Karl Fletcher Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Going there on Friday for a Stagger. Anyone care to recommend any decent Beer Halls and/or other boozy related activities? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 go to irish bars, theyre the best in town. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 They're all good. You'll have a ball. Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Was over for a stagger for the Oktober fest. Absolute bedlam and honestly dont remember much about the trip! The place is amazing though. Very friendly atmosphere in the bars. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 This the main one Hitler was a regular but don't let that put you off well worth the visit ! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hofbräuhaus Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Im sure thats the one we went too, it was awesome! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 germans beer halls in general are pretty ace. heart food, loud atmosphere and good, if limited range of, beer. great when busy but pretty crap when quiet Link to comment
Kilkito Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 A wonderful place, the beer halls were awesome when the Dons were there, and the locals as friendly as you can get, wish I was going back, will do one day, hope you have a great time Karl. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 A wonderful place, the beer halls were awesome when the Dons were there, and the locals as friendly as you can get, wish I was going back, will do one day, hope you have a great time Karl. Yup me too, out of all my trips in europe with the dons that one was my favorite! Link to comment
Henry Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 germans beer halls in general are pretty ace. heart food, loud atmosphere and good, if limited range of, beer. great when busy but pretty crap when quiet Any lung food? Kidney food? Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted February 18, 2013 Author Share Posted February 18, 2013 Cheers lads! I didn't make it over to Munich when we played there so very much looking forward to it Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Cheers lads! I didn't make it over to Munich when we played there so very much looking forward to it If you are looking for something to shove in time i recommend a stadium tour of the Allianz, We also did the olymic tower, the zoo and dachau which was well worth the trip! Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted February 18, 2013 Author Share Posted February 18, 2013 I believe we do have a tour of the Allianz pencilled in at some point. Just gets in the way of valuable drinking time of you ask me but I'll go with the flow. Will probably have my Dandies top on all weekend Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 I believe we do have a tour of the Allianz pencilled in at some point. Just gets in the way of valuable drinking time of you ask me but I'll go with the flow. Will probably have my Dandies top on all weekend Fuck the tour, go to the game! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Fuck the tour, go to the game! aye. i find stadium tours completely pointless. you go all the way to XYZ city to spend the time on puiblic transport for an hour to go round a stadium to go all the way back again. why not just actually spend time in the city you are in? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 aye. i find stadium tours completely pointless. you go all the way to XYZ city to spend the time on puiblic transport for an hour to go round a stadium to go all the way back again. why not just actually spend time in the city you are in? They sound really boring so I've never bothered (bar Pittodrie in Dons youngsters days obviously). Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Tour was actually excellent! For my money its the best stadium in club football. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted February 18, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 18, 2013 This the main one Hitler was a regular but don't let that put you off well worth the visit ! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hofbr Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted February 18, 2013 Author Share Posted February 18, 2013 Fuck the tour, go to the game! We've tried and tried to get tickets but it's a sell out this weekend. Dom, cheers Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Tour was actually excellent! For my money its the best stadium in club football. arent they all the same? give of take a bit here or there. as long as they dont have a running track, and the sides are sufficiently steep then a stadiums a stadium if you ask me. assuming all have decent acoustics. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 They sound really boring so I've never bothered (bar Pittodrie in Dons youngsters days obviously). of course they are. unless you support bayen, or real, or barca or which ever mega clubs ground your going round. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 We've tried and tried to get tickets but it's a sell out this weekend. Dom, cheers Yeah it is tricky to get tickets. You might get lucky over there you never know. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 arent they all the same? give of take a bit here or there. as long as they dont have a running track, and the sides are sufficiently steep then a stadiums a stadium if you ask me. assuming all have decent acoustics. Aye its nae a patch on spain park right enough Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Aye its nae a patch on spain park right enough eh? Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Munich is an awesome place, loved the trip there with the Dons. Went back for my bro's stag do and went to the Oktoberfest, that was just amazing, absolutely perfect for a stag do. But from memory the beer halls we went to on the football trip were quality too. Link to comment
rgudon Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Munich was defo my favourite dons away game, bierhalles are ace and the birds were top notch. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 What route are you flying Karl?Decent enough price for flights? I'm looking at Munich as a destination for my best pals stagger later on this year. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 What route are you flying Karl?Decent enough price for flights? I'm looking at Munich as a destination for my best pals stagger later on this year. Outwith Oktoberfest, you'll get flights from about Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Outwith Oktoberfest, you'll get flights from about 100-120 return from Edinburgh direct to MunichWe're going the weekend after Oktoberfest (depending on the Bayern fixtures for next season) Just fly from Aberdeen for 160 via Frankfurt. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 18, 2013 Share Posted February 18, 2013 Just fly from Aberdeen for 160 via Frankfurt. Aye maybe, but I'm going to be in Edinburgh the night before so am staying down and flying from there. Saves dicking about in Frankfurt.Staying in Edinburgh the night we come back too. Link to comment