barassie_afc Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Assume Brown is going at end of season.......could Owen Coyle be tempted, or maybe Brown might stay once we win the league Link to comment
tup Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Assume Brown is going at end of season.......could Owen Coyle be tempted, or maybe Brown might stay once we win the league Why would we want a manager who's failed at a no-mark English outfit like Bolton? Same as McGhee, let's get him because he got sacked by big teams in England. Fuck that. Get a Scottish manager who kens the club i.e. Derek Adams. Link to comment
zerodon47 Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 first of all, of course we'd have Coyle. secondly, absolutely no chance in hell of him even thinkin about comin here. and thirdly, i agree with tup, would like to see adams as our next gaffer. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 first of all, of course we'd have Coyle. secondly, absolutely no chance in hell of him even thinkin about comin here. and thirdly, i agree with tup, would like to see adams as our next gaffer. That'd be career suicide for Adams. The Scotland joab is only for those on a downward career trajectory. Link to comment
zerodon47 Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 That'd be career suicide for Adams. The Scotland joab is only for those on a downward career trajectory. wer talkin aboot the Dons job here min. fuck that scotland pish! 2 1 Link to comment
tup Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 I think he kens that but is coming the cunt. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 wer talkin aboot the Dons job here min. fuck that scotland pish! Ahh, now tup's point makes sense. Thought he wis jist havering. My point still stands tho Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 9, 2012 Author Share Posted October 9, 2012 Spot on. What failed like Brown at Preston 1 1 Link to comment
tup Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 What failed like Brown at Preston He never failed, they just stood still under his tenure, no relegations or anything like that. He then handed over to - Billy Davies Which may or may not be an omen for us next year. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Still don't really get the fuss over Derek Adams. I'd like McLeish if he still available. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 That'd be career suicide for Adams. The Scotland joab is only for those on a downward career trajectory. aye and the dons job has really seen some managers career's take off :laughing: Link to comment
tup Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 I'd like McLeish if he still available. Managed the huns during reprehensible cheating years = finished at Aberdeen. No chance, I dislike him intensely for his behaviour since retiring as a player, and try to blank it from my mind. 3 Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Managed the huns during reprehensible cheating years = finished at Aberdeen. No chance, I dislike him intensely for his behaviour since retiring as a player, and try to blank it from my mind. A very narrow minded view but it's not a subject I'm going to try and change your mind on Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Still don't really get the fuss over Derek Adams. Caught in two minds about him. Think he could do well with us, but it wouldn't be pretty. He was taking pelters from absolutely everyone in Division 1 last season because of how negatively County were set out. Get the impression he has a touch of the Jimmy's about him - Bugger all football, but manages to nick sneaky wins. Isn't what we should be looking at now we've seen what our team is capable of, but I guess I'd be happy enough with him over the available alternatives. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Adams just strikes me as another lazy AFC appointment. Doesn't excite me at all, would rather have another year of Brooner tbh. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 See Tup's response. The main issue here is that too many folk either conciously or unconsciously seem to regard English fitba as the land of milk and honey at the top of the beanstalk and assume that even moderate success down there will equate to guaranteed success up here. Chequebook managers who can't source good players on relatively minimal wages will flop in Scotland. Coyle may not have done well at Bolton, but did he nae do a good job with a lesser budget at Burnley. Certainly got them promoted from the Championship over teams with much larger budgets. He was reasonably successful at St Johnstone, only missing out on promotion to the big spending Gretna and some good cup runs. He did very well at Burnley. Struggled at Bolton. All too easy to right someone off as they failed in their last appointment. Think he had the rug pulled out from under him soon after going to Bolton and certainly didn't have an open chequebook in EPL terms (or even Championship terms this year). Certainly don't think we should be turning our noses up if he were interested when we next have a managerial vacancy. Link to comment
tup Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 He's not got the right mentality to manage Aberdeen. As to the slagging of Adams by Div1 managers, it was mainly Billy Reid & Steven Pressley, and look at them both now, floundering. Sheer jealousy is what it amounted to. Adams is tactically astute which is what we're looking for. Link to comment
RUL Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 I'd extend browns contract as it stands. 3rd, on form, played well and good football. Scoring goals. Quarter finals of cup etc. giving youth a chance. It would be madness to start afresh 1 1 Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 9, 2012 Author Share Posted October 9, 2012 See Tup's response. The main issue here is that too many folk either conciously or unconsciously seem to regard English fitba as the land of milk and honey at the top of the beanstalk and assume that even moderate success down there will equate to guaranteed success up here. Chequebook managers who can't source good players on relatively minimal wages will flop in Scotland. Looks like you have been tup washed, did you forget his time at St Johnstone, Burnley ? Link to comment
tup Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Looks like you have been tup washed, did you forget his time at St Johnstone, Burnley ? He did nothing at St Johnstone, and he got Burnley promoted. As McGhee did with a couple of clubs. I'm not forgetting it, I'm saying it's nothing to write home about. We need a manager with a decent track record, from within Scotland. Very simple. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 We need a manager with a decent track record, from within Scotland. Very simple. So McLeish then? Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 If we're still in the top 3 and in both cups at Christmas time, I'd extend Brown's contract by one more season. Long way to go though. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 9, 2012 Author Share Posted October 9, 2012 He did nothing at St Johnstone, and he got Burnley promoted. As McGhee did with a couple of clubs. I'm not forgetting it, I'm saying it's nothing to write home about. We need a manager with a decent track record, from within Scotland. Very simple. Ok Tupster who, and it isnt Adams Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 He did nothing at St Johnstone, and he got Burnley promoted. As McGhee did with a couple of clubs. I'm not forgetting it, I'm saying it's nothing to write home about. We need a manager with a decent track record, from within Scotland. Very simple.Coyle had a bloody good record with St Johnstone though and he knows the Scottish game well too. Adams has done a great job with County but still too inexperienced imo 2 Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Whatever the merits or otherwise of McLeish, Coyle etc one thing is for sure - we'll never have a better chance to put in place some proper succession planning than now, when we're stable, playing some good stuff and can take the time to source a manager who fits our philosophy rather than just taking someone who's available at the time with a dodgy track record who'll get us out of a hole. Adams is an obvious choice, but that's not to say there aren't other options we should look at. Very good point. I wish I could trust our Board not to be just sitting about with their thumbs up their arses however Link to comment
tup Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 I don't want Strachan, McLeish or Coyle. The first two are tainted by their association, and the latter is simply not good enough and has done nothing in management so far. The next manager will be Derek Adams so there's little point in arguing. Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Thought Jocky Scott was being touted for the position after Brown decides to call it quits. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Adams could be decent. I think someone who is young with something to prove, knows the club and has the ability to create the siege mentality at home and the marauding mentality away is what we need. Couple this with a couple of really promising local lads and some good pros and we might just get it right. Link to comment