Jigot Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 A tad ironic coming from me I ken before anybody starts but it seems Dunfy are in a bad way with debts of Link to comment
RUL Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Big rumour is wages due tomorrow and they have no cash at all. Tried to move a game as they have no home game for 3 weeks but Falkirk said no. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Big rumour is wages due tomorrow and they have no cash at all. Tried to move a game as they have no home game for 3 weeks but Falkirk said no. The Falkirk fans will be loving that! Spending out with their means for years. I remember that clown Yorkston boasting on radio at how they could offer more money for Darren Young than we could, well what goes around... 2 Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 A tad ironic coming from me I ken before anybody starts but it seems Dunfy are in a bad way with debts of Link to comment
J4MRU Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 As much as I dislike Dunfermline, I don't want this happening. It's hurting the Scottish game, there are a number if teams reportedly lining up to drop like lead balloons. We all had a laugh at Rangers, just not happy with all the rest. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 As much as I dislike Dunfermline, I don't want this happening. It's hurting the Scottish game, there are a number if teams reportedly lining up to drop like lead balloons. We all had a laugh at Rangers, just not happy with all the rest. Aye, The Rangers and their sympathisers will say it's because of the unfair way they've been treated, but if the debt is Link to comment
Pudgie Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 This is great. Teams getting caught for their overspending. This could be the big cleanse that we needed. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Aye, The Rangers and their sympathisers will say it's because of the unfair way they've been treated, but if the debt is Link to comment
a don in oz Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Can they have dumped their debt in their parent company firewalling it from "the club" so it goes to the wall but the club remains intact just needing a new 'owner'? I don't know: I just know that financial games are spectacularly crooked at times so don't assume anything is impossible Link to comment
a don in oz Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 That is a ridiculous amount of money though for a club of Dunfermline's size to owe. Totally barmy. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Fair play on Yorkston saying no to the instant cash he would've gained by voting the filth into Division One in that case.Huns anywhere wouldn't make a hill of beans difference with that size of debt in that size of club in that league. Link to comment
RUL Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 If they just owe money to their parent company, could they just not go in admin. Surely their parent company would accept a CVA, as their nae going to be able to pay back their 32million either. Might as well keep one business alive.The parent company own the stadium...they themselves owe 35m so don't see bank approving 11m write off. Think the debt isn't really the issue, it's more they have no cash flow Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Struggling from the days when the stole the Youngs, had Crawford, Brewster, Wilson, Nicholson etc on big wages. I hope they get through it but you can't feel too sorry for these teams when we were playing Fergus Tiernan and signing Fabiano around this point. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Struggling from the days when the stole the Youngs, had Crawford, Brewster, Wilson, Nicholson etc on big wages. I hope they get through it but you can't feel too sorry for these teams when we were playing Fergus Tiernan and signing Fabiano around this point. Yet our debt is still higher than theirs. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Thats a shocking debt level if true. Difficult to believe in fact. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Don't get me wrong, in no way am I linking this to the demise of the huns *spit* but we've clearly been paying more than we can afford for 20 years, and I don't see any way we can clear our debt? 11m is a hell of a lot of Ryan Frasers to sell.By my reckoning it's about half a Ryan Fraser-sworth. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Thats a shocking debt level if true. Difficult to believe in fact. I'm with that. One season in SPL & their debt has spiraled that much? I'm not sure I believe those figures. But I can believe they are in trouble for sure Link to comment
Jigot Posted October 30, 2012 Author Share Posted October 30, 2012 Thats a shocking debt level if true. Difficult to believe in fact.Just reading up on it and the figure stated by a Dunfy fan was around Link to comment
Jigot Posted October 30, 2012 Author Share Posted October 30, 2012 Yes our debt has gotten way out of control but let's be honest here - it's not all been as a result of player wages. Of course we had donkeys over the years - Paul Bernard possibly being the most outrageous example - who were getting paid way over the top for what they were worth and whilst this was very poor football management, we have faced many other contributory reasons for our financial mess. Brown is actually the first half-decent football manager we've ever had under Milne but the damage over the previous decade and a half has wrecked our balance sheet. In particular, our costs-control has been non-existent and the absurd level of non-productive, non-football staff we've had on the payroll has ruined us. Even within the football operations budget, we've been employing "specialist coaches" e.g. Sandy Clark, Jim Leighton that we could ill afford for financial reasons alone let alone considering the value they add to AFC. Also within the football budget, a host of "scouts" have been draining resource and the biggest overhead of all, the Director of Football, Willie Miller, employed his mates in these cushty, almost immeasurable roles. The debt Milne delivered to us was not caused by chasing football success. Of this let us be totally clear.Some one once said that football is the easiest game in the world to play,yet the ones with money and who run it make it unfathomable to understand and fuck it up for the ones that matter,fuckin'us. Link to comment
Redstar Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 If Dunfermline are in financial collapse...It would surely be worth a phone call to see if we could take one of their higher earners ,Paul Gallacher, off their hands...would fit the bill to replace Fatty Broon and challenge (replace) the useless gype. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 Taking emotion out of it, the debt around the necks of SPL clubs is degrading the quality of the game. The game needs a reset, and I'd happily see every club in the country go to the wall, with a fresh start for new applicant clubs. And this time there needs to be some kind of sensible management and regulation of the clubs, so obviously anyone currently connected with the running of Scottish football would have a lifetime ban imposed on them from ever being involved in Scottish football again, in any executive role. The way Aberdeen is run we'll be looking at crippling debt from now until when our grandkids are retiring... assuming the club hasn't gone extinct by then anyway. Was it a couple of seasons ago there was an SPL manager who, quite candidly, said that his club couldn't compete with the wages paid by Conference clubs? Scottish football is Bush League in all but name, and there's no way of fixing it with the people in charge remaining in charge. And they're going nowhere. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 By my reckoning it's about half a Ryan Fraser-sworth. Your joke aside, it's shows the importance of having him signed up on a 2 and a half or 3 year deal...then sell him in 18 months for a seven figure amount...with add ons. Link to comment
K-9 Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 This is from 2 years ago - tells a lot about Pars debts and how they structured My link Link to comment
Redstar Posted November 1, 2012 Share Posted November 1, 2012 Players not paidGot to be worth a call to Gallacher's agent Link to comment
Jonty Posted November 1, 2012 Share Posted November 1, 2012 Easy to say as an Aberdeen fan looking in but would be better for them if Raith / Cowdenbeath / Dunfermline looked to merge to fom a United Fife Club? They would likely be a decent sized team who would maintain a place in the Premier league? Sell off the stadiums, pay off (most of) the collective debt, build a new stadium in Inverkeithing or somewhere and start again. Link to comment
RUL Posted November 1, 2012 Share Posted November 1, 2012 Easy to say as an Aberdeen fan looking in but would be better for them if Raith / Cowdenbeath / Dunfermline looked to merge to fom a United Fife Club? They would likely be a decent sized team who would maintain a place in the Premier league? Sell off the stadiums, pay off (most of) the collective debt, build a new stadium in Inverkeithing or somewhere and start again.Why don't the jute clubs at least share stadium? Link to comment