Geoff_Tipps Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 I have banked with Clydesdale for all of my life although I have had it with them after a recent issue. Basically £250 was taken from my account through an ATM in Cumnock, I stay in Aberdeen. I called to cancel cards etc. and find out what the feck was going on they guy in the fraud squad told me that there is absolutely no way the money could be taken unless they had my card and pin, I explained the card has been in my possession all the time and he then said it must have been me!! Raging. I called the police and marched into the branch and after being there a couple of hours, they finally discovered it was a administration error. So basically someone took money out using their bank card but it debited my account! Still waiting for the money to be returned! Clydesdale have now lost all my trust and looking to move banks. Which bank would people recommend? Link to comment
zander Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Bank of Scotland. Have the ultimate reward card Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Good for you on moving. It's such a hassle though. I'm with LloydsTsb, no hassle to report on. I just have a bog standard account. Link to comment
RUL Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 If your not with BOS they are launching a promotion where by you get Link to comment
fatshaft Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Nationwide - no charges, and free overdraft as long as you stay within the authorised limit. Only branch is Union St which is a pain in the erse tho, but free withdrawals from any cash machine, including abroad. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Many years ago eh got my bank statement from Lloyds showing a credit card that was completely unknown to me. Eh called them up, all pleasant, saying something must be wrong, can ye investigate please. Cue a snotty English cunt saying that all was legit and that eh must have "forgotten" setting up my new credit card. This got me raging, and when passed on to the call centre supervisor eh got the same spiel. No fault of theirs, must be me that is an idiot etc etc. No matter what eh said, pointing out that it may be identity theft, fraud or whatever, they refused to change their position. They said the details given by the person who had set up the card matched mine, so it must have been me. Luckily there was no outstanding balance, so eh said, ok, close the card. They were happy to do this, but being drones that read fae the screen they then had the audacity to ask me why eh no longer needed the card! Needless to say, Lloyds is no longer my hidden UK bank account provider of choice. Link to comment
RUL Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Don't suppose you had opened up a loan with them around the same time Byen or another financial product? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Don't suppose you had opened up a loan with them around the same time Byen or another financial product? Nope, had a current account for about 10 years afore then that my pay went in to, that's it. Link to comment
RUL Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Nope, had a current account for about 10 years afore then that my pay went in to, that's it.Very strange, doesn't sound like they were bothered about investigating it! Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Im with RBS, they have been excellent, twice my details have been nabbed online and twice they have caught it before any serious money was taken. Been with them all my life and have to say the service is the best i have found (also have accounts with LTSB & HBOS) Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 hsbc The overseas resident's bank of choice Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 The overseas resident's bank of choice indeed. a proper bank for proper people. nae like the local parocial bos clydsedale types Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 RBS are cowboys. I'm with BOS, never had any problems. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 in 2003 when i first went abroad with work b.o.s. were unable to give me a card that would work outside of the UK.so i had to open a new account with another bank, hsbc, that did joke bank. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 in 2003 when i first went abroad with work b.o.s. were unable to give me a card that would work outside of the UK. On a slight tangent, eh tried to book UK train tickets online fae over here with my Norwegian card. It took all the details, debited (or at least made the amount inaccessible in my bank account) and then telt me to fuck off. Had to wait a week for the money to be available again, Talked to someone at First Great Train Delay or whatever they were called, and it seems none of the train systems take foreign cards. Good for tourism! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 its unbelievable how short sighted some companioes can be. t mobile would not issue me a new sim card for my UK number, or at least not post one to my home in holland cause its outside the uk. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Nationwide - no charges, and free overdraft as long as you stay within the authorised limit. Only branch is Union St which is a pain in the erse tho, but free withdrawals from any cash machine, including abroad.+ free travel insurance as well (frogot that bity ) Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 On a slight tangent, eh tried to book UK train tickets online fae over here with my Norwegian card. It took all the details, debited (or at least made the amount inaccessible in my bank account) and then telt me to fuck off. Had to wait a week for the money to be available again, Talked to someone at First Great Train Delay or whatever they were called, and it seems none of the train systems take foreign cards. Good for tourism! Just encourages foreign folk to pay at the station, making it twice as expensive. Cunts. I'm with RBS, never really had a problem with them. Though the bastards have decided to stop the 25% off gig tickets with the Royalties account. Link to comment
Roo Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Lloyds here - realise that there are probably better banks out there (I realise I'm not getting the best out of my savings there), but I've always had decent customer service from them and I really cannot be hooped with the hassle of changing banks Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Just encourages foreign folk to pay at the station, making it twice as expensive. Cunts. What pissed me off was there was no "Fare at the station" info. Eh tried to buy the ticket at Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Lloyds here - realise that there are probably better banks out there (I realise I'm not getting the best out of my savings there), but I've always had decent customer service from them and I really cannot be hooped with the hassle of changing banks Their closing an account procedure is a joke. You can't close it via email or over the phone, which is fair enough. You need to go to your home branch and close it in person. When eh said that it was over 500 mile away and there was no way in hell that would work, they said just send a letter detailing that you wanted to close the account and where you wanted the remaining funds to go. That actually worked Link to comment
Henry Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Good for you on moving. It's such a hassle though. I'm with LloydsTsb, no hassle to report on. I just have a bog standard account. I moved my current account to RBS last year from Santander, surprisingly little hassle. Sign a few forms and leave them to it. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 BoS, Nationwide and Nordlandsbanken in Norway no problems with any of them ! Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 BoS, Nationwide and Nordlandsbanken in Norway no problems with any of them ! Where the fuck do you bide when over here? Link to comment
DandyDon KD Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 The next question will be "what is your bank details" Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 The next question will be "what is your bank details" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EELTFdYcKYI Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Where the fuck do you bide when over here?Live in Aberdeenshire but have worked in Norway for years use the bank over there for tax refunds used to get family allowance paid into it too before the kids grew up nice perk of working there ! Link to comment