Well that was an end to end game that's for sure. Out of the blocks quick as fuck and an early goal looked to have us on easy street as Utd never caused us much trouble and then an outrageous decision to award them a free-kick for a clash of heads and we lose a soft goal and after that we looked totally lost.

And then up step Mr James Langfield for another howler to add to his collection :suicide:

Utd finished the 1st half stronger and tbh if it wasn't for some horrible 1st touched from Russell they'd have looked comfortable going in at the break. Luckily for us we got our act together in the 2nd half and what else can i say about McGinn's free-kick that probably has already been said. Just utterly amazing finish.

I thought there weren't many players who were poor today and tbh i thought Vernon played well today, certainly looked more composed on the ball and took his goal well, but for me our best player was Shaugnessey. The lad has been terrific recently and isn't scared to go forward which is refreshing to see.

Overall i would probably have to say a draw was a fair result but we'll always be looking back at yet another Clangers fuck up

outfield though reynolds and rae were both poor first half and tend to agree about hayes to an extent, going forward dundee united bypass midfield, when we had the ball they just harrassed like mad, hayes often wasnt helped by having three around him regularly

Neitehr Reynolds or Anderson look good running towards goal - so a ball over the top for midfielder to run onto is always going to cause us problems and so it did

Flood basically ran the last 20 of the first half, as soon as he disappeared form the game we came back into it

Alan Muir is NOT a grade 1 ref, he was the ar$e who messed up the mid week game so badly he took a sickie at half time, considering how the press and spl like to bill this game we should be expecting a far better referee than that idiot

the only just in thoughts is mcginns free kick was a belter and all 21 other players could not have done worse than langfield at his own goal, we can exaggerate at saying all 13,000 fans wouldnt have done worse but we dont know that for sure unlike the players who would all have done better

just back from the game and it's one we should have won. couldn't believe how trully horrendous jon daly is at the back for them and that other bumbling carthorse beside him. unbelievably bad. the defence was solid enough at the back, rarely troubled although anderson's distribution was atrocious. i thought gavin rae was pretty poor and didn't contribute much, certainly wasn't one of his better days. plenty endeavour from vernon who took his goal well. fraser, smith and hayes looked up for it but i'd of liked the latter to have been more direct. mcginn played well and scored a screamer and also went close when he hit the post after running rings round the inept chocolates playing at the back for them.

finally if it wasn't for the absolute prick in goals for us we'd of won regardless. he nailed a pap on impression of a tourette's sufferer on m.d.m.a at the 1s't goal and a 58 year auld wifie with cataracts and empty crisp bags for hands for the 2nd. a seriously disgusting mess of a goalkeeper, who's surely cemented himself now as the worst goalkeeper in the history of the sport. absolute fucking chocolate.

outfield though reynolds and rae were both poor first half and tend to agree about hayes to an extent, going forward dundee united bypass midfield, when we had the ball they just harrassed like mad, hayes often wasnt helped by having three around him regularly

Neitehr Reynolds or Anderson look good running towards goal - so a ball over the top for midfielder to run onto is always going to cause us problems and so it did

Flood basically ran the last 20 of the first half, as soon as he disappeared form the game we came back into it

Alan Muir is NOT a grade 1 ref, he was the ar$e who messed up the mid week game so badly he took a sickie at half time, considering how the press and spl like to bill this game we should be expecting a far better referee than that idiot

The decision to award Utd a goal-kick when the entire ground could see it was a blatant corner typified this jokers performance today.

You're right about Flood and i also think the guy Armstrong is a bloody good player for them too, every move for them seemed to go through that 2 players

Two points lost today down to that cu*t Langfield...Good to see Fraser back in the team...Just a pity Broon telegraphed that he was happy with the draw by subbing Fraser with the useless Hughes...An attack minded Manager would have thrown Magennis on and pushed Vernon up front for the final 10...If Broon doesn't get the goalkeeping situation sported I think scraping into the top 6 is all we can hope for.

we will not achieve anything with langfield in goals. the only time i heard the arab fans all game was when they piped up singing langfield's name. he is a laughing stock and has been for years and although i didn't think it was possible, he is getting worse.

I thought there weren't many players who were poor today and tbh i thought Vernon played well today, certainly looked more composed on the ball and took his goal well, but for me our best player was Shaugnessey. The lad has been terrific recently and isn't scared to go forward which is refreshing to see.

Agreed, Shaunessey was tremendous, surely he'll get a Scotland call up soon!

finally if it wasn't for the absolute prick in goals for us we'd of won regardless. he nailed a pap on impression of a tourette's sufferer on m.d.m.a at the 1s't goal and a 58 year auld wifie with cataracts and empty crisp bags for hands for the 2nd.

Rae was pretty crap I thought, kept giving the ball away. Anderson's distribution was awful.

Vernon had a decent shift and took his goal well.

Fraser, smith and hayes were good, kept hassling the defence.

McGinn, great freekick. Almost added another after vernons goal when he hit the bar after turning the dundee united CB's inside-out. We are so lucky to have him.

Robertson was OK. Im not going to judge him too much as he is a young lad. Only thing I'd say is that he rarely takes any chances.

Shaughnessy going to be an excellent player for us. I love how he pushes forward, very attack minded.

Langfield. What can I say what hasnt been said already over the years? The fact the jutes were chanting his name just shows what a joke of a keeper he is. :clangers2:

Quick thoughts

Langfield had a standard United performance

Robertson was shaky at times but impressive at others. Anderson and Reynolds weren't at their best. Shaughnessy looked brilliant... Nothing gets past him in the air and likes to get forward. Glad he's tied down

Rae was alright - think he'll profit from the break. Vernon was ok this time and got himself a goal (he'd usually balloon that kind of chance over the bar). Cammy Smith was ace, possibly MOTM. All over the park. McGinn brilliant, Hayes good in patches and Fraser likewise.

Thought we should have brought on Magennis as only 1 team wanted it in the 2nd half

Flood was dominating the game for a spell in the 1st half. He was irritatingly good. Uniteds defense looked shite but midfield and attack were alright. They'll do we'll when Mackay Steven is back and Daly is upfront.

the only just in thoughts is mcginns free kick was a belter and all 21 other players could not have done worse than langfield at his own goal, we can exaggerate at saying all 13,000 fans wouldnt have done worse but we dont know that for sure unlike the players who would all have done better

I used to play in goals doon at the fieldy. Took a turn, like ye had ti'. Quite enjoyed it really.

Must have done that maist nights for 5 or 6 years.

Never did I show utter incompetence on the scale that ball bag did yesterday.

Canna mind ever letting onthing remotely as tame as that squirm through my hands.

Never mind my legs as well...

just back from the game and it's one we should have won. couldn't believe how trully horrendous jon daly is at the back for them and that other bumbling carthorse beside him. unbelievably bad. the defence was solid enough at the back, rarely troubled although anderson's distribution was atrocious. i thought gavin rae was pretty poor and didn't contribute much, certainly wasn't one of his better days. plenty endeavour from vernon who took his goal well. fraser, smith and hayes looked up for it but i'd of liked the latter to have been more direct. mcginn played well and scored a screamer and also went close when he hit the post after running rings round the inept chocolates playing at the back for them.

finally if it wasn't for the absolute prick in goals for us we'd of won regardless. he nailed a pap on impression of a tourette's sufferer on m.d.m.a at the 1s't goal and a 58 year auld wifie with cataracts and empty crisp bags for hands for the 2nd. a seriously disgusting mess of a goalkeeper, who's surely cemented himself now as the worst goalkeeper in the history of the sport. absolute fucking chocolate.

Crisp bags for hands. :clangers2:

Quick thoughts

Langfield had a standard United performance

Robertson was shaky at times but impressive at others. Anderson and Reynolds weren't at their best. Shaughnessy looked brilliant... Nothing gets past him in the air and likes to get forward. Glad he's tied down

Rae was alright - think he'll profit from the break. Vernon was ok this time and got himself a goal (he'd usually balloon that kind of chance over the bar). Cammy Smith was ace, possibly MOTM. All over the park. McGinn brilliant, Hayes good in patches and Fraser likewise.

Thought we should have brought on Magennis as only 1 team wanted it in the 2nd half

Flood was dominating the game for a spell in the 1st half. He was irritatingly good. Uniteds defense looked shite but midfield and attack were alright. They'll do we'll when Mackay Steven is back and Daly is upfront.

Thought he did well yesterday too, but still a bit erratic.

That's nae a criticism, given his age.

Sometimes maybe just too enthusiastic, and that let's the ball get away from him on his first touch.

Eager as fuck. Hassled their defence nae end.

you wont win games by giving away the goals we did, they werent in the game for 20 minutes at the start and most of the 2nd half, and we were taking them apart, we were unlucky not to win, looked like we had the most % of the ball, played some great football at times.

2 weeks to get some mor eplayers back.

onwards and upwards

Wasnt the missing players that were the problem.

Its the ones the ARNT missing we are having the same old problems with!

Didn't get round to it yesterday:

Good game of football, could have easily won it but at the same time could have easily lost it. Howler from Langfield and cracking free kick from McGinn. Brown got the subs wrong again. Magennis definitely should have come on for the last 10-20 and had a go at their ropey defence. Would have liked to have seen Hughes OR Milsom get 15 minutes or so.

Langfield - Poor. Howler of a goal to conceed

Robertson - Good and bad. Certainly seemed to grow into the game. Played well second half

Anderson - Not his best game, or his worst. Hopefully the rest will do him good.

Reynolds - Saved us a couple of time with his pace but needs to stop punting high balls to Fraser/Hayes/McGinn. Don't like players doing it but at least we might have a chance with Fallon/Vernon/Magennis up top.

Shaughnessy - One of this seasons highlights for me. Played in various positions and performed well in just about every game. Wasn't at Motherwell but all players will have an off games, particularly younger ones. Loves a strong challenge, plenty of energy and not scared to push up the pitch. Looking forward to seeing what he can do in his natural position after a run of games.

Rae - Similar to Anderson not his best game. Again the amount of games at his age won't be helping and the break will hopefully do him good.

Vernon - Starting to look a bit better than most of the season. Been a poor season for him. Starting to look more comfortable in the middle in the last 2 games. Took the goal well and kept/moved the ball better than other games.

Smith - Been hot and cold this season, as is natural for a young player. Has been very good in the last 2 games and seems to pop up everywhere. Needs to work a bit on control as first touch was often a bit of a tackle.

Hayes - For me a very frustrating player. No doubt he has fantastic ability and can drift past numerous players. I'd like to see him take on players more often and run at them. Often seems to stop. Can sometimes be a little selfish with the ball. One of the most exciting players we have though.

Fraser - Thought he was poor. Showed flashes of what he can do but didn't seem to want to push himself too much. Wasn't helped by high balls from the back.

McGinn - Played well. Can't expect any player to consistantly have excellent games like Saturday. Took the free kick well and think again the break might do him some good. Hasn't played weekly/twice weekly for some time now.

Hughes - Not his fault but I felt it was a bizzare substitution. Didn't have much time to take control of the midfield.

Milsom - Waste of time brining him on

Both Smith and esp Fraser were cramping up so had to be taken off. Mcginn also looked to be struggling and I was just waiting for a hamstring to go. Neither Hughes nor Milsom were intended as game changers, rather pa Broon didn't seem to want to weaken the midfield in any way to lose his precious point. A lot is being made of the long balls which were undoubtedly delivered poorly but that defence needed turning with a runner like Mcgennis to inflict damage. Utd were deliberately crowding out the midfield, partly to avoid the pressure going onto their defence and clearly it worked apart from the opening 15.

How much did I wish for Mcginn to square it across the box in maybe the last minute or so with Milsom darting against a knackered defender. Disappointingly he couldnt get the cross in as it turned out and on 15 goals I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Shame as it would have set Milsom, and the team, up nicely for the break.

I think we're going to struggle with Anderson and Reynolds at CB. Good news that Jack will be back soon though, great player.

I share your concerns about that central defensive partnership. Anderson particularly has looked ropey as fuck in his second spell. If it wasn't for his outstanding first spell at the club, he'd be getting hounded. I'd like to see us bring in a CB on loan to cover Considine injury. Otherwise, both CBs will know that blunders and poor performances will not cost them their place. Same goes for the goalkeeping position. Either put Brown in for Caley game or replace him with another keeper you trust. Either way, Clangers should be left out.

Return of Naysmith and Osbourne will be pivotal for the season. Other natural left back Robertson is gash and midfield lacks bite and energy without Ozzy.

I think we're going to struggle with Anderson and Reynolds at CB. Good news that Jack will be back soon though, great player.

I tend to agree.

I'm think we're going to miss Considine.

Anderson said in the post match interview that the break is coming at the right time for him.

Age is catching up with him I'm afraid.

Still vital for us now that Considine is out.

I tend to agree.

I'm think we're going to miss Considine.

Anderson said in the post match interview that the break is coming at the right time for him.

Age is catching up with him I'm afraid.

Still vital for us now that Considine is out.

KSL......shoosh with the chat about Anderson....close to heresy for some on here.

But you are right. In an ideal world, he wouldn't be used in every game between now and May

KSL......shoosh with the chat about Anderson....close to heresy for some on here.

But you are right. In an ideal world, he wouldn't be used in every game between now and May

Maybe we could explore the crazy possibility of using Shaughnessy in his natural position once we have some midfielders back... Nah it's not likely.

I think Saughnessy may well be utilised alongside Reynolds once the likes if Naysmith, Jack and the midfielders are back.

Anderson, is unfortunately, and he will admit this, is struggling.

His game time needs to be managed, but such is the injury situation it's nae going to happen.

Anderson can still contribute a lot to this club, next season as well.

He just needs a breather now and again.

I think Saughnessy may well be utilised alongside Reynolds once the likes if Naysmith, Jack and the midfielders are back.

Anderson, is unfortunately, and he will admit this, is struggling.

His game time needs to be managed, but such is the injury situation it's nae going to happen.

Anderson can still contribute a lot to this club, next season as well.

He just needs a breather now and again.

Good post.

He has admitted on the website today that he's pleased to get a break as his hammy was starting to play up a bit.