Aberdeen-Hibs

So what's the conclusions from the game?

If we get a goalkeeper who doesn't give the crowd a heart attack every time the ball is passed back to him or when he come to collect a cross, and a decent, mobile striker such as a Scott Vernon with pace, do we have the 2nd best squad in the league? I'd think so.

Apart from naysmith and hayes, was that our strongest 11 that played yesterday? I think Jack should be playing RB every game and ozzy is our best CM.

Long day that...1st pint @10am last een this morning sometime. :deadhorse:

Critical 3 points for us, and a much better performance than the last 2 or 3 showings.

Hibs 1st defeat since day one of the season, and TBH they were beaten by a much better side.

Likng the way we work the ball between midfield and front, even with no Hayes or Fraser there.

McGinn's return has definitely given us an additional wee spark.

Good awareness to pounce on that rebound.

Just sort of skimmed through the match again...by fuck, that was one horrendous challenge by Maybury on Fraser.

As clear a red card as you'll see...straight leg, studs up, knee high.

Fucking awful refereeing...same goes for the handball. Arm clearly up and "batting" the ball away from danger. Incredible.

Truly horrendous goalkeeping from Langfield (as standard) to let Hibs back into a game they were in no danger of levelling.

Enough already said on that subject I suppose, so...

Serious impact substitution with Magennis coming on.

Caused their defence no end of problems from the very moment he walked onto the pitch culminating in the quick shift and ball in that created the winner.

Credit too for Gavin Rae getting on the end of it. ESPN highlighted where his position was when the ball went forward to Magennis.

He was centre circle made up the ground brilliantly for an auld mannie, then excelled to dart into the near post to finish the cross off. Ace.

Good laugh in lounge post match with big Rougvie to top off a pleasant day at the old Pitt.

Downsides?

Ryan Fraser being kicked all over the place again. Loon career will be finished by season end if these arseholes officiating dinna start gieing him mair protection.

Air headed ball bags who shout at their own fans for having an opinion differing to their own. :rolleyes:

Being charged

that was a good game of fitba yesterday, would have been a decent game for a neutral.

Overall we were the better side and deserved the win. I'm not convinced that was a 442 like some are saying. I thought the difference was that McGinn knows how to support the striker properly when is it goes to 433. I was impressed with McGinn and Fraser again until he had to go off injured, refs in this country need to get a grip of these challenges on him before it gets a lot more serious.

only disappointment for me was towards the end of the game. It was clear that Hughes and Rae were knackered as it looked like they were pulling a caravan. The obvious choice was Milsom in there to inject some much needed energy in to our midfield. Brown instead opted to put him on the left wing.

Does anyone get really annoyed at our lack of urgency? I'm not saying I want us running about like darren mackies but we seem to slow everything down to a snail pace even when we have the momentum.

that was a good game of fitba yesterday, would have been a decent game for a neutral.

Overall we were the better side and deserved the win. I'm not convinced that was a 442 like some are saying. I thought the difference was that McGinn knows how to support the striker properly when is it goes to 433. I was impressed with McGinn and Fraser again until he had to go off injured, refs in this country need to get a grip of these challenges on him before it gets a lot more serious.

only disappointment for me was towards the end of the game. It was clear that Hughes and Rae were knackered as it looked like they were pulling a caravan. The obvious choice was Milsom in there to inject some much needed energy in to our midfield. Brown instead opted to put him on the left wing.

Does anyone get really annoyed at our lack of urgency? I'm not saying I want us running about like darren mackies but we seem to slow everything down to a snail pace even when we have the momentum.

Milsom shouldn't have been anywhere near the pitch yesterday. One run down the stand side and his gasket blew. Nowhere near fit enough to be pulling strings in the centre. Rae looked fine to me. Hughes on the other hand, I thought had a poor game in general, and was like playing with a man down towards the end.

Rae had a good game but I just thought he looked tired towards the end. Hughes would have been my choice to come of for milsom. I'll have to take your word for it on Milsom as I did'nt see him after his run up to the opposite end of the main from me.

A very enjoyable game of football.

Truth be told I've enjoyed every game I've managed to attend so far this season.

I listened to Craig Brown on the radio on the way home in the car and he played down the result and claimed a draw was the fairer result.

Pat Fenlon felt differently and rightly so.

We beat a decent Hibs team which has been full of confidence and unbeaten since after the first game of the season.

I actually missed the Hibs equaliser as I was fucking about with my phone, but I saw it this morning on GoS and Clangers should have done so much better.

It was like he was diving with lead in his boots.

Personal abuse isn't warranted, but this guy has cost us too many times.

We did well to take the game to Hibs in the 2nd half and dominated on the most part.

A great substitution by Brown in bringing on Magennis.

Now I'm not his greatest fan by any stretch of the imagination, but by fuck he changed the game.

Great show of strength to hold off the Hibs defender and cut it back for Rae to put it away.

A well deserved win in my book and hopefully now, thats the monkey off our back as far as winning at home is concerned this season.

Langfield - Made some decent stops but it's the same old shite we discuss about him. Poor kicking, poor distribution and poor positional awareness of his near post.

Jack - Was solid enough, not great and not poor. RB def isn't his best position.

Anderson - Again solid and led the backline well ably assisted by Reynolds.

Rae - Has some critics, but i've always been pleased by his contribution and he did very well for the goal yesterday. Did well to folow play and get into the box for the goal despite being 'slow'.

Considine - Isn't a left back. Tries his best, but he's just not suited to it. Haste ye back Naysmith or Robertson.

Vernon - Seemed more alive today than he has done since the St Johnstone game. Hopefully with McGinn in the team we'll see the Vernon we know we can get.

McGinn - Was everything that was good about Aberdeen yesterday. Good awareness to follow up the save from Vernon's shot and put the ball in the back of the net.

Osbourne - Wasn't as good as usual, but was good enough to help Rae get a grip of the mifield.

Hughes - Sorry, but I just can't get this guy. The game just seems to pass him by for me and he just dosn't create or influence the game enough for me.

Fraser - Was doing well, but by fuck this lad takes some punishment. When are refs going to start protecting him properly. Hopefully the injury isn't to serious.

Reynolds - Usual solid self and did what was needed.

Subs:

Magennis - Not his biggest fan, but what an impact he made. Outstanding performance and Hibs just couldn't cope with him. Well done.

Milsom - Great to see him back, but not really much time to get involved.

All in all a great game and performance to match.

Tough trip to Killie next week, bring it on!!

Just seen highlights. Good performance. Josh is looking more composed. Clangers should have done better for their goal. Broon has to have a word with officials about fouls on Fraser. I think there have been over 10 yellows and a red for fouls on him this season which is a pretty poor and I suppose highlights how bad the standard is up here. I doubt he would suffer the same level of fouls against him in a better league.

Mayburys tackle on Ryan Fraser was shite. No effort to get ball. Should have been red.

McPake - definitely hand ball.

Vernon was good all game i thought.

Hughes needs dropped, wayward passing at times and lacks a bit of luck (strange i know) but when he challenges for the ball it never comes off for him!! Blooters it up the pitch too much aswell. Time to try someone else in there!

Nice ball from Magennis across the face of goal, and a nice delayed run by Rae for the goal

vernon was a completely different player yesterday - was fantastic

dont think you can blame langfield for the goal, was a terrific strike which he couldnt have expected

also, met the great man today down at toryglen!!!

beautiful, beautfiful man

We know you like him (unconditionally) but surely you have to admit that on this occasion he was fkn shite at the goal?

He was basically shit scared to dive at his post, it was a very slow/safe pretend attempt to dive. He should have done much better at that goal & if it had turned out to be a decisive goal. He'd be getting a lot more stick for it than he is now & deservedly so but obviously not the personal abuse (I don't agree with all that shite)

Hughes was poor, I'd agree. But what a fucking pass to Magennis in the build up for the winner. So far he's been a frustrating player, but there is a player in there.

Mentioned it before, but really Hibs should have had two players sent off before half time. Reject Maybury's leg-breaker on Fraser should have been a sending off, and McPake stopped Vernon from scoring. I.E. red card.

Hughes was poor, I'd agree. But what a fucking pass to Magennis in the build up for the winner. So far he's been a frustrating player, but there is a player in there.

Mentioned it before, but really Hibs should have had two players sent off before half time. Reject Maybury's leg-breaker on Fraser should have been a sending off, and McPake stopped Vernon from scoring. I.E. red card.

If anyone is in any doubt

imag0458o.jpg

An absolute shocker of a tackle.

And Maybury had the cheek to protest the Yellow.

Fraser is too tricky for this league and is going to end up with a serious injury before the season is out.

10 yellows & 1 red for players putting in challenges on him tells its own story at this stage of the season.

Willie Miller was saying on the radio after the game that Fraser suffered the same treatment in the youth league as he was just to quick and tricky.

Fair enjoyed that on Saturday again. You've certainly got your money's worth at Pittodrie the last two games.

Langfield still doesn't fill me with confidence. He had a couple of good stops however he really needs to be doing better for the goal and his kicking was horrendous once again.

Clangers will be 33 this year. How can a Professional Goalkeeper still be so bad at kicking the fucking ball at that age? Has this aspect of his game ever been worked on properly?

Vernon and McGinn had good games up top and on the whole the defence was solid.

Thought Hughes started the game slowly but certainly finished it a lot stronger.

What an impact Magennis made when he came on, was great to see.

I fear for Ryan Fraser this season. Probably the most exciting talent we've had in years however he's hacked to bits week in, week out. Worrying that nothing is being done by the Officials to stamp this out. It was a red card for Maybury any day of the week, Ref bottled it.

Thought we played well on Saturday.

Makes me wish I was going to Killie now!

maybe yeah, but to say he was shit scared of his post is mental

it was a great strike which only top, top keepers would have expected and saved

Nonsense even an average keeper would & should be saving that, or at the very fkn least getting a hand to it

An absolute shocker of a tackle.

And Maybury had the cheek to protest the Yellow.

Fraser is too tricky for this league and is going to end up with a serious injury before the season is out.

10 yellows & 1 red for players putting in challenges on him tells its own story at this stage of the season.

Willie Miller was saying on the radio after the game that Fraser suffered the same treatment in the youth league as he was just to quick and tricky.

& when you consider the fact that more often than not it's only after 3 or 4 bad tackles on him that the ref usually produces his first card, then that tells you the kind of treatment the poor lad's getting.

Wasnt just that, was an awful error, from behind it looked like he thought it was going by the post.

His kicking the last two homes has been worse than abysmal, i have seen 1 legged people kicking better than langfield.

Its been horrific.

Yeah it was like one of those ach it's going by, shit it's not, ach al never reach it but better make it look like I tried.

I don't think Langfield was particularly at fault for the goal on account of the fact that the strike was unexpected and clinical.

He might have looked slow to react but I guarantee nobody in the ground was expecting a strike of that quality from an otherwise shite Hibs player in Doyle.

Even he would probably admit it was a once in a lifetime effort which 99 times out of 100 would have been sclaffed.

I don't think Langfield was particularly at fault for the goal on account of the fact that the strike was unexpected and clinical.

He might have looked slow to react but I guarantee nobody in the ground was expecting a strike of that quality from an otherwise shite Hibs player in Doyle.

Even he would probably admit it was a once in a lifetime effort which 99 times out of 100 would have been sclaffed.

Didn't expect it, but it's not as if he was 8 yards out, he had a while to see it coming. Look at his foot work (Langfields), bloody awful.