Bluto10 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 I'm far from depressed min, I'm simply all action. When the curtain goes down on my day, dinna expect me to hing aboot for an encore. It's bedfordshire, straight away, to ensure I'm as sharp as a tack for the next instalment. denial is another sign of depresion. its also for the weak. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 denial is another sign of depresion. its also for the weak. Constantly drinking yourself in to oblivion is also a pretty strong indication of depression. Just letting you know so you can seek help. 1 1 Link to comment
tup Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 Shift work is well known to disrupt sleeping patterns. I'm simply relentless in the sleep department, there's only so much a body can take in one day, and mine gets pushed to and beyond that limit on a regular basis. That's why I'm faster than Wily Coyote first thing in the morning, while everyone else is rubbing their eyes in disbelief. Link to comment
tup Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 Constantly drinking yourself in to oblivion is also a pretty strong indication of depression. Just letting you know so you can seek help. +100. I was just about to say that myself, but you've saved me the bother. Alcohol abuse can only lead to other problems down the line, I think bluto's whole demeanour on here suggests he has issues with normal, everyday life. Unlike the likes of yourself, and me. Link to comment
tup Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 Going to bed at 6pm is for kids. You should try it, you cannot knock something until you have tried it. When the weather is poor, you are as well catching up on some shuteye. Watch the telly all night = Link to comment
DD1903 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Shift work is well known to disrupt sleeping patterns. I'm simply relentless in the sleep department, there's only so much a body can take in one day, and mine gets pushed to and beyond that limit on a regular basis. That's why I'm faster than Wily Coyote first thing in the morning, while everyone else is rubbing their eyes in disbelief. Shifts aren't that bad tup. I find I feel better doing shifts than when I was doing 9-5 type stuff. I've always been bad for getting to bed early - thats my main issue. However, i would never manage 6pm. never. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 if i lived in wick i too would sleep as much as possible Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 +100. I was just about to say that myself, but you've saved me the bother. Alcohol abuse can only lead to other problems down the line, I think bluto's whole demeanour on here suggests he has issues with normal, everyday life. Unlike the likes of yourself, and me. Definitely, it is a way of escaping the real world, which an alcoholic such as bluto clearly cannot cope with. Link to comment
tup Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 I'm not on the wind up Roberto. I was struggling by on the 7 hours sleep stuff for a period last year, I found it made me irritable, to say the least. Throw in a few drinks with that lack of sleep, and you are asking for trouble. I find inner peace has been restored with this new regime. Listen to the Chinese, they swear by the healing power of a good night's sleep. Sun Tzu - The Art of War - read it and then tell me that sleep is not important, it's vital. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Definitely, it is a way of escaping the real world, which an alcoholic such as bluto clearly cannot cope with. au contraire blockheed. the reason i roll with teh puches so well is that i ahve a great life. im just one of lifes winners. get used to it. Link to comment
tup Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 would you notice a massive difference between 7 or 8 hours? Over a period of weeks, absolutely. You would lose one night's sleep per week if you differ by an hour a night. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Definitely, it is a way of escaping the real world, which an alcoholic such as bluto clearly cannot cope with. au contraire blockheed. the reason i roll with teh puches so well is that i ahve a great life. im just one of lifes winners. get used to it. 2 Link to comment
tup Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 au contraire blockheed. the reason i roll with teh puches so well is that i ahve a great life. im just one of lifes winners. get used to it. Link to comment
jassb Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Let's do some sleep math. You lost two hours of sleep every night last week because of a big project due on Friday. On Saturday and Sunday, you slept in, getting four extra hours. Come Monday morning, you were feeling so bright-eyed, you only had one cup of coffee, instead of your usual two. But don't be duped by your apparent vim and vigor: You're still carrying around a heavy load of sleepiness, or what experts call "sleep debt"—in this case something like six hours, almost a full nights' sleep. Sleep debt is the difference between the amount of sleep you should be getting and the amount you actually get. It's a deficit that grows every time we skim some extra minutes off our nightly slumber. "People accumulate sleep debt surreptitiously," says psychiatrist William C. Dement, founder of the Stanford University Sleep Clinic. Studies show that such short-term sleep deprivation leads to a foggy brain, worsened vision, impaired driving, and trouble remembering. Long-term effects include obesity, insulin resistance, and heart disease. And most Americans suffer from chronic deprivation. A 2005 survey by the National Sleep Foundation reports that, on average, Americans sleep 6.9 hours per night—6.8 hours during the week and 7.4 hours on the weekends. Generally, experts recommend eight hours of sleep per night, although some people may require only six hours of sleep while others need ten. That means on average, we’re losing one hour of sleep each night—more than two full weeks of slumber every year. The good news is that, like all debt, with some work, sleep debt can be repaid—though it won't happen in one extended snooze marathon. Tacking on an extra hour or two of sleep a night is the way to catch up. For the chronically sleep deprived, take it easy for a few months to get back into a natural sleep pattern, says Lawrence J. Epstein, medical director of the Harvard-affiliated Sleep HealthCenters. Go to bed when you are tired, and allow your body to wake you in the morning (no alarm clock allowed). You may find yourself catatonic in the beginning of the recovery cycle: Expect to bank upward of ten hours shut-eye per night. As the days pass, however, the amount of time sleeping will gradually decrease. For recovery sleep, both the hours slept and the intensity of the sleep are important. Some of your most refreshing sleep occurs during deep sleep. Although such sleep's true effects are still being studied, it is generally considered a restorative period for the brain. And when you sleep more hours, you allow your brain to spend more time in this rejuvenating period. As you erase sleep debt, your body will come to rest at a sleep pattern that is specifically right for you. Sleep researchers believe that genes—although the precise ones have yet to be discovered—determine our individual sleeping patterns. That more than likely means you can't train yourself to be a "short sleeper"—and you're fooling yourself if you think you've done it. A 2003 study in the journal Sleep found that the more tired we get, the less tired we feel. So earn back that lost sleep—and follow the dictates of your innate sleep needs. You’ll feel better. "When you put away sleep debt, you become superhuman," says Stanford's Dement, talking about the improved mental and physical capabilities that come with being well rested. Finally, a scientific reason to sleep in on Saturday. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Yes I do, and I get even more kip at weekends, yesterday I went to bed at 6.00pm, and got up at 7.30am today, 13.5 hours sleep, makes you feel magic the next day, 7 hours is nowhere near enough, no wonder you are not fit to make the handful of miles trek to Aberdeen to get thrashed at pool with that sort of attitude to life. The benefits of living on yer own..... 1 Link to comment
redone Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 I can never sleep for mair than aboot four hours , costhat's how long it takes before I wake up bustin for a pish Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 The benefits of living on yer own.....MEGA lol Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Decent for me last night as well. Two Diazepan and 5 two Zopiclone and a half bottle of red wine resulted in 13 hours pureinterrrupted sleep. Felt knackered when I woke. Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 I'm partial to a cheeky ten hours every so often. Link to comment
dervish Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 During the week get about 4.5hrs a night, weekend can hit 10hrs. Probably slept better when I use to do shifts to be honest though first few nights were always a bit surreal. Link to comment
RUL Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 I'd say 7 hours is enough! Anymore and I feel like I'mWasting my life. Link to comment
tup Posted March 19, 2013 Author Share Posted March 19, 2013 Well read the book, and then get back to me. You will be enlightened, and end up endorsing my point of view. Link to comment
tup Posted March 20, 2013 Author Share Posted March 20, 2013 10 hours last night. Feel magic today. This is not rocket science lads. Link to comment
tup Posted March 20, 2013 Author Share Posted March 20, 2013 We should keep a sleep league table: Me - 10 hoursHarcus - 7 hours That's me 3 hours up on Harcus in one night ffs! Link to comment
tup Posted March 20, 2013 Author Share Posted March 20, 2013 I actually find the opposite, if I've been drinking, I sleep less, not more than usual. As soon as I wake up rough, I can never get back to sleep, and spend my day fighting the roughness off with a stick. Link to comment
tup Posted March 20, 2013 Author Share Posted March 20, 2013 That's not too bad, and puts you slightly above Harcus in the sleep league: 1st - tup - 10 hrs2nd - Roberto - 7.3333 hrs3rd - Harcus - 7 hrs Link to comment
tup Posted March 20, 2013 Author Share Posted March 20, 2013 How many hours sleep did you get last night RS min? Link to comment