Stoney Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Read again over the weekend about our un-realistic expectations.......... Since our last cup, we have only been finalists twice! Quite remarkable how far we have fallen behind hearts in recent times, even kilmarnock have managed to win two cups! Hearts Won 3 Cups and Runners up in three more Kilmarnock won 2 runners up in two moreHibs Won 1 Runners up in three United Won 1 Runners up in three St Mirren Won 1 Runners up in one Livingston even managed a win........... Dunfermline have been beaten in three finals (i know) Falkirk and Motherwell in two each St Johnstone, Dundee, Gretna, QoTS, Ross County and Ayr have also been to finals, Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Makes you want to greet Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 If nothing else the law of averages will weigh-in and we're due something soon! Link to comment
Crossbow Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 We have unrealistic expectations - the press will trot out the old line - and if we are playing half decently they'll trot out the line harking back to the 80s. The crap managers we've had - none of whom have won anything and and by so doing have ably demonstrated that managing a team with Aberdeens budget is beyond them - trot this out when - we the fans - complain about their ineptness - tragically even some of the followers of the dons believe it. We haven't won anything because we haven't employed winners - we've employed people who think that top 6 is a victory as opposed to a realistic expectation - as RS would say the problem starts at the top - but were we effective below that actually the top would not be a problem - of course - he appoints those below him and so far has chosen poorly. Can it get better - of course -will it without revolution - well - don't hold your breath and as best you can keep the faith. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 If nothing else the law of averages will weigh-in and we're due something soon! There may be averages, but statistically there is no pattern. There was a gap of over 40 years until we won our first major trophy, so there may be a while to go yet. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 imagine we had a good manager, someone who proved himself with the bread and butter we'd have a much better chance of winning a knock out competition if we had one of those installed Aye, we would. 1 Link to comment
Henry Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 I think the fella you're making a not-very-veiled reference to was far too familiar with bread and butter Link to comment
Crossbow Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 imagine we had a good manager, someone who proved himself with the bread and butter we'd have a much better chance of winning a knock out competition if we had one of those installed Aberdeen is not about bread and butter - we like cake and a wee cup to go with it please. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Haha I knew Millertime was making reference to Jimmy, what a fucking stupid reference to make though with his cup 'pedigree' when here Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 Jimmy Calderwood, responsible for two of the names on the above list. Seriously you couldnt hand pick a better semi final than Queen of the South on a massive hampden pitch!!! Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 As a side note, we are the last Cup Winning side in Scotland to contain only Scotsmen. Ever since our win against Dundee, the winners of the League Cup/Scottish Cup have contained foreigners. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 what about beating celtic at parkhead in the cup... that not count? It counted for fuck all. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Millertime, on 18 Mar 2013 - 12:14, said:but smaller teams shouldnt beat bigger teams, eh?Er.....fuck it i'm knackered, someone else take care of it. Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 I dont understand your point? Calderwood got his reward for that win at parkhead with the easiest semi final any person could ask for. Their team included John Stewart for fuck sake Link to comment
tup Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 What is your opinion on Jimmy Calderwood being appointed as Dunfermline manager by the hun chairman MT? Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Jimmy Calderwood, responsible for two of the names on the above list. Seriously you couldnt hand pick a better semi final than Queen of the South on a massive hampden pitch!!!worst day of my footballing life that one. I still wake up shouting McNamara fucking tackle!and our 2 finals were both in the same season so since 1995 there have been 17 seasons out of 18 that we have not made a final.... that actually takes some doing to be that big an underachiever... well done Dons. Surely it must end soon! Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 I just ca believe i've never seen the Dons in a final at least at hampden in the flesh. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 how many Scottish clubs have been in a final since us? more than 20 is my guess. Every single full time club is my guess. Shambles FC Link to comment
Henry Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 how many Scottish clubs have been in a final since us? more than 20 is my guess. Every single full time club is my guess. Shambles FC AyrDundeeDunfermlineLivingstonHibsDundee UnitedHeartsGretna (RIP)Queen of the SouthFalkirkRoss CountyMotherwellKilmarnockSt MirrenRangers (RIP)Celtic St Johnstone and Caley haven't been in final since 2001 (or ever?), along with Morton and Partick Thistle. Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 AyrDundeeDunfermlineLivingstonHibsDundee UnitedHeartsGretna (RIP)Queen of the SouthFalkirkRoss CountyMotherwellKilmarnockSt MirrenRangers (RIP)Celtic St Johnstone and Caley haven't been in final since 2001 (or ever?), along with Morton and Partick Thistle. just the 16 then Tord see it's not so bad !! Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 St Johnstone did win the Challenge cup a few years ago, as did County and Inverness. Haha... we're pish Link to comment
K-9 Posted March 19, 2013 Share Posted March 19, 2013 Read again over the weekend about our un-realistic expectations.......... Since our last cup, we have only been finalists twice! Quite remarkable how far we have fallen behind hearts in recent times, even kilmarnock have managed to win two cups! Hearts Won 3 Cups and Runners up in three more Kilmarnock won 2 runners up in two more Hibs Won 1 Runners up in three United Won 1 Runners up in three St Mirren Won 1 Runners up in one Livingston even managed a win........... Dunfermline have been beaten in three finals (i know) Falkirk and Motherwell in two each St Johnstone, Dundee, Gretna, QoTS, Ross County and Ayr have also been to finals, Yet some folk still defend Milnes time at AFC. And that is before we talk financials. Link to comment
Henry Posted March 19, 2013 Share Posted March 19, 2013 St Johnstone did win the Challenge cup a few years ago, as did County and Inverness. Haha... we're pish I did notice that, but thought it was a bit unfair to count a trophy we can't actually enter. Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 19, 2013 Author Share Posted March 19, 2013 Yet some folk still defend Milnes time at AFC. And that is before we talk financials. Also guaranteed to add to that list with huns being out already Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 19, 2013 Author Share Posted March 19, 2013 I did notice that, but thought it was a bit unfair to count a trophy we can't actually enter. Yet....... Link to comment