K-9 Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 Might have to cut our losses with PP and just let his contract run out. Would have to offer him new deal on at least same terms if we want to get any compo though but do we want to stick with seriously injury hampered player who has failed to progress (whether because of injuries or not). Tough one. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted December 17, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted December 17, 2012 Might have to cut our losses with PP and just let his contract run out. Would have to offer him new deal on at least same terms if we want to get any compo though but do we want to stick with seriously injury hampered player who has failed to progress (whether because of injuries or not). Tough one. He is our player just now. If fit bring him back. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 He is our player just now. If fit bring him back. "If" and "fit" - words most commonly used about Pawlett unfortunately."Injured" is another.A pity, as I had high hopes for him a few years back - I remember a game at Pittodrie where he tore Sasa Papac a new arsehole for an hour.....before going off injured!! Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 this is where jimmy said would be his best position ffs , here we go, inability to finish would suggest it isnt Link to comment
Liam Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 this is where jimmy said would be his best position yet never played him there Link to comment
tup Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 St Johnstone is his level, I'm pleased he's doing OK, but we canna carry passengers and we should look to cut a deal with them now. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 Is it unwise to not bring him back though.We're weak through the middle now McGinn has been shifted to the wing. Fallon is shite, Vernon is doing his best to be as ineffective as possible and Cammy Smith & Dec McManus aren't ready yet we'd have to assume. Pawlett, if he can stay fit could be deployed on the wing.Freeing up McGinn again. Big if though for Pawlett.I've stated before that I don't think he's going to make it due to injuries. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 Peter Pawlett is our best player. Link to comment
ferlaytio Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 Peter Pawlett is our best player. Not far from it. Can't believe all the PP haters on here. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted December 17, 2012 Share Posted December 17, 2012 would love him to produce it every game BUT based on his career to date we could do worse than swap him for one of st johnstones dependable players...mackay, davidson and few others who are out of contract anyway they may be persuaded to part with 1 Link to comment
Henry Posted December 18, 2012 Share Posted December 18, 2012 would love him to produce it every game BUT based on his career to date we could do worse than swap him for one of st johnstones dependable players...mackay, davidson and few others who are out of contract anyway they may be persuaded to part with The rangers were linked with signing him on a pre-contract this January on the back of a paper I saw yesterday. Well, not really signing him as they can't, but coming to an agreement for him to sign 1st September. Which shows this 'transfer ban' up for the farce it is. Ryan Fraser mentioned in the same article. Link to comment
RUL Posted December 18, 2012 Share Posted December 18, 2012 Don't know how pawlett failed to score Saturday, did he play full 90? Link to comment
Roo Posted December 18, 2012 Share Posted December 18, 2012 Not far from it. Can't believe all the PP haters on here. I think it's more because of unfulfilled promise - he definitely was a prospect, and if we could keep him injury free then I'd be happy to keep the lad. He's an exciting one to watch. But you can't count on him to keep a consistent run of games going and establishing himself, and for that reason he has to be let go I'm afraid (albeit, I'd do so with a heavy heart) Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted December 18, 2012 Share Posted December 18, 2012 I hope Pawlett comes back, stay's injury free, gets a good consistent run of games under his belt, makes us say Ryan Fraser who and proves me wrong. Nae going to happen though I don't think Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 18, 2012 Share Posted December 18, 2012 There's definitely a player in there. Last chance saloon though. Link to comment
dervish Posted December 18, 2012 Share Posted December 18, 2012 I was a bit peeved when he sounded like he just wanted to stay there but guy just wants games. Can't really fault him for that and he is good enough if he's fit enough I reckon. Constant hammy injuries never a good sign though. Link to comment
Aberdeen_Fan Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 See pawlett has been recalled from his loan at st Johnstone. Surely this is now his time to shine for us and prove what he can do. Assuming he can stay injury free for a change! Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 See pawlett has been recalled from his loan at st Johnstone. Surely this is now his time to shine for us and prove what he can do. Assuming he can stay injury free for a change! Didn't take him for much of a drinker Link to comment
paddy Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 KitKat legs will be injured by the end of February. Link to comment
boboisared Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 KitKat legs will be injured by the end of February.Can you keep that to the Osbourne thread please? 1 Link to comment
paddy Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 Can you keep that to the Osbourne thread please? Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 See pawlett has been recalled from his loan at st Johnstone. Surely this is now his time to shine for us and prove what he can do. Assuming he can stay injury free for a change! He's not got it in my opinion.I had high hopes 3 years ago.He's gone backwards.Just squad filling until his release in the summer Link to comment
Liam Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 High hopes for him. One of my favourite players ive seen play for Aberdeen, he has sheer quality. Only downside is we rarely see it due to injury. A fit Peter Pawlett will pish all over Ryan Fraser 1 Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 hs not got it? he HAS got it, but his bodys letting him down pace, football brain, direct and nasty...i like him You must have been watching a different player to the rest of us, especially the nasty comment. He is yet another youngster we have produced that neither seems to have the mental , emotional or physical fortitude to flourish. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 His muscles are made of spaghetti. Looked a good prospect but I fear this will be another "like a new signing" who sits on the bench or in the physios room as he is never fully fit. Link to comment
Redstar Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 we've had this argument before pawlett IS nastyIn the same way as a Capri is some folk Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 we've had this argument before pawlett IS nasty Nah, he is fucking shite Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 Seems simple enough. Get the lad back and give him to the end of the season to prove his fitness and ability. Otherwise let him go. 1 Link to comment
dervish Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 Seems simple enough. Get the lad back and give him to the end of the season to prove his fitness and ability. Otherwise let him go. Exactly. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 Seems simple enough. Get the lad back and give him to the end of the season to prove his fitness and ability. Otherwise let him go. Not sure we are in a position to allow players to "prove fitness and ability" at this stage of the season Link to comment