rgudon Posted February 4, 2013 Share Posted February 4, 2013 Anybody got any recommendations, needing a Painter and sparky Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted February 4, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 4, 2013 Anybody got any recommendations, needing a Painter and sparkyFor a painter, ronnie Brock of Brock painting and decorating. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Trades advisor Aberdeen is a great site, I got the top rated plumber from that site to renovate my central heating, he was brand new. You get to read other peoples reviews on the person, it really is a good site. I'm a sucker for calling in favours with my mates for painting and sparkying, they hate doing homers though as do most tradesmen. Why not do the painting yourself? Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Phone the cooncil. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Why not do the painting yourself? im all for paying some monkey to do it. he chargers what a few quid an hour. to not have to the hassle is well worth the money. my time is better spent doing something with the family or friends. 1 Link to comment
rgudon Posted February 5, 2013 Author Share Posted February 5, 2013 Trades advisor Aberdeen is a great site, I got the top rated plumber from that site to renovate my central heating, he was brand new. You get to read other peoples reviews on the person, it really is a good site. I'm a sucker for calling in favours with my mates for painting and sparkying, they hate doing homers though as do most tradesmen. Why not do the painting yourself? cool, will go have a look. I would normally do painting on my own but just dont have the time at the moment with work and a distance learning uni course, Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 im all for paying some monkey to do it. he chargers what a few quid an hour. to not have to the hassle is well worth the money. my time is better spent doing something with the family or friends. Sparky Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 aye easy right enough but the payback is rhe time consuming effort that goes into it nae what youd call 'quality time" with the family eh Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Fits needing done? Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 aye easy right enough but the payback is rhe time consuming effort that goes into it nae what youd call 'quality time" with the family eh Get family and friends to help out and have a few jars after you're done, many hands make light work and all that. I helped a mate out with some paper stripping and painting not that long ago when he moved into a new house, made a welcome break from doing my own house, quite enjoyed it, get the tunes on, have a laugh. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 i like your style dayts making the most of a bad situation work hard play hard eh. 1 Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 i like your style dayts making the most of a bad situation work hard play hard eh. To be honest I've even had my old mother round doing painting for me in the last few Months, get her and the family armed with brushes and paint then slope off to the garden for some sun and a few ciggy's, takes a long time before they notice you've been a while going to the shed for some turps. Link to comment
heppy1 Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 For a painter, ronnie Brock of Brock painting and decorating.that what hes calling himself theses day Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 To be honest I've even had my old mother round doing painting for me in the last few Months, get her and the family armed with brushes and paint then slope off to the garden for some sun and a few ciggy's, takes a long time before they notice you've been a while going to the shed for some turps. If your mum ever has the painters in again you should give Norris McWhirter a call and stake a world record claim for the oldest lady still on the blob. 1 Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 If your mum ever has the painters in again you should give Norris McWhirter a call and stake a world record claim for the oldest lady still on the blob. I don't think that would be possible, Norris died some years ago. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 I don't think that would be possible, Norris died some years ago. FFS I have him in my Death Pool team. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 FFS I have him in my Death Pool team. Only 9 years ago min, an easy mistake to make. Link to comment
rgudon Posted March 29, 2013 Author Share Posted March 29, 2013 any plumbers on here, got an emergency.... Link to comment
Henry Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Why not do the painting yourself?im all for paying some monkey to do it. he chargers what a few quid an hour. to not have to the hassle is well worth the money. my time is better spent doing something with the family or friends. 1 Link to comment
GK55 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Some advice required re: flooring....bought real oak flooring as oppose to laminate. Away to lay it and going down the nailing route...does every piece of wood need to be nailed at the tongue and groove? or just one every say 3 or 4? Thanks in advance. Link to comment
boboisared Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Some advice required re: flooring....bought real oak flooring as oppose to laminate. Away to lay it and going down the nailing route...does every piece of wood need to be nailed at the tongue and groove? or just one every say 3 or 4? Thanks in advance.I would seek professional help. This all seems a bit Millertimish. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Some advice required re: flooring....bought real oak flooring as oppose to laminate. Away to lay it and going down the nailing route...does every piece of wood need to be nailed at the tongue and groove? or just one every say 3 or 4? Thanks in advance. Not sure but I'd seek professional help as well. Had a new house built 5 years ago and got this laid by the builder. They completely fucked it up resulting in me having to get a joiner to rip it all up and replace. Boards were squeaking like fuck all the time and the builder refused to acccept liability. Took the prick to court to recover the joiner costs and won it all back. Not a pleasant experience. Get it done properly and it's great. Get it done badly and god help you trying to get sleep if someone is still nae in their bed. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Not sure but I'd seek professional help as well. Had a new house built 5 years ago and got this laid by the builder. They completely fucked it up resulting in me having to get a joiner to rip it all up and replace. Boards were squeaking like fuck all the time and the builder refused to acccept liability. Took the prick to court to recover the joiner costs and won it all back. Not a pleasant experience. Get it done properly and it's great. Get it done badly and god help you trying to get sleep if someone is still nae in their bed. Not being cheeky, thats what happens when you use square pegs in round holes. I wouldnt ask a plumber to hang a kitchen cabinet... The rents have just got a quote for putting down about 40 square metres of real wood flooring. Quote from the place it was bought was just over £2K, from a guy my sister knows its £1200 and it'll take him a week. While it'll be cheaper doing it yourself I'd say get a man in to do it. Watch him closely, make sure you're happy before handing over payment and just suck up the bill. Laminate isnt too bad, cheap to replace and easyish to put down. Real wood is totally different, it expands when laid, will damage a lot easier when going down and is a lot harder to get down properly so it doesnt make the noises you were getting the last time someone who didnt know what they were doing did it for you Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 After saying to people on here to use Trade Advisor i've been let down by the top rated decorator, anyone know any good one's. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Not being cheeky, thats what happens when you use square pegs in round holes. I wouldnt ask a plumber to hang a kitchen cabinet... The rents have just got a quote for putting down about 40 square metres of real wood flooring. Quote from the place it was bought was just over £2K, from a guy my sister knows its £1200 and it'll take him a week. While it'll be cheaper doing it yourself I'd say get a man in to do it. Watch him closely, make sure you're happy before handing over payment and just suck up the bill. Laminate isnt too bad, cheap to replace and easyish to put down. Real wood is totally different, it expands when laid, will damage a lot easier when going down and is a lot harder to get down properly so it doesnt make the noises you were getting the last time someone who didnt know what they were doing did it for you Sorry should have been clearer. It was a joiner who laid it first time round as well. The builder's subcontracted that work. A far superior joiner sourced by me laid it second time of asking. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Sorry should have been clearer. It was a joiner who laid it first time round as well. The builder's subcontracted that work. A far superior joiner sourced by me laid it second time of asking. Yes you shouild've been. I hope you've learned your lesson now! If you want I'll get you the name of the guy doing my ma's place and send it over to you? He's done a lot of little jobs around the rents place over the years, good guy, just started out in his own business, reasonable rates and a good standard of work. Link to comment
Red Dragon Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Some advice required re: flooring....bought real oak flooring as oppose to laminate. Away to lay it and going down the nailing route...does every piece of wood need to be nailed at the tongue and groove? or just one every say 3 or 4? Thanks in advance. i believe you nail every piece down. Nae expert mind but we laid solid oak in the lounge and each and every piece was nailed down. Worth the effort as short cutting it will nae doubt result it is being pish and risk having to re-do it. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Yes you shouild've been. I hope you've learned your lesson now! If you want I'll get you the name of the guy doing my ma's place and send it over to you? He's done a lot of little jobs around the rents place over the years, good guy, just started out in his own business, reasonable rates and a good standard of work. It's not me getting flooring laid min. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 It's not me getting flooring laid min. Is it nae??? oh well then.... Best advice, use fucking wood glue and just chuck it down. You'll be fine, whoever you are. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Some advice required re: flooring....bought real oak flooring as oppose to laminate. Away to lay it and going down the nailing route...does every piece of wood need to be nailed at the tongue and groove? or just one every say 3 or 4? Thanks in advance. Nailgun and mitre saw, will be down in no time, if you use a jig saw you'll be there all day, fine for the tricky bits but fuck doing the whole floor with it. I borrow a nail gun so you can't help you out there but have a big ripper of a mitre saw If you want a loan*. PM me if you do, I'm in Bucksburn. * If you lose your hand it isn't my fault. Link to comment