side role in those days Weir, Cooper, Burns, Provan, Pat Nevin. Eammon Bannon, to name just sixPeter Weir was "unfortunate" to be around at the same time as Cooper and John Robertson who was winning European Cups at the time with Forest. Neither of whom were, in my opinion, fit to lace the boots of Weir. Scandalous he only received 6 caps as i'm sure the England skipper of the day Mills would testify. He still breaks out in cal' sweats at the mention of his name.I refer to anyone, or thing, who is hyped to the hilt only after death, as having "Davie Cooper Syndrome". You would have thought he was better than Maradona such was the outpouring of pish after his passing. Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Correct. Picked by Sven for a game against Sweden. The only Celtic player to have won an England cap. I'm here to learn Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 I'm here to learn Dinnae worry min. Plenty on here will tell you your wrong even when your right. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Probably not for ability, more for the competition available... McNaughton. When clubfoot a ricky fucking fester get picked its pretty shite McNaughton doesnt. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Doug Rougvie, he was most unfortunate to have competition from maurice malpas and Stevie Nicol for that left back berth. Rougvie was lucky to be an fairly average player in an excellent team IMO. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 The strength of that Aberdeen team at the time was it's teamwork and togetherness as quite a few of these players mentioned went on to mediocre careers elsewhere. The real reason for the success of the club during that spell was Alex Ferguson rather than any individual player, we changed the team around, but kept winning, which of course he's still doing to this day. We've never had a manager since who's even come close to matching his drive and ambition. "We've never had a manager since who's even come close to matching his drive and ambition" ....nae shit Sherlock Link to comment
a1-don Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 There are loads of Dons who deserved more caps: David RobertsonSteven WrightSteven GlassEoin JessJoe HarperNeil SimpsonNeale CooperJim BettDuncan ShearerBenny Yorston (38 goals in a season but only ever capped once) Also non-Dons: Phil O'DonnellJamie DolanJohn Robertson (hearts)John Kennedy (if he'd not been injured so badly) Link to comment
a1-don Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 jamie dolan?! Lambert and Dolan were a great pairing for Motherwell and dominated us every time we played them. Lambert got loads of caps but Dolan didn't get any and probably deserved to get his chance. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 Rougvie was lucky to be an fairly average player in an excellent team IMO. Doug Rougvie served the purpose he was in that team better than anyone I can think of. The supposed 'Hard Men' of the Old Firm absolutely shat themselves in the presence of Rougvie, I'm particularly thinking of guys like Aitken, and the Huns' Johnston/es Stampy and Fatty.... which is exactly what he was there for. So, in his particular role, he was about the best there was. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 I'll say Russell Anderson. Purely because of the utter shite that has been played (regularly in some cases) ahead of him the last 10 years. Kevin McNaughton. Link to comment
tup Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 Kevin McNaughton. Unfortunately shat himself before the friendly game against France in Paris which never goes down well at international level. I don't think he was that great either to be honest. Link to comment
Redstar Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 Unfortunately shat himself before the friendly game against France in Paris which never goes down well at international level. I don't think he was that great either to be honest.Well not really...Volks thought he looked nervous in training so chose not to select him...this was after Volks at a press conference had stated that McNaughton (19 years old) was definitely playing...I doubt there would be many 19 year olds who wouldn't be looking nervous at the prospect of their full international debut...McNaughton was wrongly labelled as being a "bottler"...Kraut Cu*t!! 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 I was reading the other day that Mark Walters and Neil Ruddock only have 1 English cap. I've no idea why, but it shocked me, I just expected them to have more. I also can't believe Michael Dawson has had less caps than Ledley King, I've always thought Dawson was the better defender. As for Scotland, Kevin McNaughton and Russell Anderson for me (although Russells is more than I expected) - they were just incredible at times, and never seemed to get a look in. Mark McGhee at 4 caps (2 goals) - is that also surprising to many of the older gadgies? With the way many go on about McGhee (player) it really does surprise me. Kris Boyd at 18 caps, what a finisher of the ball he was at Rangers and Kilmarnock, but at the same time - he was a lazy bastard and he's pissed his career away majorly, he could have been up there with the top goalscorers for Scotland had he put a bit more effort in. What was Tommy Burns like as a player? It comes as a shock to me he only has 8 caps....and Frank McAvenie with only 6. Eoin Jess with 18 caps, when you look at the list of players with caps, and maybe it's favouritism from me - but I'd expect that tally to be much higher. plenty good scottish fwds around at that time,... wilie miller and hansen are two other obvious examples. but similarly lots of good defenders too. hoddle only got just over 20 i think, but folk still wank over him to this day. i agree with boyd. surely in this current day and age he should have more Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 Unfortunately shat himself before the friendly game against France in Paris which never goes down well at international level. I don't think he was that great either to be honest. Neither to I, but again due to the pish that HAS played, I thought he was deserving. True re shitting it. Although never got a second chance which is maybe harsh. Link to comment