a don in oz Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Such fun, such hilarity, chuckle chuckle Snakes. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-01-11/snake-plague-strikes-brisbane-backyards/4461848 Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Such fun, such hilarity, chuckle chuckle Snakes. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-01-11/snake-plague-strikes-brisbane-backyards/4461848 Don't see many snakes down my way, although some guy from Perth got killed by a brown snake while working on his home computer last year. Spiders are the biggest problem where I live. I've killed about 10 red backs in our porch in the last 12 months. I also found a huge white tip in our toilet, just as I was about to take a shit! Link to comment
a don in oz Posted January 12, 2013 Author Share Posted January 12, 2013 Don't see many snakes down my way, although some guy from Perth got killed by a brown snake while working on his home computer last year. Spiders are the biggest problem where I live. I've killed about 10 red backs in our porch in the last 12 months. I also found a huge white tip in our toilet, just as I was about to take a shit! Yeah... you would have felt that The wildlife seems to be going bonkers here between the explosion in snake numbers (couple of deaths too as well as bites), spiders, irukanji (6 people hospitalised in a week) and a fucking centipede biting some guy on the face. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted January 12, 2013 Author Share Posted January 12, 2013 Pisses me off the attitude to the bastards too. Oh they're protected, or they're wildlife, or they're fucking killers buddy! Nuke them! Nope... we catch them and then set them free... uh... watch the video and where they set these lethal bastards free. Link to comment
woohoo Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Wouldn't like to be playing football on that pitch! I'm just glad I live in inner-city Melbourne. Not too much that can kill you down here... I do see some decent sized spiders, but not seen a red-back yet. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Pisses me off the attitude to the bastards too. Oh they're protected, or they're wildlife, or they're fucking killers buddy! Nuke them! Nope... we catch them and then set them free... uh... watch the video and where they set these lethal bastards free. Sharks making the most headlines over here. The government has just released their first order to kill on a GW that's been spotted several times further south. http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/great-white-shark-to-be-killed-by-order/story-e6frg6nf-1226549873378 By coincidence I've just been on holiday down that way and the cynic within me believes this to be a financially motivated move. There is heaps of development and land up for sale down there, along with some of the states premier holiday resorts. If a swimmer was eaten by a GW it could cost the region many millions of dollars. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Wouldn't like to be playing football on that pitch! I'm just glad I live in inner-city Melbourne. Not too much that can kill you down here... I do see some decent sized spiders, but not seen a red-back yet. Which suburb are you living in? I love it over there - usually head across for the Aus Open, but work have fucked me about, so I can't manage this year! Link to comment
woohoo Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Which suburb are you living in? I love it over there - usually head across for the Aus Open, but work have fucked me about, so I can't manage this year! Living in Hawthorn at the moment, about 8k from the CBD. Previously been in Richmond and Brunswick - brilliant city. Can't wait for the Tennis to get going, great atmosphere around the place. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Living in Hawthorn at the moment, about 8k from the CBD. Previously been in Richmond and Brunswick - brilliant city. Can't wait for the Tennis to get going, great atmosphere around the place. Richmond is brilliant fun - I stayed there and St. Kilda last year. Drinking along Bridge road was a particular highlight! Hopefully I'll make it over to watch some AFL this season. Quite fancy the Anzac day match, but probably won't be until later in the year. If Freo look like their on course for a Melbourne final I'll probably try to book up for that. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Ok so that's uncomfortable watching. I was planning on visiting Oz this summer, July probably. What would the snake and spider situation be like in Perth and Darwin? Was thinking of going round these general areas first and then seeing what time I have to see any other areas. Didn't see anything at all in Melbourne or Sydney when I was there in Oct, a possum once when I was walking home in the dark and that freaked me out a bit just because I hadn't seen one before. Im thinking it will be colder so less venomous beasts to kill me (said in anticipation) Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 I'm planning on going to Oz next January - Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne, before heading to NZ. I hate those creepy little bastards. I'd shit myself face to face haha. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Ok so that's uncomfortable watching. I was planning on visiting Oz this summer, July probably. What would the snake and spider situation be like in Perth and Darwin? Was thinking of going round these general areas first and then seeing what time I have to see any other areas. Didn't see anything at all in Melbourne or Sydney when I was there in Oct, a possum once when I was walking home in the dark and that freaked me out a bit just because I hadn't seen one before. Im thinking it will be colder so less venomous beasts to kill me (said in anticipation) Dinna ken about snakes and the like, but box jellyfish are a big concern in Darwin at this time of year. July being the dry season should mean ye can take a dip with only crocs to worry about Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 I also found a huge white tip in our toilet, just as I was about to take a shit! Dinna ken who would have suffered more if ye hadnae discovered it Link to comment
RUL Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Brilliant video, did I hear right, that the snake had eat a possum ? Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Ok so that's uncomfortable watching. I was planning on visiting Oz this summer, July probably. What would the snake and spider situation be like in Perth and Darwin? Was thinking of going round these general areas first and then seeing what time I have to see any other areas. Didn't see anything at all in Melbourne or Sydney when I was there in Oct, a possum once when I was walking home in the dark and that freaked me out a bit just because I hadn't seen one before. Im thinking it will be colder so less venomous beasts to kill me (said in anticipation) July in Perth is one of the coldest, wettest months. I doubt you'd encounter any snakes and most of the spiders are hiding away at that time of the year. Don't know about Darwin, but as it's tropical, I'd imagine there'd be a fair amount of activity all year round! I'd love to visit Darwin, I've heard brilliant things about it! To be honest, if you restrict your activity to built up areas like Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, etc, you'd have to be very unlucky to come face-to-face with a snake. I think Brisbane is little different though! Link to comment
a don in oz Posted January 12, 2013 Author Share Posted January 12, 2013 To be honest, if you restrict your activity to built up areas like Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, etc, you'd have to be very unlucky to come face-to-face with a snake. I think Brisbane is little different though!Yeah. Here you just need to avoid houses and fitba parks. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 I'd love to visit Darwin, I've heard brilliant things about it The Byen family have long been considering flitting doon under and for various reasons Darwin was first choice followed by Perth. We have been reading NT News online, watching videos and generally getting a feel for the place over the last few years. We have now come to the conclusion that crocs, snakes, creepy crawlies, rednecks (the human kind) and abos are a big problem there. Couple that with poor connections to the rest of the world, rocketing house prices etc, year round heat isn't enough. Perth is now top of oor list. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Well you will live in a country where everything wants to kill you. I would move back to jockland if it is bugging you. We don't have the snakes, spiders and shark problem Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 The Byen family have long been considering flitting doon under and for various reasons Darwin was first choice followed by Perth. We have been reading NT News online, watching videos and generally getting a feel for the place over the last few years. We have now come to the conclusion that crocs, snakes, creepy crawlies, rednecks (the human kind) and abos are a big problem there. Couple that with poor connections to the rest of the world, rocketing house prices etc, year round heat isn't enough. Perth is now top of oor list. The main problem with Darwin for me would be the humidity. The climate in Perth is unbeatable IMO - it's like southern Italy or Greece. The rest of the things you've listed are still problems in Perth. Having said that, if you have a young family, I couldn't imagine a better place to live than Perth. I wish I'd grown up here. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 The main problem with Darwin for me would be the humidity. The climate in Perth is unbeatable IMO - it's like southern Italy or Greece. The rest of the things you've listed are still problems in Perth. Having said that, if you have a young family, I couldn't imagine a better place to live than Perth. I wish I'd grown up here. Been following things in Perth too and it is all relative. Prices for property, food etc are a pittance compared to here, yet Mrs Byen could get a higher paying job in Perth than Bergen, What concerns me is that Oz is just Chinas bitch these days, and also that Perth has droughts and general water problems. But as you say, for a family it strikes me as being brilliant. We have a lovely place to live here, but when you are more or less stuck inside from August-June, it is irrelevant. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Perth ok weather wise July? Might head over to the other side if I have time, Great Barrier Reef and the likes. Oz is just too big. But I read a lot of good things about Darwin when I was over so definitely want to go there. I know a lot of people in Perth (I'm sure most folk do) with most commenting on how expensive property is. I would have thought Darwin would have been cheaper. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Been following things in Perth too and it is all relative. Prices for property, food etc are a pittance compared to here, yet Mrs Byen could get a higher paying job in Perth than Bergen, What concerns me is that Oz is just Chinas bitch these days, and also that Perth has droughts and general water problems. But as you say, for a family it strikes me as being brilliant. We have a lovely place to live here, but when you are more or less stuck inside from August-June, it is irrelevant. Yeah, Western Australia in particular is pretty much controlled by China. The mining industry here has basically fuelled much of Chinas industrialisation. If they need shit, we basically dig it out of the ground for them. In three years here I haven't seen too many issues with water. It generally pisses it down here from July through to about October. However, the amount of rain does vary from year to year. This year we had a very wet winter and so far this winter there hasn't been a peep about water shortages. However, my first year here was very different - It hardly rained all year and there was a bit of concern. I suppose living in Norway the prices out here wouldn't come as too much of a shock. As you say, it's all relative... however I still have moments of disbelief when I'm paying $5 for a loaf of bread and $10 for a pint of beer. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Perth ok weather wise July? Might head over to the other side if I have time, Great Barrier Reef and the likes. Oz is just too big. But I read a lot of good things about Darwin when I was over so definitely want to go there. I know a lot of people in Perth (I'm sure most folk do) with most commenting on how expensive property is. I would have thought Darwin would have been cheaper. It varies... it'll be cold for Perth. Max of 20C during the day, min of 3 or 4C at night. It could rain for your entire stay, but you could be lucky and you might get blues skies all the way. It's hard to predict the winters here. In Spring, summer and autumn you'll basically be guaranteed wall-to-wall sunshine. My favourite thing about Perth is the beach lifestyle - you won't get that in July sadly. However, the rest of WA is well worth visiting in Winter. I've just been to the wine region, Margaret River, on holiday, and that is apparently glorious in winter. The south coast, Albany, Denmark and Esperance are also worth a visit. Alternatively, if you don't mind a drive, you could probably head 5 or 6 hours north up the coast and you'd get some better weather. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Brilliant video, did I hear right, that the snake had eat a possum ? Yep. I cannot believe the size of that snake that came out of the boy's shoe. He thought there was gravel in his shoe. FFS Love the snake catchers quote. "Best friend in the world until you piss him off." Link to comment
Jigot Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 When I lived in NSW you really only looked out for the Funnel Webs and the Redbacks. Snakes? Meh. Thon big ants were a right bastard right enough. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 Cheers SOTR. I might just concentrate on the west coast then. I would have liked to have flown into Darwin then made my way to Perth but it's a lot more expensive to fly into Darwin than it is Perth. If I get organised I'm sure I'll get a cheap enough internal flight to take me back to Perth though. Link to comment
Jigot Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 In my experience and opinion, there is a danger of confusing your standard of living now and under-estimating the value of a NE upbringing. Of course there is no comparison in terms of the outdoor life, climate, facilities etc. but look around you at the Aussies you work and play with. Not many of them are street-smart and most would be lost if they had to go elsewhere in the world to make their way. Perth is closeted, an isolated community and wouldn't prepare kids for the real world if they ever had to leave. The main reason we left Oz was cos we didn't want Australian kids. Too much racism and narrow-mindedness and given their genetic disadvantages, too many thickos. My boss couldn't read or write when I was in Melbourne. Darwin would be even worse. The world is happening somewhere else was a constant thorn for me when in Oz.I asked my Dad why we came home from Oz,he said that they didn't want me to go to Nam.I was 11 FFS.I reckon they were hamesick. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted January 12, 2013 Author Share Posted January 12, 2013 Didn't want you to go to Nam... that's a classic and I reckon you might just be right. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 12, 2013 Share Posted January 12, 2013 In my experience and opinion, there is a danger of confusing your standard of living now and under-estimating the value of a NE upbringing. Of course there is no comparison in terms of the outdoor life, climate, facilities etc. but look around you at the Aussies you work and play with. Not many of them are street-smart and most would be lost if they had to go elsewhere in the world to make their way. Perth is closeted, an isolated community and wouldn't prepare kids for the real world if they ever had to leave. The main reason we left Oz was cos we didn't want Australian kids. Too much racism and narrow-mindedness and given their genetic disadvantages, too many thickos. My boss couldn't read or write when I was in Melbourne. Darwin would be even worse. The world is happening somewhere else was a constant thorn for me when in Oz. It's a fair point and I believe we've had this conversation before. One thing I would say is that Australia has definitely moved on since you lived over here. I don't think you'd find it as backward and closed these days. Cheers SOTR. I might just concentrate on the west coast then. I would have liked to have flown into Darwin then made my way to Perth but it's a lot more expensive to fly into Darwin than it is Perth. If I get organised I'm sure I'll get a cheap enough internal flight to take me back to Perth though. Don't count on getting a cheap internal flight. Internal flights are a joke here. I'd be lucky to track down a return to Melbourne for much less than $350. It's cheaper - and quicker - to fly to Bali! Get a hold of the Western Australia lonely planet if you're planning a trip out here, should tell you everything you need to know. I got a second hand copy for about 5 quid off ebay before I moved over here. There is so much more to WA than the city of Perth. Link to comment