rossafc92 Posted February 3, 2013 Share Posted February 3, 2013 Noticed Bamber commenting in another thread that none of our players would be capable of shooting from distance in the manner Deegan did for Hibs today. This is something I've been thinking about recently: is the fact that none of our midfielders are capable of shooting from distance one of the reasons as to why we're not further up the league and not in the next round of the cup? Hayes is the only player that seems capable of doing it, but he doesn't play in a position which allows for him to shoot from distance that often. You never see Rae, Hughes etc going for a pop from 25-30 yards. How many goals do you see scored from distance nowadays, or at least from the rebound of a long range shot? Both games against Hibs in the last week have highlighted this point for me. 1 Link to comment
Bamber Posted February 3, 2013 Share Posted February 3, 2013 Pretty sure our furthest shot came from that quality striker of a ball Anderson from about the edge of the box Many qualities he may have crossing and shooting are not amongst them yet he hits the longest shot???? Link to comment
cow Posted February 3, 2013 Share Posted February 3, 2013 Rae and Hughes in a previous life certainly had decent digs on them Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 3, 2013 Share Posted February 3, 2013 OT i ken, Bamber, did Kickstarter secure finance for the new Elite yet, or is it still ongoing? I've played both the original, and Frontier, superb games. Link to comment
Bamber Posted February 3, 2013 Share Posted February 3, 2013 OT i ken, Bamber, did Kickstarter secure finance for the new Elite yet, or is it still ongoing? I've played both the original, and Frontier, superb games. Yep they did and development underway the updates i have look great Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted February 3, 2013 Author Share Posted February 3, 2013 Jack? Christ, momentarily forgot about him. He is the only midfielder that I think is capable of shooting from distance. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 3, 2013 Share Posted February 3, 2013 Aye, Ryan Jack dis that. Good loon. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 3, 2013 Share Posted February 3, 2013 Arnason could do it but we replaced him with Hughes. Hud me back Link to comment
Aberdeen_Fan Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 For Some reason fallon seems to think he can do it but he really can't. Always misses the target. (Except semi) Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 i could do ive got a fuckin wrapon of a right foot. Link to comment
360 Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 I once scored a 40 yarder. James McFadden couldn't lace my boots. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 I once scored a 40 yarder. James McFadden couldn't lace my boots. You'd want the cock smoker lacing yer boots chief...fu*k bending over to do the cu*ts when that arse bandit was about 1 1 Link to comment
360 Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 Should have seen it, nestled right in the top corner. Beautiful Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 my accuacy is very poor. but my power is phenomenal i put everything into it, pure violence. Link to comment
360 Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 I'm a very lazy player, typical goal poacher. A poor mans Inzaghi, if you will. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 I'm a very lazy player, typical goal poacher. A poor mans Inzaghi, if you will. I once kicked my school team captain unconscious. True story. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 I once kicked my school team captain unconscious. True story. debating team ? Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 scored from on the right side by-line, with the right peg! in primary 7! i was all apologetic afterwards, like a dobber. Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 You'd want the cock smoker lacing yer boots chief...fu*k bending over to do the cu*ts when that arse bandit was about What an utterly pathetic, bigoted, simple minded heap of shite. You must be a real f*cking hard man to think up narrow minded pish like that. bet you're a real big man with your 13 year old mates. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 debating team ? If it had been the debating team there would have been no need for violence. I'd have humiliated him orally. Fitba team. He goes to heid the fitba upfield with some poofy diving heider, just as I charge in and blooter the fitba in one of my trademark orbital clearances. Unfortunately for him he heids the ba' upfield, so his heid is now in the exact spot I was aiming at, and my vicious blooter connects fully with his face. On the positive side, I'd never fucking liked him, and the suspicion at the time was that I'd quite deliberately melted my boot into his face in an act of spontaneous opportunism. Total accident though. Link to comment
stand_free Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 Rae's got the second worst shooting accuracy in the SPL for players with 10+ shots attempted. 1 on target from 13 attempts (from ESPN). Wouldn't surprise if me if this has been pointed out now given the club had been looking to hire a performance analyst, hence his reluctance to shoot in recent games. The worst is Ian Davidson of Dundee, 0 on target from 10 shots. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 just shooting in general seems to be a problem for us, needs to be sorted sharpish. i mind vernon on sunday, he was criminally slow in the box, and at one point after his first touch the time he took to compose himself reeked of shite. and, when pawlett's shot was palmed into the middle of the goalmouth! vernon was standing behind the defender, reeks. clangers was caught napping at the goal, you could tell by the way he adjusted himself, fnar fnar, and then made an attempt, then realised that he should fall down to make it look like he knew what was going on. saying that, 3 of our backline looked all over the shop before the goal, not one took responsibility, backing away like blouses. Link to comment
J4MRU Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 It's frustrating watching a team going round in circles outside the 18 yarder, I don't get why no -one will just have a hit???? Back in the day if that was me i'm hitting it!!!!!! (eventually I scored from the HW line in a Scottish cup game ) At the end of the day, if its on target... the keeper has to stop the ball going in and you have probably done as good as you can. Gavin Rae was terrible for that yesterday. Well done to Robertson and Hayes.... BOTH had a pop at least once. Link to comment
K-9 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Think all 3 of our efforts on target against St Mirren were from outside box. Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Think all 3 of our efforts on target against St Mirren were from outside box.What chances were they like? Link to comment
K-9 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 What chances were they like? Lol - weren't really chances. 3 shots on target and think all 3 from 25 yards - 2 of them on BBC highlights from Hayes. Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Lol - weren't really chances. 3 shots on target and think all 3 from 25 yards - 2 of them on BBC highlights from Hayes. Aye the Hayes one i remembered anyway, but i honestly couldn't think of the other chances Link to comment
Bamber Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Don't forget the magennis effort from the half way line. Link to comment