Tommy Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 I heard that Upper will be closed next season.I hope this doesn't upset anyone. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 I'm up there, but i will move to the SS now & continue my support of this great club. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Sad times it's come to this. #Pray4TinyWeeLad Link to comment
buchanskii Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Is Mcinnes behind this you reckon? Already got us training at Albyn... Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Tiny wee lad will be burning his Dons scarf as we speak. Correct decision imo, only open for bigger games. Link to comment
tup Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Who gives a fuck is my reaction to this. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 http://www.afc.co.uk/articles/20130417/club-statement_2212158_3146322 Link to comment
inverkipdons Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 I'd like to see the upper RDS made into a safe standing section, get those rail seats from Germany installed up there, would be a cracking atmosphere. Link to comment
WillemVan Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 A good move by the club. It's practically empty up there these days anyway. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 I think this is a good idea. Atmosphere is shocking at Pittodrie so at least this will get a few more fans down to ground level. What a horrible waste of money that stand is. It wouldn't look out of place at Anfield, we have no need for it! Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 I think this is a good idea. Atmosphere is shocking at Pittodrie so at least this will get a few more fans down to ground level. What a horrible waste of money that stand is. It wouldn't look out of place at Anfield, we have no need for it! Hardly. It's raked in hundreds of thousands, probably millions, in corporate hospitality and other events over the years. The Upper tier just isn't needed at the moment. Once we start getting regular crowds of 12,000 + again then we can think about re-opening it. Link to comment
tup Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 The RDS was definitely a total waste of money and an abortion in the long term planning stakes. Whoever sanctioned it is to blame for the debt we are in now. 1 Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 The Club also attempted to contact all season ticket holders currently seated in the upper section of the Richard Donald Stand to ascertain their views on whether they would be willing to relocate next season to a different part of the stadium. The overall response from the vast majority of supporters contacted was that they would be willing to relocate and as a result - in addition to the feedback from our recent fans survey on the match-day experience at Pittodrie - the Club has taken the decision to close the RDS Upper Deck for the 2013/2014 season.* However Tinyweelad said that he would run up to Stewart Milnes door, ring the bell and run away if we closed the upper section of the RDS. We have since placed extra security around Stewarty's hoose 5 Link to comment
MURRA Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 I'd like to see the upper RDS made into a safe standing section, get those rail seats from Germany installed up there, would be a cracking atmosphere. and the y section of south, half the seats are wrecked there anyway as well. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 They didn't try very had to contact me. Since I'm nae renewing next season anyways, might try and sit in a different section every game I go to. Try and find the best one in case I should want to renew the following year. Link to comment
360 Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Isn't that where that bunch of wankers that no one liked sat? If so, they might end up sat one row behind you. Enjoy Link to comment
Foster14 Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 They'll end up in the South, close to the away fans. Link to comment
tup Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Pittodrie is a bizarre looking, atmosphere devoid dump, regardless of which stands doors are open or closed. It's fairly living up to it's literal translation, complete shitheap, how apt. Link to comment
buchanskii Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 They'll end up in the South, close to the away fans. Oh well, looks like I'll be shifting my ST if that's the case. Link to comment
tup Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Oh well, looks like I'll be shifting my ST if that's the case. Where are you going to put it now? Where did you keep it before? Link to comment
360 Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Pittodrie is a bizarre looking, atmosphere devoid dump, regardless of which stands doors are open or closed. It's fairly living up to it's literal translation, complete shitheap, how apt. I like it. Certainly better than the likes of the Riverside. It has character. Link to comment
SoundOfSilence Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Good luck getting a pie or a piss in the south stand next season then Link to comment
tup Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 It may have had character before when the old Beach End was in place as it was basically enclosed then. The new stand removed that character, and gave an amazingly lopsided touch to the whole effect. Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Don't really know what to make of this tbh. I mean it doesn't affect me as i sit in the lower deck anyway, but i'm not sure how they are going to relocate folk who have season tickets up there and wht happens when the Tims are playing up here? Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Don't really know what to make of this tbh. I mean it doesn't affect me as i sit in the lower deck anyway, but i'm not sure how they are going to relocate folk who have season tickets up there and wht happens when the Tims are playing up here?Even when we had the chance to go top against that mhob in November we were over 3000 below capacity.Seems a sensible decision to me.White elephant of a thing is like a hermits diary most of the time. Link to comment
Jonty Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 More creeping acceptance of mediocrity. This smacks to me of when we move the Board can get away with building a 14k capacity stadium, "as thats what we currently operate with at Pittodrie." 1 Link to comment
Kilkito Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Its depressing that this seems a sensible move, at least the club are looking at options to try and improve the match day experience. Don't want any of the Dick Donald wankers coming to Section V of the South though Link to comment
tup Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 More weegies in the South Stand would be a backward step. 1 Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 Is the RDS Upper the bit at the top? Link to comment