Jocky Balboa Posted September 30, 2012 Share Posted September 30, 2012 http://www.veteranstoday.com/2012/09/29/netanyahu-at-the-u-n-or-monumental-warmongering-bullshit/ The above link says it all... the fact that the UN is even entertaining this lunatic and his rogue state, rather than arresting him for war crimes and ending it's illegal activities, suggests to me that the UN, as a body representative of international law, is as ineffective as it is outmoded. Looking at the bigger picture, what does the future hold, when rogue states and their lunatic leaders, hell bent on starting WWIII, are able to tell lies with impunity and walk away unpunished? 1 Link to comment
Big Man Posted September 30, 2012 Share Posted September 30, 2012 Of course it fucking is - I could have told you that even before Netanyahu's speech. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 30, 2012 Share Posted September 30, 2012 The U.N. only has as much power as it's individual, primarily most powerful, members allow it to have. I'm not sure what powers people expect it to have, but I've seen the argument that it's basically The League of Nations with less executive power. That doesn't fly with me. You give the U.N. the power to do what needs to be done and you have everyone screaming that we're under a one world government (and frankly I don't see the problem with that). You limit the powers of the U.N. and you have people complaining it doesn't have meaningful power. Look at what happened in Iraq. You had America and Britain virtually cumming in their pants at the prospect of going to war over oil. They were going to try to get a resolution from the U.N. that would state, in black and white, that they could go to war and get their oil. It was made perfectly clear that there would be no resolution supporting, or legalising, an Imperial war that even a blind man could see was intended to snatch resources. So what did Bush and Blair do? They went ahead and bribed a whole bunch of tiny states to form a 'Coalition of the Willing' to go get them some oil, and they did so on the basis of resolution 1441... a resolution that NOWHERE mandates a war. Now I would like to see the U.N. have the power to step in and arrest the leaders of Rogue States, and I'm talking about Bush and Blair, and replace them with a temporary head of state from within the political system of the countries in question, until free and Democratic elections can be held. Those are the kinds of powers I'd like to see in the hands of the U.N. But most people would shit their pants with a combination of fear and xenophobia if that were to happen. As it stands, the U.N. does a lot of good work, even with their hands tied behind their backs. Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted September 30, 2012 Share Posted September 30, 2012 The UN lost all legitimacy the day it booted out the Republic of China not only from the Security Council - Resolution 2758 (replacing it with the People's Republic) but out of the ENTIRE United Nations - in flagrant breach of the UN Charter which does not grant the General Assembly the power to boot out members. Add in the whole of the UN welcoming Russia as successor to the USSR without so much as a discussion, pretty much throwing away only the second serious opportunity to reform the Security Council and hence the wider UN and it's obvious that the whole organisation is a waste of time who's only successes have come from charitable wings that could easily function on their own e.g. UNICEF. The Security Council is vilified constantly and yet, two of its permanent members - the PRC and Russian Federation - apparently enjoy permission to invade sovereign nations (Georgia), and otherwise commit serious Human Rights violations (PRC) because they're not "Western" and hence, despised to the same extent as the other SECCON members. Is the UN a spent force? Throw it out with Thursday's rubbish. Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Good article JB. Doesn't tell us anything we didn't already know but confirms what we suspect we know to be true re the corrupt agendas of the west, and particularly the USA in their support of the illegal rogue state. The UN lost all credibility many moons ago, mainly because of the continued breaches by Israel of a multitude of resolutions and their inability to enforce them or their inability to create the will to enforce them. Everyone's at it. The chief difference between what the West get up to and what the "East" (And by that, I include the PRC and the Russians in one giant geographically and culturally inaccurate bodge) gets up to is that the latter are far more direct about suppressing dissent, doing whatever they like and otherwise supporting their own interests whilst simultaneously not giving a fuck what the West thinks of them. Giving people a say (or the illusion of a say if you're of the cynical ilk) as we do here in the West really makes it difficult to get down to the business of doing whatever we want. For every time Israel's stuck up two fingers to the UN, the PRC or the Russians have done exactly the same with their incessant bullying of the Taiwanese Strait, territorial disputes in the Yellow Sea or plain-up eviscerating smaller countries that can't do anything to stop them. It takes two to Tango, and the UN as broken as it is because everyone's at it - not just the western (liberal) democracies and a couple of million naughty Jews. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 2, 2012 Author Share Posted October 2, 2012 Israel and it's lobbyists are the tail that wags the dog. What I find alarming, however, is the fact that not only is the UN a highly corrupt (arguably, it always was) organisation, it is utterly powerless to stop one little rogue state and it's minions from making a complete and utter mockery of international law, year after year and with devastating consequences for the world. ...interesting to note a few points here, as well: Israel has defied and/or ignored international law and subsequent legislations thus laid down, EXCEPT for the one that sanctioned it's creation in 1948.People who deludedly (or deceptively?) state that Israel is "our only friend in the Middle East" fail to factor in that, prior to it's existence, we had NO ENEMIES to speak of in the region. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 2, 2012 Share Posted October 2, 2012 Israel and it's lobbyists are the tail that wags the dog. What I find alarming, however, is the fact that not only is the UN a highly corrupt (arguably, it always was) organisation, it is utterly powerless to stop one little rogue state and it's minions from making a complete and utter mockery of international law, year after year and with devastating consequences for the world. Israel is one of the most despicable nations on the face of the Earth, and arguably one of the most dangerous in terms of world stability. ...interesting to note a few points here, as well: Israel has defied and/or ignored international law and subsequent legislations thus laid down, EXCEPT for the one that sanctioned it's creation in 1948.People who deludedly (or deceptively?) state that Israel is "our only friend in the Middle East" fail to factor in that, prior to it's existence, we had NO ENEMIES to speak of in the region. Israel isn't anyone's friend but Israel's. Plenty Britons and Americans deluded into believing they are, though. As for having no enemies, Imperial domination via client states, direct occupation, and military action was likely the reason we had few significant enemies in the Middle East... or anywhere else outside of Europe for that matter. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 2, 2012 Author Share Posted October 2, 2012 As for having no enemies, Imperial domination via client states, direct occupation, and military action was likely the reason we had few significant enemies in the Middle East... or anywhere else outside of Europe for that matter. Factors for sure, but who can deny the impact our subservience to that horrible little regime has had on our standing abroad, particularly in the Islamic world? Palestine was a British Protectorate until 1947 and we had cordial relations with the likes of Persia and Egypt until the '50s. It has been all downhill since the late 40's and it is no co-incidence. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted October 2, 2012 Share Posted October 2, 2012 Israel is one of the most despicable nations on the face of the Earth Nice beaches though. And the women in Israel are without doubt the best looking I've seen anywhere. So it's nae all bad. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted October 2, 2012 Share Posted October 2, 2012 the un is a judeo christian leaning body, but that was then after ww2. now it's all change and the power base is flipping south. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 2, 2012 Share Posted October 2, 2012 Factors for sure, but who can deny the impact our subservience to that horrible little regime has had on our standing abroad, particularly in the Islamic world? Palestine was a British Protectorate until 1947 and we had cordial relations with the likes of Persia and Egypt until the '50s. It has been all downhill since the late 40's and it is no co-incidence. I wouldn't say we had cordial relations, given we and the Russians carved up a whole bunch of Persian territory between us via direct military interventions, and by 'we' I mean primarily John Company with crown complicity. Something I believe we euphemistically called 'Residency', extending to a bunch of other states controlled by proxy. As for Egypt, they've variously been occupied by a number of other powers, including ouselves, and I would say their attitude towards us has been much the same as other conquered peoples... keeping their heads down in the main, with sporadic uprisings against foreign rule. We also tend to forget that many of the uprisings we see against imperial rule are popular uprisings, meaning they have the support of the people. In fact are the people. Link to comment
essexdon Posted October 3, 2012 Share Posted October 3, 2012 the un lost all credibility years ago, the rules in bosnia were a joke, unable to take action against serbs shooting civilians as an example, could only take action if un forces were fired upon ffs.this is where the gov can get jobs for the boys, like eec another gravy train not concerned with keeping the peace or assisting the poor, a sham pure and simple Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted October 3, 2012 Share Posted October 3, 2012 Israel is one of the most despicable nations on the face of the Earth, and arguably one of the most dangerous in terms of world stability. Israel isn't anyone's friend but Israel's. Plenty Britons and Americans deluded into believing they are, though. As for having no enemies, Imperial domination via client states, direct occupation, and military action was likely the reason we had few significant enemies in the Middle East... or anywhere else outside of Europe for that matter.So what do you suggest? Removal of the Jews? Someone has tried that before and his legacy isn't of a forward thinking, popular individual. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 3, 2012 Share Posted October 3, 2012 So what do you suggest? Removal of the Jews? Someone has tried that before and his legacy isn't of a forward thinking, popular individual. Oh, for sure, genocide would be the logical answer. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 3, 2012 Author Share Posted October 3, 2012 Whatever manifestation of justice that will prevail - and it will - will have damaging consequences for all. Or you could get the Kosher Cops roond yer door, gie'in ye a tellin' aff for "hate speech"? Watch oot fur Shylock Holmesberg and Dr. Watzstein any time, ye wee goyim naysayer! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 So what do you suggest? Removal of the Jews? Someone has tried that before and his legacy isn't of a forward thinking, popular individual. Just get rid of all the ones in Israel. I don't mind the other ones so much. Link to comment