STANDfreeSCOTTY Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 I'm happy with Browns overall performance, he has bought well, we are playing good football and are hard to beat, belief has been our biggest problem this season. Ok he isn't perfect, but no team in Scottish football is right now. It's the most competitive the SPL has been in donkeys years, Utd could turn us over in a few weeks,, but this season we CAN beat anyone home or away if we play well. Not since JC was at the helm have Aberdeen been this good,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, I would also give Brown another year IF he was fit enough to do so, and we finish in the top 4, and do well in the cups. We (the fans) definitely deserve to see Aberdeen win a cup, and this season, with the way we can and are playing we CAN win a cup and we CAN finish 2nd. I think Coyle would be a good choice, however I don't think he will be available come Christmas, never mind the end of the season. I think Aberdeen fans are all to impatient when it comes to Mangers, people wanted Brown out the door, they still do, they still criticise his tactics,, thats up to them to do so, in many cases they might be right. But surely you have to consider that we may end up with another manager who gets us nowhere and we end up in the relegation battle all over again. This season is still in it's infancy, but I think right now we have to just back brown, and If he does perform well and does get 1 more season, we should back him 100% Stand Free 1 Link to comment
Redstar Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Thought Jocky Scott was being touted for the position after Brown decides to call it quits.Could do a lot worse...It's certainly no coincidence our recent good form has coincided with his return to AFC as head coach... Link to comment
Tommy Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 I think Aberdeen fans are all to impatient when it comes to Mangers, people wanted Brown out the door, they still do, they still criticise his tactics,, thats up to them to do so, in many cases they might be right. But surely you have to consider that we may end up with another manager who gets us nowhere and we end up in the relegation battle all over again. Away min. 2 Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 I'll never understand the mentality of professionals like Coyle. All he had to do was keep Burnley up, an ask granted but by no means impossible. Doing that he and his family would've been like royalty in that part of the world i.e. he'd never have to put his hand in his pocket for a drink again but what does he do - jumps ship to manage a 'bigger' club. Same goes for Lambert and him at Liverpool now. Any road, back to the Dons - would take Coyle but it's not going to happen anytime soon. Strachan would be expensive and in my view shit. I agree with the poster who said that we have time on our side now to make the best appointment later on. Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 I'd extend browns contract as it stands. 3rd, on form, played well and good football. Scoring goals. Quarter finals of cup etc. giving youth a chance. It would be madness to start afresh Agreed, as long as there's signs of improvement then we should stick with Brown. He seems to have built a strong team that are together and has obviously handled Fraser very well. Only reason to talk at this stage of the season about getting in a new manager for next season is because of his age, any other reason would be crazy. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 Thought Jocky Scott was being touted for the position after Brown decides to call it quits.He would fit the age criteria. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 aye Strachan has "Martin O Neill syndrome" comes to a club has a good start, consolidates then just deciides one day "ah fuck it i'm walking" Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 and anyway it should be Eric for boss! Link to comment
fatshaft Posted October 9, 2012 Share Posted October 9, 2012 first of all, of course we'd have Coyle. secondly, absolutely no chance in hell of him even thinkin about comin here. and thirdly, i agree with tup, would like to see adams as our next gaffer.Wise the fuck up min. He's been an absolute disaster at Bolton, less tactical awareness than Tango, bigger jobs for the boys mentality than Tango. The only plus in him getting Bolton relegated is that we didn't have to listen to him saying "The Barclays premier League" like it was some sort of bet to see how often he could fit it into an interview. The guy is a plum, who got found out very quickly, both at Burnley where they were already spiralling towards relegation when he jumped, and at Bolton where a short term new manager bump was quickly followed by carnage. 1 Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 The book of criteria for managing the one team that rocket supports (unlike those cretins that support Liverpool, Man U, Arsenal et al) says this: - Section 7, subsection iv, clause 3.1 "The manager shall not be an arselicker who is an establishment whore". Guess that's Coyle oot the windie then. Then again, Milne has disregarded the book every single other time!!! If it should be a Scot, with a good knowledge of the game, would John Collins fit the bill? Link to comment
Redstar Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 If it should be a Scot, with a good knowledge of the game, would John Collins fit the bill?Yes...you forgot a t though...Jocky Scott is the man who is leading us out of the Broon induced slumber... :thumbs: Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 If it should be a Scot, with a good knowledge of the game, would John Collins fit the bill? he could, but I dont think he would be on the radar, Admas would be the right choice, but dont discount Levein or Billy Davies Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 I doubt the fans would take to Billy Davies somehow Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 he could, but I dont think he would be on the radar, Admas would be the right choice, but dont discount Levein or Billy Davies I don't want Levein anywhere near the AFC job, under any circumstances. Adams is the most obvious (logical?) choice, but if I were him, I wouldn't come here, given his ambitions and our Board's distinct lack of. Billy Davies, you say? Hmmm, if Brown was moved upstairs, he might come and work under him, but is he the right man? Not sure, tbh. I think we would be best to go with a young, up and coming Manager, with a modern approach to the game. Collins started so well at Hibs and whatever the truth behind the internal politics and his departure there, he undeniably showed promise. His experiences at Monaco and Fulham gave him a superb knowledge of flowing football and sports science respectively, among other things. He certainly wouldn't tolerate a JC-style drinking culture, or play a cautious approach. Link to comment
stand_free Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 Don't see Adam's fitting our philosophy at all. Same boy who's signed hacking cunts like Tokely who have never been able to play football. They've only scored more than once in a game once this season and were hammered by Raith in the cup. Interested to see how they do now that the unbeaten record is gone as well. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 Agreed, I think this job would be far too big for Adams. We fucking finally have some stability at the Club (first time since the start of the 07/08 season?) and need someone who can continue that. Adams would just be far too risky. Link to comment
tup Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 Dinna be daft min, Adams has been around for ages. You'll remember I first touted him for the job at least three years ago, on Mad. He's done nothing since to change my mind. Folk saying he's being 'found out' with County in the SPL need to bear in mind that he's managing by far the smallest team in the league, whose main objective is not to finish bottom. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 I think we would be best to go with a young, up and coming Manager, with a modern approach to the game. Collins started so well at Hibs and whatever the truth behind the internal politics and his departure there, he undeniably showed promise. His experiences at Monaco and Fulham gave him a superb knowledge of flowing football and sports science respectively, among other things. He certainly wouldn't tolerate a JC-style drinking culture, or play a cautious approach. Pretty much what he tried to do at Hibs and had a player revolt though (and I'd say not to dissimilar to McGhee here). He is currently DoF at Livingston, which raises questions in itself. Think he sees himself distanced from the day to day management of a football club. No, not John Collins for me. Too inexperienced in managing men and not convinced he could do it effectively. For all his positives as a player and given the richness of his experience, he also lacks the hunger and desire as a person. I'd agree with that. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 Dinna be daft min, Adams has been around for ages. You'll remember I first touted him for the job at least three years ago, on Mad. He's done nothing since to change my mind. Folk saying he's being 'found out' with County in the SPL need to bear in mind that he's managing by far the smallest team in the league, whose main objective is not to finish bottom. More bullshit. Link to comment
tup Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 More bullshit. I'm sure Karl will verify it as he's a decent bloke. Folk will believe him too. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 I'm sure Karl will verify it as he's a decent bloke. Folk will believe him too. Yet more bullshit. 1 Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 Surprised that Eric Black hasn't been mentioned yet. He's caretaker at Blackburn, so he must be on the market soon. Link to comment
Mouse Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 Steve Kean is a free agent Link to comment
Tommy Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 I'll stick with Jocky Scott assisted by Neil Cooper. Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted October 10, 2012 Share Posted October 10, 2012 It's a simple fact that any AFC manager will have to prove themselves until one of them wins a piece of silverware.... I believe Roy Aitken (a man synonymous with Celtic) was the last person to do that and of course Alex Miller, Ebbe Skovdahl, Steve Paterson, Jimmy Calderwood, Mark McGhee and Craig Brown have all failed to do that since Season 1995/6... Any manager who can shift that monkey off the club's back can have the freedom of the city as far as I'm concerned... Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 15, 2012 Share Posted October 15, 2012 I'm sure Karl will verify it as he's a decent bloke. Folk will believe him too. I do remember this tbf. Link to comment
tup Posted October 15, 2012 Share Posted October 15, 2012 Thanks Karl. Have a cyber pint for your trouble Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 15, 2012 Share Posted October 15, 2012 Sorry to burst your bubble boys browns already promised me the gig, did you think it was coincidence that the team always seems to reflect what i say on here? 1 Link to comment