pozbaird Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 Hi guys, St Mirren fan here, but I come in peace! Just a wee footnote to today's game. Aberdeen's second goal today was the 200th goal scored at our new stadium. So, congratulations to Niall McGinn of Aberdeen. Kevin Kyle scored the first ever goal at our new midden for Killie, Francis Dickoh of Hibs scored the 100th, and with his goal today, Niall McGinn bagged No 200. Congratulations on a well deserved win today, and another superb travelling support through in Paisley. Best wishes for the rest of the season. 14 Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 Hi guys, St Mirren fan here, but I come in peace! Just a wee footnote to today's game. Aberdeen's second goal today was the 200th goal scored at our new stadium. So, congratulations to Niall McGinn of Aberdeen. Kevin Kyle scored the first ever goal at our new midden for Killie, Francis Dickoh of Hibs scored the 100th, and with his goal today, Niall McGinn bagged No 200. Congratulations on a well deserved win today, and another superb travelling support through in Paisley. Best wishes for the rest of the season. Maybe a Buddie will get the 250th or 300th ? 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 Hi guys, St Mirren fan here, but I come in peace! Just a wee footnote to today's game. Aberdeen's second goal today was the 200th goal scored at our new stadium. So, congratulations to Niall McGinn of Aberdeen. Kevin Kyle scored the first ever goal at our new midden for Killie, Francis Dickoh of Hibs scored the 100th, and with his goal today, Niall McGinn bagged No 200. Congratulations on a well deserved win today, and another superb travelling support through in Paisley. Best wishes for the rest of the season. Any thoughts on the Ryan Fraser incident? 1 1 Link to comment
pozbaird Posted November 10, 2012 Author Share Posted November 10, 2012 Any thoughts on the Ryan Fraser incident? I would agree with Craig Brown's assessment of the challenge in his Radio Scotland interview following the game. He insisted there was no malice in the challenge. Link to comment
Peterheid Loon Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 I would agree with Craig Brown's assessment of the challenge in his Radio Scotland interview following the game. He insisted there was no malice in the challenge. Was thinking more along the lines of why the St Mirren fans felt the need to boo Ryan Fraser? 1 1 Link to comment
pozbaird Posted November 10, 2012 Author Share Posted November 10, 2012 Was thinking more along the lines of why the St Mirren fans felt the need to boo Ryan Fraser? Was Ryan Fraser the player involved in the first half incident where our defender Marc McAusland was booked, and accused the Aberdeen player of diving? Maybe something to do with that. Christ knows - some of our fans were booing Ryan Fraser, the West Stand linesman, the referee, Russell Anderson, Danny Lennon, our team, our board.... I was too busy staring into the middle distance and pondering the merit of stopping on the way home for either an Indian or a Chinese. Frustration I guess - in regard to the booing. We're shit at the moment, and Danny Lennon is tactically clueless. I reckon you could have scored more than Celtic did against us, if you'd kept your foot on the gas. 1 Link to comment
Peterheid Loon Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 Was Ryan Fraser the player involved in the first half incident where our defender Marc McAusland was booked, and accused the Aberdeen player of diving? Maybe something to do with that. Christ knows - some of our fans were booing Ryan Fraser, the West Stand linesman, the referee, Russell Anderson, Danny Lennon, our team, our board.... I was too busy staring into the middle distance and pondering the merit of stopping on the way home for either an Indian or a Chinese. Frustration I guess - in regard to the booing. We're shit at the moment, and Danny Lennon is tactically clueless. I reckon you could have scored more than Celtic did against us, if you'd kept your foot on the gas. I've watched St Mirren twice this season as a nuetral away to Killie and away to Hibs last week and didn't think you were that bad. Last week was some terrible finishing and Killie away was becuase their keeper kept them in the game and made some decent saves. Was very impressed by Kenny McLean, i've been told Wolves are keeping a close eye on him. There was a representative from the club at the Hibs game last week as well. 1 1 Link to comment
RUL Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 To be honest it looked like Fraser dived to me, or slipped, certainly that's how the fans closest viewed it, hence the booing. I doubt bbc or anyone will ever let us see it so who knows? Link to comment
pozbaird Posted November 10, 2012 Author Share Posted November 10, 2012 To be honest it looked like Fraser dived to me, or slipped, certainly that's how the fans closest viewed it, hence the booing. I doubt bbc or anyone will ever let us see it so who knows? I haven't a clue if he dived or not. It was the opposite side of the park from my seat. McAusland indicated he had, but we see that in thousands of games. The McAusland tackle was near me, I'm convinced McAusland never went out 'to do him'. Absolutely not. There are two players in our team who could make you think 'maybe' - Goodwin and Imrie. Our centre back pairing of McAusland and Mair are soft as a babies first shite, and I don't think either of them are even remotely 'hard men' types. Again, applauds for your teams goals and result today. Well deserved, no complaints - you turned us over fair and square. 3 Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 Hi guys, St Mirren fan here, but I come in peace! Just a wee footnote to today's game. Aberdeen's second goal today was the 200th goal scored at our new stadium. So, congratulations to Niall McGinn of Aberdeen. Kevin Kyle scored the first ever goal at our new midden for Killie, Francis Dickoh of Hibs scored the 100th, and with his goal today, Niall McGinn bagged No 200. Congratulations on a well deserved win today, and another superb travelling support through in Paisley. Best wishes for the rest of the season.Fair play Sir. I think you're my new best buddie. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 Have a +1 you magnanimous weegie bastard. 1 Link to comment
pozbaird Posted November 10, 2012 Author Share Posted November 10, 2012 Have a +1 you magnanimous weegie bastard. Hey, less of the 'Weegie'! Born in Paisley! The 'bastard' bit is fine. No worries! Link to comment
STANDfreeSCOTTY Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 Have a +1 you magnanimous weegie bastard. HAHAHAHA, Thats the first thing thats made me properly laugh out loud on this site for a long time. Link to comment
DandyDon KD Posted November 10, 2012 Share Posted November 10, 2012 I haven't a clue if he dived or not. It was the opposite side of the park from my seat. McAusland indicated he had, but we see that in thousands of games. The McAusland tackle was near me, I'm convinced McAusland never went out 'to do him'. Absolutely not. There are two players in our team who could make you think 'maybe' - Goodwin and Imrie. Our centre back pairing of McAusland and Mair are soft as a babies first shite, and I don't think either of them are even remotely 'hard men' types. Again, applauds for your teams goals and result today. Well deserved, no complaints - you turned us over fair and square.I actually respect a buddie Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted November 11, 2012 Share Posted November 11, 2012 Hey, less of the 'Weegie'! Born in Paisley! The 'bastard' bit is fine. No worries!A ten half fae Glasgow counts as a weegie to us I'm afraid. Link to comment
pozbaird Posted November 11, 2012 Author Share Posted November 11, 2012 A ten half fae Glasgow counts as a weegie to us I'm afraid. I know, just the same as anyone from the Perth area is a welly boot wearing fermer', and anyone North of Perth is intimate with Dolly the sheep.... I take your banter square on the chin, no worries! I actually think I made a couple of posts years ago on an older Aberdeen forum - was it red ultras or redweb or something? Pretty sure it was following a midweek winter game not long after our new place opened, and in heavy snow and AA travel warnings, Aberdeen fans packed out the away stand. It remains the best away support I've seen at our new place since it opened in January 2009. I post a lot on Pie & Bovril, and have mentioned that game in regard to the great away support several times. Hand on heart, I have a soft spot for Aberdeen, and for Hibs (for some unknown reason!). In Aberdeen's case it is easy to explain. I was a teenager standing on Love Street's terraces when Alex Ferguson provided us with our greatest ever team - with Tony Fitzpatrick, Billy Stark, and Frank McGarvey and a team full of genuine quality around them. Then he went to Aberdeen and I was gutted. What he achieved at Aberdeen he might, just might, have been able to do at St Mirren. He certainly had the talent on the field to do it. I took a keen interest in his progress, and enjoyed seeing Aberdeen get it right up the Old Firm. Another reason I still like Aberdeen is the history of genuinely talented players who went between our two clubs... Billy Stark, Frank MacDougall, Ian Scanlon, Peter Weir, John Hewitt... That was my era, and I like to see Aberdeen do well - but humping us 4-1 at home shouldn't be in the script, that's no' fair. In fact, forget what I've said... get it up ye! Booo! 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted November 11, 2012 Share Posted November 11, 2012 I know, just the same as anyone from the Perth area is a welly boot wearing fermer', and anyone North of Perth is intimate with Dolly the sheep.... I take your banter square on the chin, no worries! I actually think I made a couple of posts years ago on an older Aberdeen forum - was it red ultras or redweb or something? Pretty sure it was following a midweek winter game not long after our new place opened, and in heavy snow and AA travel warnings, Aberdeen fans packed out the away stand. It remains the best away support I've seen at our new place since it opened in January 2009. I post a lot on Pie & Bovril, and have mentioned that game in regard to the great away support several times. Hand on heart, I have a soft spot for Aberdeen, and for Hibs (for some unknown reason!). In Aberdeen's case it is easy to explain. I was a teenager standing on Love Street's terraces when Alex Ferguson provided us with our greatest ever team - with Tony Fitzpatrick, Billy Stark, and Frank McGarvey and a team full of genuine quality around them. Then he went to Aberdeen and I was gutted. What he achieved at Aberdeen he might, just might, have been able to do at St Mirren. He certainly had the talent on the field to do it. I took a keen interest in his progress, and enjoyed seeing Aberdeen get it right up the Old Firm. Another reason I still like Aberdeen is the history of genuinely talented players who went between our two clubs... Billy Stark, Frank MacDougall, Ian Scanlon, Peter Weir, John Hewitt... That was my era, and I like to see Aberdeen do well - but humping us 4-1 at home shouldn't be in the script, that's no' fair. In fact, forget what I've said... get it up ye! Booo!Ah. You are one of the dudes on there that holds the boot firmly into the fanny of the sevco newhun freaks.Kudos for this alone.I also have a soft spot for the town of pattern.Best band in the world come from there. 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted November 11, 2012 Share Posted November 11, 2012 Aberdeen get it right up the Old Firm. Another reason I still like Aberdeen is the history of genuinely talented players who went between our two clubs... Billy Stark, Frank MacDougall, Ian Scanlon, Peter Weir, John Hewitt... Man, you are gonna feel pretty stupid when you realise you've missed out Ricky Gillies Link to comment
paddy Posted November 11, 2012 Share Posted November 11, 2012 Man, you are gonna feel pretty stupid when you realise you've missed out Ricky Gillies Best 1 Link to comment
pozbaird Posted November 11, 2012 Author Share Posted November 11, 2012 Man, you are gonna feel pretty stupid when you realise you've missed out Ricky Gillies My goodness, I missed Lee Mair too. To be fair to Ricky Gillies, he was a long-serving and popular player at St Mirren, obviously less popular at Aberdeen. Undoubtably talented, something just not there in his make up. He wasn't a lazy player, just not tough enough or mentally motivated enough? Who knows. Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted November 11, 2012 Share Posted November 11, 2012 Thank fuck he never mentioned David "the tortoise" Winnie. Fuck me I still have nightmares about him at left back! Link to comment
OddJob Posted November 11, 2012 Share Posted November 11, 2012 Thank fuck he never mentioned David "the tortoise" Winnie. Fuck me I still have nightmares about him at left back!Well you've just reminded us about him there Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted November 11, 2012 Share Posted November 11, 2012 Iain Cameron. Didn't do that well for us really, but scored a cracking goal at Hampden to dump timothy out of the League Cup at the semi-stage. Link to comment
OddJob Posted November 11, 2012 Share Posted November 11, 2012 Iain Cameron. Didn't do that well for us really, but scored a cracking goal at Hampden to dump timothy out of the League Cup at the semi-stage. Aye he was pretty shite like but that was an amazing goal and put us in our 3rd consecutive league cup final against the cunts Link to comment