Lossiemouth

barassie_afc

Have access to a holiday flat in Lossie in the summer fancy going there for a few days in July, looking for some reccies in and around the place ( i will be taking my golf clubs)

Nairn isn't far away for golf.

It's a fair hike for a game of golf considering Lossie has a golf course itself.

As does Garmouth,Spey Bay, Buckpool, Strathlene and Cullen which are all closer to Lossie than Nairn.

Have access to a holiday flat in Lossie in the summer fancy going there for a few days in July, looking for some reccies in and around the place ( i will be taking my golf clubs)

It's a fair hike for a game of golf considering Lossie has a golf course itself.

As does Garmouth,Spey Bay, Buckpool, Strathlene and Cullen which are all closer to Lossie than Niarn.

Aye a whole 40 minutes or so away. Nairn is the best course in the area.

As does Garmouth,Spey Bay, Buckpool, Strathlene and Cullen which are all closer to Lossie than Niarn.

Aye a whole 40 minutes or so away. Nairn is the best course in the area.

Prove it.

Moray old is bloody testing especially in the wind. Nairn west would be only thing to truly compare. A more 'fun' round would be hopeman, elgin or forres (Kinloss, a new course) is slowly coming on too. If you want to go golf tastic, as well as Moray go for the nairn day ticket of Dunbar in the morning and 'the west' in the afternoon. Castle Stuart further on but obviously Scot Open will dictate there.

If you're impressing a bird a walk along the East beach followed by tea in the 1629 doonstairs (forget the name) is a must. If you're really trying/ making up/desperate the upstairs is the dugs chuffs, but more pricey.

Enjoy

hadnt considered Nairn, the course at lossie looks decent enough to be honest

Both Lossie courses are top notch, and Nairn is superb. Nairn Dunbar is ok, but some very poor hoels at the end.

Wee bit of a trek, but you really should make the effort to play Boat of garten.

If you're going inland to the Boat there's Macdonald nearby (never done it, I hear long and buggies a must which would just annoy me, have you fatshaft?) or if going up fae Lossie and you want quirky try ballandalloch on the way past. Bizarre but always in good knick and quieter than tup's crotch area.

Either way, fill yer boots. Give us some details and I'll try to recommend (used to live there a while back). Kids? burd in tow? Looking for burd? A conspicuous attraction to anything with pilot's wings?

Disappointed to hear about 1629 boof, a one off?

Oh and on Nairn, depends if you're driving. If you're training it (and if you're going to lossie your f*cked in that regard!) then the two nairn courses in a day are as good as it gets (including being able to walk on) without going to somewhere like StA, Gleneagles, Troon or Turnberry. IMHO like.

OK. First up do Moray old (hope the typhoons are down that day). For quick fix variation nearby (10 mins in a taxi) hopeman would be next up.

For a day out with serious golf content I would then go Nairn (west). To be fair I can't comment on the more easterly courses (I saw someone mention garmouth, cullen etc) as didn't play them. Equally Elgin, Forres etc perfectly good courses for a blast especially if time off is limited. As a suggestion for better halfs, they could either continue on the train to Schneckie (thats Inverness btw) for some shopping or as an alternative suggestion, in my youth I used to use (abuse) the spa at the golf view hotel in nairn which as the name suggests is just round the corner from the course. Used to be good, again lovely setting, but has changed hands several times (something about local lads not paying, I ask you!) since then. Don't know if the girls could get an afternoon spa and cocktails pass and then join you at the clubhouse for some nosh. Cracking day. Bit pricey mind but if golf and a quiet life are your thing won't go far wrong here (I hope!)

For day out on golfing steroids do both the Nairn courses. Suggest early start for this one. Long time since I did that and I remember being absolutely knackered at the end of it! Suggest taxi from station to/from station and between courses. All walkable, did it many times, but you are on holiday after all.

Enjoy.

Havn't played it SMG, meant to be maturing nicely, but very long apparently, and as attached to the hotel chain, probably over-priced.

Played the Mcdonald (assuming you mean the one in Aviemore) course a few years back. It was still a bit rough around the edges then but still a good course. There are a few hikes between holes so was glad to have the cart that day.

The Boat is a wee gem of a course, as is Grantown-On-Spey which is'nt too far apart.

Had a golf weekend in Elgin last year and played the Moray Old & New. Pretty tough links courses but in good nick and well worth a bat. It pished it doon and there was a stiff breeze but I still enjoyed it. Only down side is you do have the jets flying overhead from time to time.