cow Posted February 8, 2013 Share Posted February 8, 2013 Eight months after we funded the most mismanaged, over budget games in the history of the Olympics we learn more about the gravy train. The organising committee spending the budget and more of shite logo's, and then rewarding themselves with massive bonuses. clicky Link to comment
Jones Posted February 9, 2013 Share Posted February 9, 2013 Cliff notes would be nice... Jones. Link to comment
RUL Posted February 9, 2013 Share Posted February 9, 2013 Eight months after we funded the most mismanaged, over budget games in the history of the Olympics we learn more about the gravy train. The organising committee spending the budget and more of shite logo's, and then rewarding themselves with massive bonuses. clicky I thought it was a brilliant olympics to be honest? 1 4 Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 9, 2013 Share Posted February 9, 2013 I thought it was a brilliant olympics to be honest? The Olympics were great, worth every penny of whatever it cost, I'm not going to waste any of my life reading the report. Keep politics off Afc Chat, go to mad for that kind of crap. 4 Link to comment
cow Posted February 9, 2013 Author Share Posted February 9, 2013 I thought it was a brilliant olympics to be honest? I wasn't asking if the Olympics were brilliant. Just a shame it didn't run even close to budget, fleecing the taxpayer, providing huge "Bankers" style bonuses for failure. 2 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 9, 2013 Share Posted February 9, 2013 I wasn't asking if the Olympics were brilliant. Just a shame it didn't run even close to budget, fleecing the taxpayer, providing huge "Bankers" style bonuses for failure.All the gold medals we won melted down would pay for the olympics 3 times so it's money well spent. Boofon 1 2 Link to comment
cow Posted February 9, 2013 Author Share Posted February 9, 2013 All the gold medals we won melted down would pay for the olympics 3 times so it's money well spent. Boofon Figures for this would be interesting Cow. Link to comment
RUL Posted February 9, 2013 Share Posted February 9, 2013 I wasn't asking if the Olympics were brilliant. Just a shame it didn't run even close to budget, fleecing the taxpayer, providing huge "Bankers" style bonuses for failure.Well I don't give a toss? Some things are worth more than a report and the Olympics in our country is defo one of them 1 2 Link to comment
cow Posted February 9, 2013 Author Share Posted February 9, 2013 Well I don't give a toss? Some things are worth more than a report and the Olympics in our country is defo one of them Interesting. How far would you have went personally to bring the Olympics to Britain? Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted February 9, 2013 Share Posted February 9, 2013 London 2012 was more over-budget than the legendarily mismanaged Atlanta 1996? 1 1 Link to comment
cow Posted February 9, 2013 Author Share Posted February 9, 2013 London 2012 was more over-budget than the legendarily mismanaged Atlanta 1996? Well googled. In truth no one knows given how much the final accounts for London were fiddled. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Well I don't give a toss? Some things are worth more than a report and the Olympics in our country is defo one of them why were the olympics worth so much to you RUL? why do you think they are worth going way over budget? 1 Link to comment
Jones Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 I thought they were a bit of a failure no? Loads of empty stadiums etc, massively over budget, queen looking all sour pussed? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Scotland lost out due to a dip in tourism during the summer because of the Olympics. I'm sure they will dress the Olympics up to be great for the country with more people taking part in sports, but that will only last a few months and the everything goes back to normal and we've all forgotten about it. StandFree1982 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 I enjoyed the Olympics. Thought they were great. tax payers pay for it, no shock there. They'd be taking the same amount of money off you anyway. At least it was for something I enjoyed watching instead of a pavement in Leicester or wherever that I'll never get the benefit of. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 The Olympics were great, worth every penny of whatever it cost, I'm not going to waste any of my life reading the report. Keep politics off Afc Chat, go to mad for that kind of crap. ken min some folk are just moaning bastards. usually maggie haters too. olympics arent freebies you know. i dunno why some folk would think they are 1 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 If you want to be really outraged at Olympic costs and corruption look into the Sochi Winter Olympics for next year... Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 If you want to be really outraged at Olympic costs and corruption look into the Sochi Winter Olympics for next year... don't think anyone is outraged Dynamo. some folk just don't think its worth the expense just for a few good tele moments Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 don't think anyone is outraged Dynamo.some folk just don't think its worth the expense just for a few good tele moments I think Cow is bordering on it Aye folk will moan at anything these days right enough. Sheep. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 veryits pro scottish to dislike the olympics? dunno why, but they seem to go hand in hand 1 Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 veryits pro scottish to dislike the olympics? dunno why, but they seem to go hand in hand you couldn't be more wrong bloots - no change there though eh? 1 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Speaking of over budget things, when is the Edinburgh tram up and running? Saw it last week when down for the cup game and Princes Street seemed to be ready to go? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 you couldn't be more wrong bloots - no change there though eh? who rattled your cage? 1 Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Speaking of over budget things, when is the Edinburgh tram up and running? Saw it last week when down for the cup game and Princes Street seemed to be ready to go? those things are a bloody waste of money. driving in edinburgh was a nightmare when I was down last time who rattled your cage? nobody, I'm happy as larry (whoever larry is) Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 aye that tram idea seems vompletely pointless to me like hollyrood aswell. 1 Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 aye that tram idea seems vompletely pointless to me like hollyrood aswell. I vompletely agree regarding the trams Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 For what it's worth, there was plenty to perv on in the Olympics so it was worth every penny! Especially the womans netball with the camera focussing on the girls arse. (He'll use the excuse that she has her hand there and making tactical gestures to her team mate behind her) <insert name here> Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 nobody, I'm happy as larry (whoever larry is)He's nae happy your name dropping him. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 The Olympic opening ceremony was the best thing on TV since the Attitude Era of WWF. Link to comment