barassie_afc Posted March 23, 2013 Share Posted March 23, 2013 Stayed in Derby last weekend as had a lads days out at Uttoexeter for midlands national (top day out we had a box and did an insane amount of bevvying). I understand your views on all things weeg and Glasgow, but Derby is an utter toilet. Zero vibe/nigtlife I maybe nearly 40 but ffs I know a good night out. Avoid at all costs. Link to comment
daytripping Posted March 23, 2013 Share Posted March 23, 2013 I lived there a couple of Months in the late 80's, thought it was ok, lots of great pubs in the centre with outside drinking and the best curry houses I've ever been too. Did get my car stereo stolen there but that could have happened anywhere. Not as good as Leicester so go there if you ever go back to that area again. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 Had a good breakfast in Derby once. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 Stayed in Derby last weekend as had a lads days out at Uttoexeter for midlands national (top day out we had a box and did an insane amount of bevvying). I understand your views on all things weeg and Glasgow, but Derby is an utter toilet. Zero vibe/nigtlife I maybe nearly 40 but ffs I know a good night out. Avoid at all costs.East Midlands as a whole is just a shit-hole. The only people who say Glasgow is worse are those who've never been, Derby, Leicester, Coventry & Nottingham are simply horrendous places, not as bad as Manchester maybe, but very close. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 Stayed in Derby last weekend as had a lads days out at Uttoexeter for midlands national (top day out we had a box and did an insane amount of bevvying). I understand your views on all things weeg and Glasgow, but Derby is an utter toilet. Zero vibe/nigtlife I maybe nearly 40 but ffs I know a good night out. Avoid at all costs.East Midlands as a whole is just a shit-hole. The only people who say Glasgow is worse are those who've never been, Derby, Leicester, Coventry & Nottingham are simply horrendous places, not as bad as Manchester maybe, but very close. manchester is one of the best cities in europe. only an idiot could fail to see that. Link to comment
daytripping Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 I loved the Midlands, the people are so friendly, had a great time there, the cities were good but I preferred my time spent in the small towns and villages surrounding them, the likes of Birstall, Husbands Bosworth and Market Harborough are all places well worth a visit. The pubs in the small places were always great for good food and drink and a warm welcome. I thought Leicester was similar to Aberdeen in a lot of respects, a really friendly place. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 Stayed in Derby last weekend as had a lads days out at Uttoexeter for midlands national (top day out we had a box and did an insane amount of bevvying). I understand your views on all things weeg and Glasgow, but Derby is an utter toilet. Zero vibe/nigtlife I maybe nearly 40 but ffs I know a good night out. Avoid at all costs.East Midlands as a whole is just a shit-hole. The only people who say Glasgow is worse are those who've never been, Derby, Leicester, Coventry & Nottingham are simply horrendous places, not as bad as Manchester maybe, but very close. manchester is one of the best cities in europe. only an idiot could fail to see that.Best for gun crime and slums maybe. You're just like the Glasgow haters, confuse your football teams with everything else. Link to comment
Henry Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 I loved the Midlands, the people are so friendly, had a great time there, the cities were good but I preferred my time spent in the Husbands Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 I loved the Midlands, the people are so friendly, had a great time there, the cities were good but I preferred my time spent in the Husbands Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 Stayed in Derby last weekend as had a lads days out at Uttoexeter for midlands national (top day out we had a box and did an insane amount of bevvying). I understand your views on all things weeg and Glasgow, but Derby is an utter toilet. Zero vibe/nigtlife I maybe nearly 40 but ffs I know a good night out. Avoid at all costs.East Midlands as a whole is just a shit-hole. The only people who say Glasgow is worse are those who've never been, Derby, Leicester, Coventry & Nottingham are simply horrendous places, not as bad as Manchester maybe, but very close. manchester is one of the best cities in europe. only an idiot could fail to see that.Best for gun crime and slums maybe. You're just like the Glasgow haters, confuse your football teams with everything else. no more crime than your average large UK city fatshaft, glasgow included, but im sure an intelligent man like yourself was already aware of that and you wouldnt let a parocial bitter hatred of england cloud your judgementy now would you. never been to derby but england as a whole is an exceptional country. so many hidden gems whilst the well known cities are as good as you'll find in any country. historical and attractive market towns are the norm up and down that country. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 Going to Newcastle next week. Will report back if it's better than Glasgow or not. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 Stayed in Derby last weekend as had a lads days out at Uttoexeter for midlands national (top day out we had a box and did an insane amount of bevvying). I understand your views on all things weeg and Glasgow, but Derby is an utter toilet. Zero vibe/nigtlife I maybe nearly 40 but ffs I know a good night out. Avoid at all costs.East Midlands as a whole is just a shit-hole. The only people who say Glasgow is worse are those who've never been, Derby, Leicester, Coventry & Nottingham are simply horrendous places, not as bad as Manchester maybe, but very close. manchester is one of the best cities in europe. only an idiot could fail to see that.Best for gun crime and slums maybe. You're just like the Glasgow haters, confuse your football teams with everything else. no more crime than your average large UK city fatshaft, glasgow included, but im sure an intelligent man like yourself was already aware of that and you wouldnt let a parocial bitter hatred of england cloud your judgementy now would you. never been to derby but england as a whole is an exceptional country. so many hidden gems whilst the well known cities are as good as you'll find in any country. historical and attractive market towns are the norm up and down that country. http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/gun-crime-on-the-rise-992747 7 gun related incidents PER DAY. Aye Blootered, nae mair crime than average. As for my "parochial bitter hatred", well seeing as I spent the last 12 years living outwith Scotland, no, not parochial at all, or bitter, or hatred. Loved the IoM, loved living in Warrington as well actually, and Leamington, and Wolston outside Coventry. As you say, plenty decent places in England, but with the arguable exception of Birmingham, their cities are generally fucking abysmal. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 i know it well, its brilliant. not judt the city though, the whole area is a nice thriving place to live the usual dumps aside of course Link to comment
tiny wee lad Posted March 25, 2013 Share Posted March 25, 2013 Bought a faulty car from garage in Derby Took nearly a year to get our money back from the lying cheating scumbags .They also had Maguire for their sins .Let it rain forever in Derby Link to comment