Porky Portions

looksgoodinred

what is the average North American's fascination with gargantuan portions? just greediness? a feeling that more has got to be better? ugh.

anyway the awards are out.

http://www.cspinet.org/new/201301161.html

Eating a full meal at an American chain restaurant can be hazardous to your health. That's the message of the annual XTreme Eating Awards, which are given out by The Centre for Science in the Public Interest.

The Awards go to restaurants that serve single meals which have as many calories as an average person needs in a whole day - or even more.

For instance, Johnny Rockets, an American burger chain that also has restaurants in Canada, won an Award for a meal made up of a Big Apple Shake (that's a milkshake with a piece of apple pie blended into it), a Bacon Cheddar Double Burger and Sweet Potato Fries.

Total calorie count? 3,500. Average calories required per day for most healthy people? 2,000 or so.

The Xtreme Eating Awards are designed to bring attention to the excessive amount of high-fat, high-calorie foods on restaurant menus. All the "Award-winning" entrees pack between 1,700 and 3,100 calories into a single meal.

"The calories are in the stratosphere," Jayne Hurley, senior nutritionist for The Centre, told USA Today. "Restaurants need to slim down their menus. There are pages of foods like these that are bad for you."

Some "winners":

The Cheesecake Factory's Bistro Shrimp Pasta - 3,120 Calories

"This dish has the dubious distinction of delivering more calories than any other entree on the menu," CSPI says. And it's also packed with 89 grams of saturated fat. Their website says that's "enough to keep your arteries busy from Monday morning to noon on Friday."

Smoothie King's Peanut Power Plus Grape Smoothie - 1,460 Calories

You'd think a smoothie would be healthy, right (it does say "Nutritional Lifestyle Centers" right on the cup)? Well, no. In addition to its massive calorie count, this one packs "three-and-a-half days' worth of added sugar (22 teaspoons). Make that six-and-a-half days' worth, since the 17 teaspoons of naturally occurring sugar in the grape juice aren't any healthier than added sugar."

Maggiano's Little Italy's Chocolate Zuccotto Cake - 1,820 Calories

This beauty boasts three days' worth of saturated fat (62 grams) and four days' worth of added sugar (26 teaspoons). "Each slice is five inches tall and four inches wide and weighs just short of a pound," according to CSPI.

The Cheesecake Factory's Crispy Chicken Costoletta (breaded chicken breasts) - 2,610 Calories

"It's like eating an entire KFC 12-piece Original Recipe bucket, except the KFC chicken has less saturated fat." 'Nuff said.

I don't like the sound of any of them, heart attack on a plate! :(

Is Canada similar to America in the big portion fat people stakes?

No need for it, don't want to be fat, eat less.

there are some chain restaurants we have in common. but the many times i`ve been to the states, i`ve noticed the portion sizes there are much larger than you commonly find here. and both here and there, they`re larger than what i`ve found in Europe. generally speaking.

When I was in New York I bought a takeaway Pizza, think you were meant to buy by the slice, the box needed to go sideways to fit in the hotel room, it was huge!

I was embarrassed walking down the street with a monster box in hand.

When I was in New York I bought a takeaway Pizza, think you were meant to buy by the slice, the box needed to go sideways to fit in the hotel room, it was huge! :laughing:

I was embarrassed walking down the street with a monster box in hand.

Doon my way there is a fast food chain called four in one. Kebabs,Burgers,Curries and Pizzas

I one ordered and paid for a pizza known as The Beast to be delivered at half time during a Scotland match I was watching next door with a few mates.Right on que the door went and the owner of the house answered it with the words, " ffs, d'ye need a hand wi' that neebur? " " Sorry Sir no, if you did and put your back oot, you would have grounds to sue the comany " The two ends of the cunt was hingin' off the coffee table.

How big? 26 rectangular slices the size of the lid of a size 8 shoe box. With various toppings.

One of those babies fed me for a week when my Mrs was away for a week doon at one of her sisters in Wales.

Doon my way there is a fast food chain called four in one. Kebabs,Burgers,Curries and Pizzas

I one ordered and paid for a pizza known as The Beast to be delivered at half time during a Scotland match I was watching next door with a few mates.Right on que the door went and the owner of the house answered it with the words, " ffs, d'ye need a hand wi' that neebur? " " Sorry Sir no, if you did and put your back oot, you would have grounds to sue the comany " The two ends of the cunt was hingin' off the coffee table.

How big? 26 rectangular slices the size of the lid of a size 8 shoe box. With various toppings.

One of those babies fed me for a week when my Mrs was away for a week doon at one of her sisters in Wales.

One of the pizza places in Aberdeen has a pizza called the beast (could be snappy tomato), have had it on a boxing night, watching Tyson at 4 in the morning or something, it fairly gets demolished with a dozen drunk people in the room! :)

:offtopic: Sorry......but the boxing nights in my neighbourhood used to legendary, when I was a single loon I had twin technic 1200's set up in the living room of my flat, pub first then a heap of people back drinking, smoking weed and playing the decks/having a dunce, then watch the big fight in the early hours, best days of my life.

The party would often go all night and we'd hit a pub on the Sunday morning.

These days I tape the fight and have a cocoa before retiring for the evening. ;)

How weird is this? I've been here reading this thread about pizzas while having a smoke and a wee scoop when the door goes at 12-15. I'm going doon the stairs and sees a torch shining the the door windae. Fuck it's Hawaii 5-0 I thought. I opened the door to be asked " is this number 5? " "Ma hoose disnae hae a number" I telt the PIZZA MAN.

I now wish I had telt him "aye"

It's not just the gargantuan portions, it's the amount of salt they use in pretty much everything they serve. I was in the states last week, bought a sandwich and couldn't eat it as all I could taste was salt. It's no wonder they're massively overweight and dropping like flies.

That said, I won't hear a bad word said about The Cheesecake Factory. :)

Had to ban myself from 4 in 1, those large munchie boxes they do nearly killed me

17 massive bits of chicken is too much for a rational human to consume in one sitting.

Checked online and this is the photo of the dish.

crispy-chicken-costoletta-at-the-cheesecake-factory-2610-calories-89-grams-of-saturated-fat-and-2720-milligrams-of-sodium.jpg

I think Karl must of gotten extra chicken on his serving from the Hawaiian waitress looking to fatten him up or just because he's that nice. :itch-chin:

Checked online and this is the photo of the dish.

crispy-chicken-costoletta-at-the-cheesecake-factory-2610-calories-89-grams-of-saturated-fat-and-2720-milligrams-of-sodium.jpg

I think Karl must of gotten extra chicken on his serving from the Hawaiian waitress looking to fatten him up or just because he's that nice. :itch-chin:

that's exactly the picture i saw! i can't imagine there were 17 pieces of chicken that size. although the report i read did say it was like eating a 12 piece KFC bucket in a meal. :itch-chin: