Texas Dandy Posted November 20, 2012 Share Posted November 20, 2012 Alright folks, I'm moving house in a few weeks and looking to get an independent sky installer to wall mount 2 tv's (hidden cables etc) and transfer my sky to the new abode. Don't want sky to do it as they just go for the quick and rough approach! Any recommendations of AV installers in and around Aberdeen? Cheers! Link to comment
jassb Posted November 20, 2012 Share Posted November 20, 2012 Booths in Inverurie maybe? http://www.boothforbetterservice.co.uk/aerial.html Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 20, 2012 Share Posted November 20, 2012 ask tup. hes got the full sky job, sports package and everything, with 89 inch wall mounted surround sound dolby b comets own brand tv. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted November 20, 2012 Share Posted November 20, 2012 Don't don't don't don't don't don't don't get Campbell and Kennedy. Weegie cowboys. Absolute cunts to deal with. I cannot stress enough how much you should not use them. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Do the TV's yersel, it aint hard. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Don't put them on the wall. Looks rubbish. However, when I needed the aerial sorted in my old flat Ollie from here recommended someone - Billy "Bubbles" Ross I think was his name. Do a search and you should get his details, I don't know what I've done with them. He did a grand job and was football daft so loved a chat about the Dons. EDIT: No idea if he does the whole installation thing with patching up the walls, maybe not. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Alright folks, I'm moving house in a few weeks and looking to get an independent sky installer to wall mount 2 tv's (hidden cables etc) and transfer my sky to the new abode. Don't want sky to do it as they just go for the quick and rough approach! Any recommendations of AV installers in and around Aberdeen? Cheers! Is it an old house or a newbuild? I ask as I'd a cunt of a job getting my telly mounted as it's lathe and plaster walls and my mate who is a TV engineer refused to mount it as he thought it would fall off. Joists on those type of walls are smaller than they make these days as well so he was within his rights to bottle out of it. Said if it fell off I'd blame him for it. I ended up getting him to hold the backing board in place while I secured it with coach bolts. It's solid as a rock. Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Campbell and Kennedy will do it. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Putting yer tv on the wall is soooooo 2009. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Putting yer tv on the wall is soooooo 2009.Saves a lot of space though. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Campbell and Kennedy will do it.I've been told they are the bast and their weegie banter is superb. Link to comment
boboisared Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Don't don't don't don't don't don't don't get Campbell and Kennedy. Weegie cowboys. Absolute cunts to deal with. I cannot stress enough how much you should not use them.I actually haven't sorted my SKY home move yet (moved in July) as I was able to buy an aerial to connect it so I can still watch tv. Got in touch with Sky about getting the full lot done (so I can Sky+ etc) and they put me through to them. Wasn't sure if I'd have to pay as they're from Glasgow so never got it done. I'm still in my one year contract with Sky, does anyone know if the home move using Campbell and Kennedy would be free as I don't really trust asking them over the phone?! Cheers Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Putting yer tv on the wall is soooooo 2009. a minks optimum ratio for room size to tv size is 1.5:1 Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 a minks optimum ratio for room size to tv size is 1.5:1 Didna ken ye were good wi a tape measure bloots Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Didna ken ye were good wi a tape measure bloots gadgets and electronic good arent really my thing byen. my money go to better use. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 my money go to better use. Aye, like being pished up a wall Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 I actually haven't sorted my SKY home move yet (moved in July) as I was able to buy an aerial to connect it so I can still watch tv. Got in touch with Sky about getting the full lot done (so I can Sky+ etc) and they put me through to them. Wasn't sure if I'd have to pay as they're from Glasgow so never got it done. I'm still in my one year contract with Sky, does anyone know if the home move using Campbell and Kennedy would be free as I don't really trust asking them over the phone?! Cheers No. Sorry. Link to comment
slippers Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 I'm wanting my tv's on the wall aswell when I move in but I'm not sure If i can do it as the wall in question will have a wood burning stove underneath it. Obviously wouldn't like my tv too melt! Will depend how far the burner is situated out from the wall I guess! Hoped if I put a shelf above the burner it will shield the heat from where the TV will hang! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 I'm wanting my tv's on the wall aswell when I move in but I'm not sure If i can do it as the wall in question will have a wood burning stove underneath it. Obviously wouldn't like my tv too melt! Will depend how far the burner is situated out from the wall I guess! Hoped if I put a shelf above the burner it will shield the heat from where the TV will hang! I'd keep it on it's stand if I were you. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Don't you get a sore neck from wall mounted TVs?Never done it but I see the appeal re: space. I'd get rid of my TV If I could. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 Don't you get a sore neck from wall mounted TVs?Never done it but I see the appeal re: space. I'd get rid of my TV If I could. Only if you put it too high up the wall or have your sofa in a stupid location. Link to comment
slippers Posted November 21, 2012 Share Posted November 21, 2012 I'd keep it on it's stand if I were you.tv stand is cheap and nasty, at very least id be buying a nice tv unit or something for it too sit on. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 tv stand is cheap and nasty, at very least id be buying a nice tv unit or something for it too sit on. If you buy a cheap and nasty one then yes it is. Link to comment
urbanprotection Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Centre of screen should be no more than 15 degrees above or below eye level from your favourite seat.Would recommend an articulated arm so you can tilt and swivel the screen.Give consideration to where you are putting your SKY box and or console.Cable management columns with shelving options can look good.Vogels and Chief websites will give you some ideas. Link to comment
Iraq_Red Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Booths might not do it if they're not supplying the kit, a lot of them are like that! I would thoroughly recommend Alan at Activision in Aberdeen, he put my TV on the wall in my bedroom as was very professional, clean & tidy, I liked his attention to detail. (http://www.activisionabn.com/) Link to comment
K-9 Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Don't you get a sore neck from wall mounted TVs?Never done it but I see the appeal re: space. I'd get rid of my TV If I could.Why can't you? I will have it if you don't want it Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Why can't you? I will have it if you don't want it Cos some tosspot likes to play call of duty on it. Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Cos some tosspot likes to play call of duty on it. Just tell him Kaino needs a telly. Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Just tell him Kaino needs a telly. Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever. It's not a 'man' TV though. It's only 27 inches. Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 It's not a 'man' TV though. It's only 27 inches. Ah well, the bairn can keep it. :-) Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever. Link to comment