Jigot Posted October 29, 2012 Share Posted October 29, 2012 Ahve watched the Times Square one for 10 mins and huvnae seen a mugging yet! It must be bad richt enough. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 29, 2012 Share Posted October 29, 2012 Hurricane Sandy caused 69 deaths in the Caribbean with barely a mention. Disappointing how much the UK's media coverage just latches on to what the US is covering. 1 Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 29, 2012 Share Posted October 29, 2012 Yep we're all meant to go into panic mode because it's America! Link to comment
tutankamun Posted October 29, 2012 Share Posted October 29, 2012 Hurricane Sandy caused 69 deaths in the Caribbean with barely a mention. Disappointing how much the UK's media coverage just latches on to what the US is covering. I imagine there are a lot more Britons living or holidaying in the USA than in Haiti. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 29, 2012 Share Posted October 29, 2012 I imagine there are a lot more Britons living or holidaying in the USA than in Haiti. Still impacted on other areas around the Caribbean where there were holidaymakers from the UK, if that was the justification at all. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted October 29, 2012 Share Posted October 29, 2012 Still impacted on other areas around the Caribbean where there were holidaymakers from the UK, if that was the justification at all. Yes but not as many. Also, I suppose because the storm is getting stronger and the potential for a bigger disaster in the cities. Anyway, I'm keeping a close eye on the coverage since my niece is in Brooklyn at the moment. Link to comment
rgudon Posted October 29, 2012 Share Posted October 29, 2012 You would think the world was about to end, The shock doctrine goes on Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 29, 2012 Author Share Posted October 29, 2012 I have to say, looking at the live streams, there's a wee bit of rain in New York and the water looks very slightly choppy. Fuds. Link to comment
Tommy Posted October 29, 2012 Share Posted October 29, 2012 RIP USA. Will this get pinned on terrorists. Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 mass over reaction ? 60 people deid in the caribbean..... hardly a murmur.......... Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 mass over reaction ? 60 people deid in the caribbean..... hardly a murmur.......... Uh, canna think why Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 how many trailor parks has it falttened so far? Link to comment
360 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 One of the best photo's ever taken. Really hope it's genuine and not a photoshopped effort. It's photoshopped. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 I suspect that you could be correct but why are you so certain? What are the clues of it's photoshoppedness? Someone posted further up its the Statue of liberty photoshopped on top of a storm pic from Dakota or somewhere like that. Link to comment
Top Cat Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Also, that view would mean the storm was south-west of the Statue of Liberty when it was actually coming from the east/south-east. Link to comment
GK55 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Got a friend that stays in New Jersey - his cars been flattened by a tree, but all ok - his missus is due to go into labour anytime soon too. Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted October 30, 2012 Admin Share Posted October 30, 2012 It's certainly a lot worse that we might have expected. Subway wiped out. Lower Manhattan flooded. This will cost absolute billions to fix. The NY subway could do with a wash. Nothing in comparison to the London underground. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 The NY subway could do with a wash. Nothing in comparison to the London underground. which itself its pretty poor. no surprises given its age of course. whats the death count now? are we in the 1000s yet? Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Just when it looked like the worst was over!..........Now this! Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted October 30, 2012 Admin Share Posted October 30, 2012 I'm sure it'll air out. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 30, 2012 Author Share Posted October 30, 2012 Mountain out of a molehill.. a wee bit of flooding and they're bawling into their Bagels. Great city, populated by whiny fuds. I'll send them a sump pump... that'll fix it. My wee sump pump gets my patio cleared in 5 minutes if there's a block in the drain. Absolutely zero sympathy. America is one of the biggest haverers when it comes to doing something about climate change. Refused to sign the Kyoto Accord, and they've since lost one city and I've no doubt NY got off lightly. It'll happen again, though, and worse. And when a REAL city... and as far as Washington is concerned New Orleans is a Black Folks Zone, so they're not interested if it sinks into the ocean... when a REAL city goes under then maybe Washington will take notice of what's going on. Two thirds of American States declared moderate to high drought levels this year, 40,000 (Forty Thousand) high temperature records were set around the country, and it's been drier and hotter than at any time since the Dust Bowl. Meanwhile East Coast cities are being flooded. Americans better sit up and take notice, and if they STILL can't be arsed then tough titties to the next American city that gets hit, I guess. Link to comment
minijc Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 I suspect that you could be correct but why are you so certain? What are the clues of it's photoshoppedness?There you go Rocket. http://www.buzzfeed.com/reyhan/viral-photos-that-arent-hurricane-sandy Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 1, 2012 Author Share Posted November 1, 2012 So... Frankenstorm. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g_iYTwPdkeY Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted November 1, 2012 Share Posted November 1, 2012 just got back from manhattan this morning. the place was apocalyptic, just as the lights went from about 40th street down at about 9 at night, we were in a pub on 38th and, the lights got turned off, turn the light switch off in your house style. funny ghostbusters pic, a boy said "cats and dogs, living together". hotel had lights in hall and lobby. no internal flights at newark so we were lucky. an escape from new york business trip. mental and sad. Link to comment